We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Good Value and Safe a Hotel in Lagos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Lagos Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Lagos Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Murtala Mohamed Intl Airport Road | Ajao Estate, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 127 Hotels in Lagos
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Value and Safe a Hotel in Lagos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have written about this hotel before as as it continues to improve wanted to give it a more positive review. Since it opened the resident manager Richard worked very hard to produce a very professional team and improve the niggles like the damp smell in the corridors (now no more) and slow wifi (now greatly improved but still has it's bad days). The restaurant provides a good quality of food despite being a buffet in addition to the snack menu. The quality of finishing in the rooms still could be improved but I understand they are being upgraded slowly. One thing that is very good are the new very comfortable beds I always have a great sleep on them. Richard has now been transferred to Benin and his replacement Peter seems to be a hotelier cast from the same mold as Richard. Finally all the staff here are really good and always do their best to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davies B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_DeBondt, Front Office Manager at Ibis Lagos Airport, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Davies B

It was a great pleasure reading your review. We appreciate your business and loyalty over the years.

I am glad you met Mr. Peter De Bondt during you visit. Please be assured that we are going from room to room to get all the problems fixed. Your encouragement is greatly appreciated.

Thank you again for your loyalty and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Azeez Dawodu
Front Office Manager
Ibis Lagos Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    99
    66
    13
    9
See reviews for
16
16
26
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have used this Hotel on numerous occasions now, its Location for transit is great and the staff there more than happy to help with all needs. The security at the gate is welcomed and keeps unwanted revellers away.

The rooms are adequate and generally value for money, the tea/coffee facilities once again do not have milk and when requested none available!!



I do however need to highlight the menu, which for my 3rd visit on the trot still does not have items available and when I enquired was informed its to expensive to buy in!!! I commented then why are these items still on the menu to which I was given a smile and no answer.



The Ibis Hotel has a good name and must endeavour to keep this by addressing these smaller issues to return to the standard shown during my first visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlander17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Ibis (Accor) is a good solution for overnight stays in Lagos.
Rooms are very small but clean, adequate, the wifi works well.
Front desk is very friendly and efficient, service is professional, buffet is good quality.
The gym does not exist yet (unless two treadmills in a small storage room can be called a gym)
They have transportation to and from airport.
They even answer emails and you can reserve via email.
After the chaos of Lagos airport it is a welcome change.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobocon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_DeBondt, Front Office Manager at Ibis Lagos Airport, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Cobocon,

We appreciate your comment and thank you for staying at Ibis Lagos Airport.
I am glad that you found our employees friendly and efficient. Please understand that the gym is one of the upgrades we have on our to-do list. We will upgrade it very soon.

Thank you again for staying at Ibis Lagos Airport and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Azeez Dawodu
Front Office Manager
Ibis Lagos Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have used this Hotel on numerous occasions now, its Location for transit is great and the staff there more than happy to help with all needs. The security at the gate is welcomed and keeps unwanted revellers away. The rooms are adequate and generally value for money, the tea/coffee facilities once again do not have milk and when requested none available!!

I do however need to highlight the menu, Which for my 3rd visit on the trot still does not have items available and when I enquired was informed its to expensive to buy in!!! I commented then why are these items still on the menu to which I was given a smile and no answer.

The Ibis Hotel has a good name and must endeavour to keep this by addressing these smaller issues to return to the standard shown during my first visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlander17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_DeBondt, Front Office Manager at Ibis Lagos Airport, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Mark,

Your comment and loyalty is greatly appreciated. I apologize for the replies you got from our employees at the restaurant.

Please understand that we do not have milk in our rooms due health reasons. You can consider both issues fixed since we have ordered the milk and new menus.

Thank you again for staying at Ibis Lagos Airport and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Azeez Dawodu
Front Office Manager
Ibis Lagos Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

First time in Nigeria, Very nice hotel, enjoyed the food, internet service and pool area. Staff were very professional and nice, Very close to the airport, cabs outside. Would not advise anyone to travel alone. Loved Nigeria but it is not for the faint of heart. Lots of business people were there. We did have some issues with the rooms could use major cleaning, and odor in the hallways. But overall enjoyed our visit. The photos on the website are true to the hotel. Would return.

Room Tip: Make sure rooms are clean before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letsgo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_robaix, Front Office Manager at Ibis Lagos Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear letsgo02,

Thank you for staying with us. It is good to know that you enjoyed your first visit to Nigeria, our food, internet service and pool area.

I apologize for the condition of the room you stayed. We always look for areas that need improvement and ways that we can be better. We currently have fragrance machines to prevent odor in our hallways and we will pay close attention to our rooms.

Thank you again for your comment and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Azeez Dawodu
Front Office Manager
Ibis Lagos Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

It was my first stay at Ibis Lagos Airport and everything worked perfectly fine. The communication prior to my stay in terms of booking the room and arranging pick-up from the airport was friendly and straight forward. On arrival check-in was welcoming, quick and easy. My room was on the 1st floor overlooking the pool, so no noise from the road at all.
Breakfast from 4.30am until 12pm is a generous period of time, but better go before 10am if you fancy scrambled or fried eggs, bacon and sausages because they are absolutely yummy and therefore most likely finished by then.
I stayed for 10 days and throughout this time the staff was friendly and always helpful when there were questions or issues, i.e. telecommunication problems with my devices, transport or arrangement of local currency. I also got many valuable hints and advices about which areas to see and what to consider for doing business in Nigeria. Housekeeping was carried out properly and always with a smile, and the pool area was a great place to relax in the evening after a long day on the road.

The location of the hotel is perfect for trips all over Lagos and local shops are around for daily needs, i.e. water, snacks, tobacco etc. There are also decent restaurants and small pubs close by to experience local food and drinks which I enjoyed very much.

Thanks to Richard, Adhiraj, Temi, Azeez, Patience, Happiness, Ope, Jasper and their fellow colleagues for creating a family atmosphere and always being open for a chat and a laugh. That's not something you experience much often. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arne252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_robaix, Front Office Manager at Ibis Lagos Airport, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Arne,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience with us. It was great meeting and accommodating you.

I am glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Your feedback will be communicated to our team.

Thank you for staying at Ibis Lagos Airport and I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Azeez Dawodu
Front Office Manager
Ibis Lagos Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Essential Lagos Airport Hotel
3.4 mi away
Ibis Lagos Ikeja
Ibis Lagos Ikeja
#30 of 127 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Welcome Centre Hotels
Welcome Centre Hotels
#12 of 127 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
GrandBee Suites
GrandBee Suites
#34 of 127 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stop Over Motel
Stop Over Motel
#24 of 127 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
11.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Lagos Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Lagos Airport

Property: Ibis Lagos Airport
Address: Murtala Mohamed Intl Airport Road | Ajao Estate, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 127 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Lagos Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Lagos Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Lagos Airport Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing