We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Blowfish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Blowfish Hotel
Ranked #15 of 135 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Horrible neighbour, in the middle of a low end area. Messy service, with a major confsusion about the bookiing. Old rooms, with the overal hotel needing an upgrade.
Overall disappointed with the higher price comparing to the international hotel chains

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoseHenriques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walid-El-Zyr, General Manager at The Blowfish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Mr. Henriques,

Greetings from The Blowfish Hotel Lagos, Nigeria!

I would like to know if you are rating the right hotel or you are intended to write a feedback about another hotel, because as far as I know, our neighborhood is a mix of some European Embassies, Head offices of major banks, some major financial services and some other fine dining restaurants.
With regards to our rooms, our extension is less than 1 year old, and the hotel itself was built in 2009 and renovated in 2012, 6 moth ago.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any inquiries, and if you really stayed at The Blowfish Hotel, Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria, so I can attend to your complaints.

My email address is walid.elzyr@theblowfishhotel.com

Best regards,

Walid El Zyr.
General Manager
The Blowfish Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 116 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel rooms are a bit small but then if you are on a business travel then that should not be worrying at all. The hotel has multiple restaurants and that is a blessing in Nigeria as one does not have to go out and risk life in the evenings looking for a decent place to eat. The pool is one of the best and cleanest I have seen in Nigeria and worth a swim. Room service as per West African standards is good and surprisingly the internet connectivity is not bad either. Overall, a good property to stay in VI.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiddharthDhamija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walid-El-Zyr, General Manager at The Blowfish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Blowfish Hotel!
I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I would like to highlight that you must have booked the Level room, which is our standard room.
The size of the Level room is 30sqm.
Our Focus room is 38sqm and it has a nice balcony with wooden table and chairs.
Our Deluxe room is 45sqm and it has a small sitting area and a small dining area for 2.
Our Supreme room is 50sqm and it has as well a sitting area and dining area for 2.

I look forward to welcome you in back soon at our hotel.

Best regards,

Walid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I love this hotel. Everythin was just perfect. So kind and nice pple takin care of u, always very clean, good airconditioner, Pool side was amazin and always very clean, I loved the Jazz nights every thursday, good food.. like a home. I slept every night like a baby no any noises from outside or in. Everyone were so familiar. I really wanna come back again someday. Thank you for everyone whos workin in this hotel, will remember u always!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Päivi-Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walid-El-Zyr, General Manager at The Blowfish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Ms. Maria,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Blowfish Hotel.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Walid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I recently stayed here on a business trip. The standard Level room was perfectly adequate, but with a few rough edges, could do with some maintenance, such as the shower curtain falling down whilst showering which happened three times and the remote control for the TV did not work. The A/C unit was also badly positioned and blowing directly onto the bed.
The food was generally good in the main restaurant, including a nice greek menu. I found the food service was pretty poor around the pool area, there were often 2-3 waiters but they were not very attentive or friendly to the guests. The service in the italian restaurant was much better.
The pool was very nice it seemed to me that very few people were using it. Also they have live music on a Thursday night around the pool area which was very good.
One annoying thing was that they do not provide an iron and board for guest use, you must use the hotel laundry service. This is something that european travellers will expect.
Overall an average experience.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are generally quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ads102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walid-El-Zyr, General Manager at The Blowfish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, and likewise for your review about our hotel and services.

We take your comments very seriously, and I already communicated the areas of improvement to the concerned department heads.

The maintenance manager is checking daily and personally all the fixtures in the rooms to ensure all is working and in order.

The service around the pool is already improved, since we hired a new restaurant manager who is re-training all his team, and he will be present with them in the restaurant and the pool at all times.

As for the iron and ironing board, as a boutique hotel, we are unable to provide this for the rooms, and this is why we have our laundry facilities at a very low rate compared to any other hotel in town.

I look forward to welcome you again in the near future at The Blowfish Hotel.
Please feel free to contact me for any further inquiries.
My email address is: walid.elzyr@theblowfishhotel.com

Thank you once again for sharing your experience at The Blowfish Hotel.

Best regards,

Walid El Zyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Recently stayed here for 20 days, and it was a very enjoyable experience. The room was functional and clean, and Nora and the rest of the floor staff treated me with exemplary hospitality. The complimentary breakfasts were great - having fresh pineapple, papaya and watermelon was a nice touch to the morning buffet. There were some tasty dishes served by the two restaurants (Thai/Indian and Italian), my favourites being the butter chicken, palak paneer and any of the pasta dishes from the Italian menu. The weekly Jazz night by the poolside was also a great source of entertainment. Be sure to bring your own iron, if you require de-wrinkling the clothes from your suitcase. But aside from this minor quibble, I would definitely recommend this hotel. I'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Lagos and i can say that the blow fish hotel is the best. The rooms are clean, and smell good. The bed was so comfortable, slept so well. The staff is very welcoming, the service is great, the food is yummy, best cuisine in town. They offer italian, thai, continental and snacks. The pool is amazing and clean, the best place to relax after a long day of work.
I recommend the blow fish hotel, i had a great stay there, will stay there again and again. You will not regret it at all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catalina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here in July, Only lasted here for one night due to the overpowering musty, moldy smell. Changed rooms but it was still there. It was so strong my eyes were watering and my sinuses were stinging... Breakfast was good, Pool in back is great for Lagos standards. Would think twice about staying again...

Room Tip: Make sure you visit the room first to avoid the mold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnalogueJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
2.4 mi away
Three Arms
Three Arms
#34 of 135 in Lagos
21 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#24 of 135 in Lagos
57 reviews
2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Ibis Lagos Airport
Ibis Lagos Airport
#29 of 135 in Lagos
302 reviews
11.8 mi away
GrandBee Suites
GrandBee Suites
#53 of 135 in Lagos
24 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victoria Crown Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blowfish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blowfish Hotel

Address: 17 Oju Olobun Street | Off Bishop Oluwole Street, Lagos 2347066, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 135 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range: $84 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blowfish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blowfish Hotel is the ultimate oasis of comfort and style, where sophistication and attitude seamlessly blend with timeless design. A modern boutique hotel in Lagos, the Blowfish Hotel is proof that the new rules of elegance are crisp, clean, and modern, without fuss or complexity. With chosen furnishing, floor lighting and bedside lamps that harmoniously balance history and modernity, the Blowfish Hotel is more than a place to stay, it is THE place to be. Our luxurious amenities including fine cotton linen, plush down comforter and pillows, flat screen TV, in-room wireless internet connection and a soothing bath will leave you relaxed and refreshed. Enjoy our fascinating swimming pool, gym and WiFi in all areas. Conveniently located in the heart of Victoria Island, we offer indoor and outdoor facilities and we always aim to achieve the highest standards in our service delivery and customer relations. Our professional staff are devoted to satisfying your needs with passion and attention to detail. Welcome to The Blowfish Hotel, where service meets taste and comfort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Blowfish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing