We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Power cut and meal”
Review of BWC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BWC Hotel
Ranked #35 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Abuja
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Power cut and meal”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Quite a mixed experience! The room I was given was quite nice. But that was as good as my experience was in the hotel! Terrible options for dinner. Quite a crazy price to pay for a buffet with annoyingly limited options! Just when I woke up feeling ripped off the night earlier, I woke up to realize there was no water from the taps in the bathroom coupled with power outage. I don't understand why the hotel management believes 0700hrs is the best time to carry out generator maintenance!

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gugsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
1
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was badly surprised to walk in a best western 4 star hotel and find these kind of conditions. none of the facilities in the web site (such as pool, gym, tennis court...) were available. the room itself didn't have a rug, I was walking directly on the mosaic. the bathroom door was not even closing. there was a damp smell in the room as well.
as for the food, again it was terrible. the minimum wait to get a burger was 35 minutes, and then the taste and smell... I guess the oil they were cooking the food in was too old.
the prices were excessive as well, both on room and the food.
I was very disappointed
I stayed there for business trip for about 10 days.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiarash k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagos hotels

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I spent one evening at this hotel. It is located close to the seafront, Bar Beach area. Apart from the initial impressions when you arrive, the hotel facilities are pretty old and not well kept. The restaurant food was OK. Staff were friendly enough but nothing takes away the disappointment of the room itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KENVAN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed here with my hubby and children for the Lagos countdown to the New Year. This was the 2nd year in a row. The Business Excutive room is spacious and comfortable. The room we had overlooked the Bar Beach and the Atlantic Ocean.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Only had the buffet breakfast where the offering was limited but good nonetheless. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olamide G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

the hotel is very and looks old. the breakfast is very poor and you can't find anything to eat except the egg station even the french bread is not available. the internet connection is almost disconnected all the time, the TV channels stayed off for a whole day, the pool is not working, the power cut-off maybe 10 times per day, but the only thing that it makes you up that the staff is a little bit friendly. if you have the option don not stay there

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

When you say "Best Western", has some standard expectations that you could expect. That was not the case here, the let down was on the room, very damp hence was smelly, Did not fell good at all for the 2 nights that i stayed. Toilet was also not that good. Its a old property. Expensive.

Positives - Big room, Good hotel staff, prompt and quick. Breakfast was sufficient and has a decent spread. Good service.Clean restaurant. Veg options very limited.
Would avoid staying on my next trip.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are facing the front side of the hotel, they may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amodbangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

While I could never fault the friendliness and help from the staff, the hotel is way below par. The bedrooms have only the tiniest windows but unfortunately only looking inward to the internal (covered) courtyard where meals can be eaten. I had to change rooms 3 times due to things from the tv to the wifi not working or due to the bathroom not having a functioning shower. Each time they were accommodating, but this is not a luxurious establishment by any means. The rooms themselves, due to a complete lack of natural light, are either very dark or make you feel like you are in some kind of interrogation room such is the harsh brightness.
Meals were mediocre and on one day they ran out of burger buns completely, something I would have thought was fundamental.
Located directly across from what is intended one day to be reclaimed land on a beach or the style currently dominating Dubai at the moment, but right now it is more akin to a construction site. Completing this atmosphere was the emptied pool looking quite derelict.
I really wish I had spent less time here, but there is nothing nearby and walking alone is not recommended anyway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewirvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.7 mi away
Maroko Bayshore Suites
Maroko Bayshore Suites
#23 of 130 in Lagos
6 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#21 of 130 in Lagos
53 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bon Voyage
Hotel Bon Voyage
#27 of 130 in Lagos
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lagos Kuramo Waters
1.6 mi away
Westwood Hotel Ikoyi
Westwood Hotel Ikoyi
#51 of 130 in Lagos
62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Morning Side Suites
Morning Side Suites
#18 of 130 in Lagos
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BWC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BWC Hotel

Property: BWC Hotel
Address: Plot 1228 Ahmadu Bello Way, Lagos 234, Nigeria (Formerly The Island Hotel)
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BWC Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BWC Hotels provide world class services and facilities that meet your need to achieve the delicate balance between business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BWC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing