We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wheatbaker
Nearby Hotels
$278
$243
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$196
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
$154
MGallery
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$85
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$218
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Three Arms(Lagos)
$58
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
$189
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveler rating
237
82
13
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
82
13
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspleasure of stayingexcellent hotelbuffet lunchhis teamclean hotelrooms are spaciousvisiting lagoscourteous staffenjoyed my stayhome away from homevictoria islandsouthern sunsimonnigeriabusinesssecuritygym
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 333 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend and this hotel exceeded all our expectations from the friendly, courteous and efficient staff to the superb food and good sized rooms. This is tranquillity in the centre of a vibrant city the location is tucked away from the hustle bustle yet with easy access to the islands main attractions. A manager is always visibly present and customers are treated with the utmost care and attention. Nothing was too much.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxx186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear xxxx186338

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us at The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

The Team and I are grateful for your patronage and for your positive comments regarding our Service.

We are very aware that our Guests have choices as to where to stay and we value each and every Guest.

I hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was in Lagos for the George Benson show and decided on the wheat baker based on reviews I had read. It was indeed a pleasurable experience especially for Lagos.
The room was exquisite, the club sandwich I had was tasty and the chapman was truly what it used to be in the days gone by.
I really felt like a superstar.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solo40Nigeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Solo40Nigeria

Thank you very much for providing your comments relating to you your recent stay with us on the occasion of the George Benson concert in Lagos.

I am happy to hear that you remain satisfied with our product and service following a year of operations!

Please be assured that all will be done to maintain and improve The Wheatbaker and we hope you will choose us again.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Having stayed at a few very average hotels in Lagos, I am pleased to have found a hotel which was very good by international standards and excellent for Nigeria!

Staff were great, room was very comfortable and everything worked. Gym was pleasant, restaurant was ok but nothing special.

All very expensive for what it was, but I guess thats the price to find something comfortable in this city.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don_J_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Don_J_London

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us at The Wheatbaker, Lagos. Your views are all the more valuable given your extensive travel as a Senior Reviewer.

We will endevour to keep our restaurant offerings new and exciting, particularly as you intend to visit us again in the future.

Once again, many thanks for your patronage.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The service was spot on hospitality

The wheatbaker hotel is located in a nice quiet environment. Away from all the noise in the city but very close to the best part of Lagos.

Room service is excellent

Bath room is awesome

And the hotel is so so clean

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear John A

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us - we are always very eager to recieve input from our Guests both good and bad as this is what helps us reach higher and further!

I hope you will choose us again in the future.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Having travelled all over the world and experiencing different hotels, this was my first visit to lagos Nigeria and stayed at The Wheatbaker for a week, my trip was business and for pleasure ,the service and staff were incredible and made me feel at home and no request was to big for them, always a smiling helpful on the ball manager at all times.My room was big,clean and modern with a huge bathroom and walk in shower, with quick dry cleaning services aswell.The Food was divine from the local cuisine to every type i felt like it was provided for, from breakfast lunch or dinner!. and after a long day it was great to sit outside at the pool and have a drink and snacks and just relax. i highly recommend this hotel and will be staying there again in december when i travel again .ZW

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Zan W

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

The team and I are grateful for your comments which are invaluable in helping us maintain and improve our offering to all our valued Guests.

Once again, many thanks and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews