We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View of The Water Front”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lagos Oriental Hotel
Ranked #59 of 131 Hotels in Lagos
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Great View of The Water Front”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

I visited the hotel on 8 Feb 14 and took time to hang out and have lunch at the pool area. Although the sun was up, the lunch was good and the pool area overlooking the Lagoon and water front had a soothing and cooling effect. The full benefit of this is better experienced in the evenings when the sun is down.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chijioke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adedoyin a, Guest Relations Manager at Lagos Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your wonderful recomendation, and taking time to write a feedback during your stay in the hotel.The management takes note of your valueable suggestion and will implement them for better service delivery.

Thanks once more and see you next time.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
6
13
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 11.30 to try their dim sum. Not a huge variety but what we ordered was very tasty. Pork buns, chicken feet and radish cake just to name a few. The only thing which let the experience down is that they didn't have Chinese tea on the day we were there, they offered Lipton tea instead.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank wayan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adedoyin a, Guest Relations Manager at Lagos Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2015
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comment and for taking time to post your feedback
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay while you were around

Your suggestion on provision of varieties in pastry menu, is receiving management attention.
Thanks once more, and see you on your next visit.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I recall how the best hotel in Lagos used to be before Oriental Hotel started operating about five years ago. Service then was shoddy and hotel rooms amongst the most expensive in the world. Even though there is no clear classification criteria, most hotels in Lagos that claim four or five star would not meet up to that standard elsewhere in the world. With the advent of Oriental Hotel, standards became important. Oriental Hotel Lagos was the hotel to beat. The inside is a dream and the large rooms in the old wing is just amazing. The view of the lagoon from the wide windows in the rooms are something else. Well you can decide on the Chinese cuisine or some exotic meal from the Japanese restaurant. On Fridays a band plays by the swimming pool and here you can catch a spectacular view of the lagos lagoon at night. There is a two level car park capable of parking about 400 cars. A banquet hall with a seating capacity of about 1500 people have just been added to the new wing which also boasts of about 220 rooms and 12 Presidential suites. There is also free wi-fi in all the rooms. The downside is I noticed that there is a decline in service rendered from when it started. But overall, it is still comparable to any hotel of its standard anywhere in the world and it is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Godsent007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adedoyin a, Guest Relations Manager at Lagos Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2015
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Oriental hotel, and it was expecially gladening that you enjoyed your stay with us

Your suggestion on service improvement is noted.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

After hearing so much hype about this hotel it was just never one that I got around to checking out properly.

I attended an event which held there just last week, I arrived early so went to a room that seemed to play loud music (not sure what it was called) just before the pool for a hot chocolate. I was given a very low quality hot chocolate that seemed to have little bubbles of an oil substance on top. I then had to ask for a spoon to stir it but that didn't help, after a few sips I decided it wasn't for me. I went to the bar to pay and informed the employee that it wasn't very nice, his response "that's how it always is" I would expect a better response from a 4 star hotel. I asked to pay and he gave me N500 change from his pocket, I told him I wanted a receipt which he reluctantly gave me.

On my way to my conference I went to use the ladies room, which is downstairs. The few times I have used these toilets I always seem to bump into young ladies fixing their hair, make up with shoes everywhere which I find very random.

I then proceeded to my conference which was in the new part of the hotel, the function room was the Ballroom, very beautiful with lovely chandeliers. After attending for a few hours my friend and I decided to go get something to eat so we went back to the room with no obvious name. I ordered Chicken Fried Rice (which was delicious), and my friend ordered the chef's salad. The waiter, Wisdom was very gentle and polite. When the food arrived it was not as it appeared as the Chef's salad was suppose to come with Tomatoes, cucumber, lettuce and this one had no tomatoes the lettuce was mixed in some sort of mayonnaise and ham. Please note that my friend is in fact Vegetarian.

After questioning another member of staff (Not the lovely gentleman Wisdom we had met before) he had no clue as to how things should be served. We then asked Wisdom for the manager. Mr Olumide then came up and we questioned him on the salad, he then knew that there was a mistake and asked if he could get us another one, I told him we were already running behind and had to get back to the conference but informed him that we would not be paying for the salad.

The price of the food was ok for Lagos prices but the portion sizes were quite large which makes it worth the money.

I urge the Oriental Hotel, to invest in Customer Service Training, you have the product, the location and the right idea but if your staff do not have sufficient customer training then all the rest is in vain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cambiar_Lagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adedoyin a, Guest Relations Manager at Lagos Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2015
Dear Guest,

We warmly appreciate your comment and taking time to post your feedback
Please note that your recomendation on customer service training, is receiving management attention.

Thanks once again, and hoping to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cehegin, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for. Four days on business. I was always told you only get one chance to make a "first impression" they failed. My greeting on arrival was surly, unprofessional and not at all welcoming. I asked a number of fairly straight forward questions and was greeted by the female reception with a blank whilst she continued to chat on her mobile with her friend, boyfriend, other. I asked if there was Wifi in the room to bet old yes here is a cable to plug in!! I finally established that you could have wifi but they needed to install a small router in your room, I asked for the router but. The response was we do not have any we will sort one for the morning. I got up. The following morning and at 9am asked for a router to be told it would've. Available later in. The day. At 4pm I asked again but was told they had run out again and it would be the following. Day. Service, not I think!!

In the room you got tea/coffee etc, however nothing to make hot water with, no. Kettle of other device to boil water!!!

So to breakfast, great spread plenty of choice, no glasses for the. Fruit juice, no plates for the cold fruit, no chef to cook eggs, no milk for tea, should I go on!!!

Shame because as other reflect the house keeping and restaurant staff were very welcoming and tried to help

All of this and they charge $300 a night, not worth it and if I have a choice in would not stay there again

Sorry Oriental hotel but you need to look at what you do as far as Reception and. Customer service is concerned

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adedoyin a, Guest Relations Manager at Lagos Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your patronage, and feedback on your stay with us We apologise for the inconvenience you experienced please be assured that points raised will be shared with management.

Thanks and see you on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagos hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed here after the worst travel experience in 3 decades that I suffered at the Four Points.

This hotel is excellent. Great customer service, food, rooms, gym and pool.

Some of the art was quite outstanding.

Totally recommend for any business traveller.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adedoyin a, Guest Relations Manager at Lagos Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to post your observations about your experience ,during your stay in our hotel, it is noteworthy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us .

Your recomendation, will spurned us to do more, in provision of excellent customer service, which we are known for.

Thanks and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time that I've stayed at this hotel and once again I'm very impressed. The rooms are huge and beautiful. Very clean. Comfortable beds. Very nice bathrooms. Excellent service with a smile. I would recommend to anyone travelling to Lagos.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adedoyin a, Guest Relations Manager at Lagos Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2015
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your kind recomendation of our hotel during your stay with us, It also gladening to know you enjoyed your stay We promised to keep up the phase and maintain our excellent service


Thanks once again for the excellent recommendation, and see you on your next visit.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#8 of 131 in Lagos
369 reviews
1.4 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 131 in Lagos
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#22 of 131 in Lagos
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lagos Kuramo Waters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagos Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagos Oriental Hotel

Property: Lagos Oriental Hotel
Address: 3 Lekki Road | Victoria Island, Lagos 550104, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lagos Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Lagos Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagos Oriental Hotel Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing