We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible but I endured”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Court Hotel
Ranked #37 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Brookshire, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrible but I endured”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I am a diaspora Nigerian that goes home occasionally and it was always challenging to find an affordable hotel in our over-priced city. I settled for this hotel after spending an horrible but more expensive night in another one in the same area (Lekki Phase I). Now I asked myself how I survived for close to 90-days here. Though I must admit that after staying so long at some point I was given the privilege of flexible payments. They had no choice as many of the rooms were empty for most of the time. They rationed power supply from their generator once public power went out, and during day time when many guest were out of the room power supply was usually zero. I only ate there once or twice and can even remember what the quality was like. Bathroom was very crappy and shower curtain haunts me till today. This is not supposed to be an hotel because it does not operate as one. I pitied the staff because I was sure they were paid peanuts. I could go on and on. I've been home again, and I stayed at another hotel with similar price and I thought to myself how and why did I stayed that long in Embassy Court, Lagos. I am still mystified.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank adeoflagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
1
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We booked a room at Embassy Court at the last minute and were thoroughly appalled by the poor quality of the rooms and service. I'm not sure whether the other reviewers got lucky or if we just had a bad experience, but ours was awful.

The room was filthy and poorly equipped, lacking even toilet paper, a trash can, a towel, drinking water, glasses, mugs, or any other kind of dishware--for that matter. Everything in the room was dirty: sheets, shower, toilet, curtains, floors--the works.

The only thing in their favor was that they had a mini-fridge in the room, but that's about it. I've stayed in some real dodgy places both in West Africa and India, but for $100 a night this place is easily the worst hotel for the money I have stayed in.

If you have to be on the Islands in Lagos, drop an extra $50 or so and get a room at the Three Arms. Otherwise head on out to Governor's Hotel in Ikeja. You may not be able to book online, but at least you'll get a clean room, hot water, and can book a mini room for about $60.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank hojason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagos hotels

Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Visited Nigeria from the United States in February and June 2013. Stayed at the hotel for three nights in February and one week in June 2013. Except for minor problems in February when the hotel was undergoing major renovation, my June experience was great. I found the receptionists to be very friendly and warm. Also the room was very clean. In fact, the price is a bargain for its standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
281 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed there only 1 night, we have booked triple room, which caused a little bit of confusion, but finally we had our extra mattress on the floor and went to have dinner to a next door Asian restaurant (recommended).

Hotel was a little bit hard to find as it was dark already and it's not quite by the side of the street, but if you keep your eyes open you will see their yellow sign.

Room was big as well as bathroom. We had breakfast included in the price, we ordered it at 9am, but they manage to serve it a little bit after 11am - Lagos chaos.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
12.9 mi away
Best Western Starfire Hotel
2.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
3.8 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#20 of 130 in Lagos
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Ibis Lagos Airport
Ibis Lagos Airport
#38 of 130 in Lagos
277 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 130 in Lagos
297 reviews
3.2 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 130 in Lagos
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Court Hotel

Property: Embassy Court Hotel
Address: 15A Admiralty Way, Lekki VI, Lagos 23300, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Embassy Court Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Court Hotel located in Lekki Victoria Island, minutes away from The Palms Shopping Center and Four Points Sheraton in VI. Comfortable rooms and reasonable price ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Embassy Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing