We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUSTANDING SERVI CE”
Review of The Wheatbaker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wheatbaker
Ranked #1 of 131 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“OUSTANDING SERVI CE”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Being a first time visitor to the city of Lagos my friends and I decided to stop in at the Wheatbaker for something to eat. I was so impressed with the service and the way in which the staff and management made us feel so welcomed we decided that we would book for dinner the next day. The spread layed out for dinner was beyond comprehension, from the starters through to desert and coffes served there was absolutely nothing to complain about, we even got a chance to have a taste of the local dishes, how awesome. What was even more astounding is that the General Manager went around greeting all guest making sure we are happy and being looked after. Thumbs up to the Management and staff at the Wheatbaker for a superb dinner and exceptional good service.

Rozanne Bblackwell

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozanneb2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Rozanneb2808

Happy New Year!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

The team and I appreciate your feedback as it is invaluable in guiding our service delivery to all our valued guests.

We do hope you will choose to visit us again in the future.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    77
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
41
18
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a business meeting here and it was very successful. Staff were very courteous. My issue with this place is the parking which is grossly inadequate, having to park outside the facility. The food was great. The rooms are rather small. Love the spatial arrange and flow from the reception to the hall and dining area. It's really a lovely place....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toyin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Toyin C

The Wheatbaker Team are grateful for your feedback following your visit to our hotel.

We certainly wish we had a bigger car park but hopefully the parking directly outside, attended by our Security, was a convenient option.

Your patronage is never taken for granted and we know there are many other choices now available to discerning Guests such as yourself.

Please do visit us again - it would be great to meet you!

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

After travelling to Lagos for many years and trying various hotels, this is probably the best. Great rooms, clean linen, good shower. And service is good. The only downside is that it is a little far from VI and hence you need to plan ahead for meetings.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nndebele13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Nndebele13

On behalf of the Wheatbaker Team, let me thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit.

Your honest feedback is critical to us in understanding what we get right and what we do not.

Certainly our location in Ikoyi is rather more tranquil that VI (Victoria Island) but you might agree that that is an advantage in a very busy city like ours! As you say, correct planning can have you in VI, Lekki or Mainland when required. The new Lekki bridge brings a huge improvement to travel times too.

We are grateful for your custom and remain at your Service,

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2013

As a frequent guest to The Wheatbaker Hotel I am always pleasantly surprised by the consistent excellent service i experience at this hotel. This has on numerous occasions also been confirmed by my guests that I have introduced to the hotel. I have always experienced that from the time I walk in, you are made to feel very welcome and special. The greetings are sincere. The food whether its the breakfast, lunch or dinner is of such a quality and variety that the establishment is an ideal place for entertaining your clients or having important business meetings over a meal. It is so refreshing to see that there is such an establishment in Lagos where the Management who are very visible and accessible ensure that as a guest I constantly receive the excellent service to compliment this unique boutique hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Mike R

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience of The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

Our Executive Chef tries very hard to balance the culinary expectations of our international and domestic Guests.

We appreciate your feedback and never take for granted the support of patrons who have many other hotel options in Lagos.

I hope you will choose us again if you visit again!

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I was excited cos my husband wanted us to spend the day/night out away from the norm, I was disapointed from the Gate as the security was very rude, we were rudely told to park our car outside opposite the hotel even though we had a 4 month old baby with us( he sized us up and assumed we were visiting someone probably because we didn't drive in with a big car ). My husband asked to drop us off first. Anyway I entered the beautiful lobby and the staff at the reception were not so friendly (i'm assuming because I look so young). We were told to wait a while which I didn't mind. Finally, the receptionist came to me and said there was a smoking room available ( did I forget to mention I was carrying a 4 month old baby). We were told we had complimentary drink and food which didn't arrive till we asked for it after about 3 hours.
I cannot fault the meal, it was delicious but very pricey. The room was also beautiful and comfortable but I was very disapointed in the service. Judging by the comments of others. I am assuming we were sized up by the staff and treated that way probably because they believed we did not meet the caliber of guests they are used to. Would I visit again? Unlikely

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Toeseen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Toeseen

The Team and I were very sorry to receive your review as we try very hard to make every individual Guest happy.

We cannot unfortunately locate a booking from last month that included an infant - as we would certainly have placed a baby cot in the room and made the arrangements associated with having a baby with us in the hotel.

We are equally sorry that you felt your age or your vehicle may have had an impact on how you were looked after, please accept my genuine assurance that this certainly would not be either our intention or our policy as a large percentage of our Guests are younger people.

I will write to you to request further details of when you stayed which will assist us in trying to find out what happened and respond in a comprehensive manner.

Once again, our apologies in the interim.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel stands out from all the hotels I have stayed in Lagos and other parts of this country. It is super clean, the serve good food, staff are great and courteous. Although a little bit pricy, but if offer value for the money. I will definitely go back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Segebaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Segebaba

The Team and I here at The Wheatbaker thank you for your feedback.

Your patronage is never taken for granted and we hope you will choose to stay with us again should you visit Lagos again in the future.

Once again, many thanks and we wish you a Happy festive season.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Unlike most others staying at The Wheatbaker Hotel, we have been to Lagos for a week as tourists, not for business.
The week in this fantastic & vibrant city was best spent in The Wheatbaker. The hotel is beautiful & relaxing with an excellent service. Everyone working in the hotel over delivered in hospitality and helpfulness. You feel safe and well taken care of.
We had a fantastic stay in Lagos, which is definitely worth a trip and exceeding expectations and The Wheatbaker contributed to it.
City & hotel very much recommended.
Laura

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Laura T

Thank you from all of us here at The Wheatbaker, Lagos, for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay with us.

It is nice to hear that your experience of both Lagos and our hotel were positive ones, especially as you were visiting as tourists and not for business.

I hope very much you will return to visit again in the future and that you will again favour us with your patronage.

Until then the Team and I extend best wishes for a Peaceful and Happy festive season.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.6 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 131 in Lagos
142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 131 in Lagos
676 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#8 of 131 in Lagos
369 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
3.1 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatbaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatbaker

Property: The Wheatbaker
Address: | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#1 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#1 Business Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wheatbaker 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Wheatbaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatbaker Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing