We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a decent hotel”
Review of The Blowfish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Blowfish Hotel
Ranked #10 of 131 Hotels in Lagos
UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overall a decent hotel”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I recently stayed here on a business trip. The standard Level room was perfectly adequate, but with a few rough edges, could do with some maintenance, such as the shower curtain falling down whilst showering which happened three times and the remote control for the TV did not work. The A/C unit was also badly positioned and blowing directly onto the bed.
The food was generally good in the main restaurant, including a nice greek menu. I found the food service was pretty poor around the pool area, there were often 2-3 waiters but they were not very attentive or friendly to the guests. The service in the italian restaurant was much better.
The pool was very nice it seemed to me that very few people were using it. Also they have live music on a Thursday night around the pool area which was very good.
One annoying thing was that they do not provide an iron and board for guest use, you must use the hotel laundry service. This is something that european travellers will expect.
Overall an average experience.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are generally quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ads102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walid-El-Zyr, General Manager at The Blowfish Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, and likewise for your review about our hotel and services.

We take your comments very seriously, and I already communicated the areas of improvement to the concerned department heads.

The maintenance manager is checking daily and personally all the fixtures in the rooms to ensure all is working and in order.

The service around the pool is already improved, since we hired a new restaurant manager who is re-training all his team, and he will be present with them in the restaurant and the pool at all times.

As for the iron and ironing board, as a boutique hotel, we are unable to provide this for the rooms, and this is why we have our laundry facilities at a very low rate compared to any other hotel in town.

I look forward to welcome you again in the near future at The Blowfish Hotel.
Please feel free to contact me for any further inquiries.
My email address is: walid.elzyr@theblowfishhotel.com

Thank you once again for sharing your experience at The Blowfish Hotel.

Best regards,

Walid El Zyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    57
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
13
7
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Recently stayed here for 20 days, and it was a very enjoyable experience. The room was functional and clean, and Nora and the rest of the floor staff treated me with exemplary hospitality. The complimentary breakfasts were great - having fresh pineapple, papaya and watermelon was a nice touch to the morning buffet. There were some tasty dishes served by the two restaurants (Thai/Indian and Italian), my favourites being the butter chicken, palak paneer and any of the pasta dishes from the Italian menu. The weekly Jazz night by the poolside was also a great source of entertainment. Be sure to bring your own iron, if you require de-wrinkling the clothes from your suitcase. But aside from this minor quibble, I would definitely recommend this hotel. I'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Lagos and i can say that the blow fish hotel is the best. The rooms are clean, and smell good. The bed was so comfortable, slept so well. The staff is very welcoming, the service is great, the food is yummy, best cuisine in town. They offer italian, thai, continental and snacks. The pool is amazing and clean, the best place to relax after a long day of work.
I recommend the blow fish hotel, i had a great stay there, will stay there again and again. You will not regret it at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catalina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here in July, Only lasted here for one night due to the overpowering musty, moldy smell. Changed rooms but it was still there. It was so strong my eyes were watering and my sinuses were stinging... Breakfast was good, Pool in back is great for Lagos standards. Would think twice about staying again...

Room Tip: Make sure you visit the room first to avoid the mold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnalogueJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have stayed in all the major hotels in Lagos, my stay at Blowfish was a bit of a gamble as it is not one of the well known boring international chain hotels i normally stay in. I stayed for three nights and loved it. Quirky and different, amazing decor, tastefully done. The staff were engaging and happy, the food was amazing with a huge diverse menu covering everything from Thai, Indain and Italian. There is a vast pool and a gym. The gym is off site and a 5 minute walk away. The downside was the WIFI which really needs to be sorted out, very patchy at times. The rooms were not big but okay. All in all though and on balance i liked the Blowfish.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelguru85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay for 6 days in this hotel , service was good but whenever u ask for something in the room it seems staff doesnt like it for some strange reason . Other wise on the whole clean , neat rooms ( avg in size , not big ) , food was good with choice of Indian and Italian cuisine . Staff is hospitable , but prices wary starkly on what u get on expedia , hotel website and what staff offers you ( which happens to be best cheapest option ) . My recommendation for this hotel , with some negotiations :-) ..

Room Tip: pool side rooms offer good view , dont opt for road side views ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockytraveller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 13 nights with my fiancee this February on business and pleasure, it was splendid, good food, very clean, helpful staff, nice enough rooms, depending on where your room is, as the generator can get very loud at night if your room is in the main building due to the constant power cut, but then again, it is quite common in Nigeria.

2 draw backs, the drinks and food at the restaurant can get very expensive, however, as they say, if you pay for it, then expect to get the service which i did, when i go out with my fiancee, the waiters constantly stare at her as she is very beautiful, i feel flattered as she is been acknowledged, however the constant stare can get very annoying.

Plus points, there are local restaurants in the area if you get fed up eating the foods in the restaurant.

All in all, i will stay at the restaurant again when i return.

Room Tip: Ensure your bank balance is healthy if you are thinking of staying at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.8 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#22 of 131 in Lagos
53 reviews
2.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
2.2 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 131 in Lagos
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Three Arms
Three Arms
#25 of 131 in Lagos
20 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ibis Lagos Airport
Ibis Lagos Airport
#53 of 131 in Lagos
279 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bogobiri House Lagos
Bogobiri House Lagos
#12 of 131 in Lagos
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blowfish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blowfish Hotel

Property: The Blowfish Hotel
Address: 17 Oju Olobun Street | Off Bishop Oluwole Street, Lagos 2347066, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 131 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blowfish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blowfish Hotel is the ultimate oasis of comfort and style, where sophistication and attitude seamlessly blend with timeless design. A modern boutique hotel in Lagos, the Blowfish Hotel is proof that the new rules of elegance are crisp, clean, and modern, without fuss or complexity. With chosen furnishing, floor lighting and bedside lamps that harmoniously balance history and modernity, the Blowfish Hotel is more than a place to stay, it is THE place to be. Our luxurious amenities including fine cotton linen, plush down comforter and pillows, flat screen TV, in-room wireless internet connection and a soothing bath will leave you relaxed and refreshed. Enjoy our fascinating swimming pool, gym and WiFi in all areas. Conveniently located in the heart of Victoria Island, we offer indoor and outdoor facilities and we always aim to achieve the highest standards in our service delivery and customer relations. Our professional staff are devoted to satisfying your needs with passion and attention to detail. Welcome to The Blowfish Hotel, where service meets taste and comfort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your The Blowfish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing