We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A World Class Hotel”
Review of The Wheatbaker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wheatbaker
Ranked #1 of 131 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A World Class Hotel”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Travelling to Nigeria for work and spending your birthday in Lagos - does not sound like much fun, but when you arrive at a World Class hotel like the Wheatbaker you know you are at the best Lagos has to offer. I travel to Lagos every month for business and I highly recommend this wonderful hotel under the management of Simon Grindrod. The service is excellent, rooms are the best and the food is outstanding.

I would like to congratulate Simon and his team for delivering fantastic service under very challenging conditions. I am not sure how these guys found out it was my birthday but they pulled out all the stop and everything was so special on the day. The Wheatbaker, many hotels could learn from you - well done I will be returning and have recommended your hotel to many other corporate travels. I wish you much success and salute you for the service and product you have established in Africa

Room Tip: They are all stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle_The_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Rochelle 1972

Thank you from The Wheatbaker Team and I for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Your comments are extremely valuable to us in monitoring the experiences of our valued Guests, both positive or otherwise.

We are all grateful for your patronage given the many choices travelers to Lagos have, many of which are cheaper.

Please be assured of our absolute commitment to providing a consistently outstanding level of Service to you should you choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    77
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
41
18
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Great with security and wonderfully friendly with staff that seem genuinely warm and engaging. Wifi throughout though turning the login process to a SSID type as opposed to a web login would prevent continuous retries during a visit to the hotel.
Food very good. Design and interior of the facilities very good.
Slight roundabout route between rooms and fitness centre. Slight let down in cleanliness of rooms (bed cover dirty underneath and dusty corners).
Overall though my favorite hotel in Lagos, having moved from using the previously excellent Southern Sun (very poor service levels today). Have not tried new InterContinental yet.

Highly recommend this intimate and customer focused hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Johandl

Thank you for your very detailed and useful review of your stay with us at The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

We are grateful for your input, especially since it is clear that you are a well experienced corporate traveler.

The points you have provided us will assist us in improving our offering to valued Guests such as yourself.

I will contact you privately for more information on your observations.

Thanks again for your business which we never take for granted!

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I must have searched 5 different hotels in & around the Island before finding this gem. My family and I stayed here heading in and then out of Nigeria. Truly world class, clean, polite staff (Good Morning/Good Afternoon Mrs X), visible management, very accommodating for my child's 'special diet', comfortable beds..., I can't rave enough... ah welcome home.
Crowd is mainly business folks. We were a bit out of place in in our casual attire, especially during the week. Someone mentioned the pool is exposed... it is very.... No complaints though.
There is a restaurant on site that serves very good food and good wine. No Beer available though. Breakfast buffet is also delicious and a good mix of Nigerian and western food.
The hotel offers live music on Friday... I thought I heard an angel...

I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor once overlooking the patio. This room seemed slightly larger than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdm_Belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Mdm_Belle

Thanks from all of us here at The Wheatbaker, Lagos, for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us.

We are very pleased you feel at home with us and are grateful for your patronage and input. I was quite surprised to see that you could not get a beer as we carry a large range of both local and international beers and lagers - I will message you separately to get details of this.

Once again our genuine thanks for choosing us, we never take it for granted!

Sincerely

S Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A truly magnificent Hotel - From the welcome to the general manager the staff at this gem are friendly and accommodating in every way. The rooms are pleasant and elegantly appointed with more space than your average 5 star in Lagos.

Their main restaurant the Grill room is a must and serves one of the best steaks in Africa, whilst the pepper sauce does need some work.

We had the pleasure of meeting the GM Simon who is an enthusiastic young man and very passionate about his hotel - it is rare to find general manager out and about these days.

Looking forward to our next trip to Lagos and we will certainly book The Wheatbaker :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BanBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear BanBay

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback about The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

The team and I are grateful for your observations as this assists us in improving on our Service to our valued Guests.

We hope you will choose us again in the future.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Any frequent traveller to Lagos will admit that getting time-off the abrasive hustle and bustle of this unique city.

This hotel provides just that. whilst this will not be the best hotel you'll have staid in (especially given its associated cost), you will not find a better place to rest in Lagos.

The staff is friendly, food is good, rooms are big and the bar has a nice feel to it, with the up-and-coming local yuppies pouring in for drinks after hours...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MatFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear MatFab

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are pleased that you were satisfied with our efforts to provide only the highest standards of Service and Quality to all our valued guests.

I hope you will choose to stay with us again soon.

Regards

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel! The standart is the same as a lagacy hotel one and even better.
This is my second stay here! it can sound weird but the smell of the hotel is just hummmm( lemongrass smell).
And the staff is just awesome! The food is really good( even the buffet)! The chef is South african, all the wines, you even have Savannah dry( its dry but you can drink it;-)).
The gym is fine, it is a Pity the spa is indicated but not working at all.
The rooms are nice, clean.
The manager is really a nice persin, he talks to his clients often.
The grill room( restaurant) is really good but too expensive for what they serve...
The security can be better, personally i found it too simple.
There is always an expo of an artist on walls.
And a Jazz band every friday as well on the swimming pool side.
Overall, i really like the place!
if in Lagos try it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balkissa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Balkissa D

Thanks for your informative review following your stay at The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

Let me assure you that we are intending to open a world-class Spa at the hotel before the end of this year.

Equally let me put your mind at rest regarding the security measures we have (both visible and less visible) to protect our Guests. Most international companies have assessed and verified our security systems in terms of their very strict global risk criteria. We have passed each one of these inspections.

I do hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Regards

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Wheatbaker is one of the best hotels in Lagos > they have managed to create an exclusive environment with a professional service (which i have found rare in Sub Saharan Africa)i have been welcomed personally by the top management which is unique and served good quality food> the meat must have come from South Africa > all hotels appear expensive in Lagos but this is one that is worth paying for because of the the service and quality of the food . well done

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balogun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Balogun A

Thank you for your very kind review. The Team and I are committed to ensuring you receive only great service and comfort here at The Wheatbaker.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Regards

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.6 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 131 in Lagos
142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 131 in Lagos
676 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#8 of 131 in Lagos
369 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatbaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatbaker

Property: The Wheatbaker
Address: | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#1 Business Hotel in Lagos
#1 Spa Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wheatbaker 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Wheatbaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatbaker Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing