We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“alihameed A.K.A worst hotel....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westwood Hotel Ikoyi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Westwood Hotel Ikoyi to your Saves list
Westwood Hotel Ikoyi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Awolowo Road, Lagos, Nigeria (Formerly Protea Hotel Ikoyi Westwood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 127 Hotels in Lagos
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
“alihameed A.K.A worst hotel....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I find this report untrue, biased and has no basis. Protea hotel Ikoyi Westwood is a hotel of international standard and thus guests satisfaction is paramount and therefore, Protea hotel ikoyi Westwood will and can never under any circumstances check you into a room with all the issues raised by you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phylayei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
3
3
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My Last stay in Protea Hotel Ikoyi was enjoyable. Your Wifi speed is super. The staff are warm and friendly. I would like to stay again in your newly renovated room (the suit). The breakfast is very much of International standard.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHIKOYI, Guest Relations Manager at Westwood Hotel Ikoyi, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Hi Mr JackW. So kind of you to take time to put your thoughts on paper. We take the needs of our clients serious, and make services available to fit their needs. We are in a process of upgrading all rooms, and will have sparkling new rooms throughout the Hotel soon. Hope to see you soon, and please say hi to Arnold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

When I walked in to the hotel I was the only customer on the reception but they took time in finding my reservation, it was very hot on the main lobby. When I finally entered my room I found out the AC was not working there as well and water was dripping out on the floor, room was not clean, saw used tissues on the floor, no soap/shampoo in the wash room and one half filled water bottle was there on the table. I called the reception to complain but no one picked, I went down and complained they replied its hot due to the weather, room will now be cleaned as you have checked in. I asked for the WiFi password and they told me that Internet is down and will be back shortly, it didn't come back until my early checkout next day . They changed my room at night to a cleaner one with no WiFi and provided me a cable for Internet. Although hotel was booked for 4 days but I checked out next day and checked in to Southern Sun Ikoyi for next 4 days (as my trip was extended for one more day).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alihameeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHIKOYI, General Manager at Westwood Hotel Ikoyi, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for the time you took to report this incident. It gives us valuable information where we fall short, and where to focus on training effort.

My sincere apologies for the bad experience you encountered at our Hotel. It seems that what could go wrong, did. No excuse will make up for your unpleasant welcoming, experience in our room and difficulty to use our services.

According to your report, some standard procedures and policies seems to have been ignored in the execution of duties. It is definitely not the custom to allow a guest to go to the room unaccompanied, more so to leave a GUEST in an unmade room. We did manage to place you in a room ready for you. We have recently improved on our WiFi-service. This should not be a problem in future.

Please accept our apologies for your stay. We hope to see you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagos hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I've stayed here a few times and have enjoyed it every time. The front desk staff are very nice and helpful but some of the service staff (waiters, house keeping) could learn a bit more. The breakfast has enough good international and Nigerian options to eat and were mostly good. I've only had dinner a few times, but i've never had a complaint.

The "standard" rooms are on the smaller side, but for shorter stays its adequate. They seem to be making some upgrades to the hotel which is nice but it has a little bit more to go. Its in a good location for the most part...depending on where you need to be in the city. Its near the highway so easy access getting to and from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHIKOYI, General Manager at Westwood Hotel Ikoyi, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our Hotel. Please try our de lux or suites next time. The upgrades are going well and will be finished in early 2014.
The traffic in Lagos is challenging, but with our access to all routes makes it easy to get to your destination.
Hope to see you back shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This functional hotel on the waters edge offers comfortable accomodation, staff who try hard and does provide an adequate place to stay whilst in Lagos.
My gripes include inefficient wi fi offering use of only one device at a time and the need to log in frequently; the rooms are not cleaned well and during my stay I never saw nor heard a vacuum cleaner anywhere and the buffet food , whilst offering adequate variety was not apertising.....
Front office ladies were friendly and efficient but service could be slow as often only one person on the desk.
Restaurant service is erratic , good when you get it but hard to find.......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfricaAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHIKOYI, General Manager at Westwood Hotel Ikoyi, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your response about our Hotel. I noted your areas of concern and will see that we improve. We have added a fiber optic solution to our current radio signal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I lodged at the hotel..oh my d services was of international standard, the rooms and public area where well kept. The services was excellent and the staff of the hotel were very friendly and professional. I would like to come back again and I every should visit. Whew I didn't feel like leaving. Thanks guys!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane onwuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yola
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Having known the Protea brand for many years, this was an obvious choice when I was looking for my one night stay over in Lagos. Since it was just a stay over, location was not my main concern. The room met with nearly all my expectations - it was clean and comfortable and provided a good night's rest. Little things like the missing wash basin plug and the flat batteries in the aircon remote could have been checked before my arrival and rectified - I could even have called down to reception to have it attended to, but I was too tired to do so at 11 o'clock at night.

The reception staff was very friendly and helpful and certainly made me feel welcome.

Dinner in the hotel restaurant consisted of tomato and basil soup (I loved it) followed by a beef burger with cheese (disappointingly bland). The waiter service was prompt, but the kitchen staff did not show the same promptness unfortunately - service from the kitchen was very slow - my soup took nearly an hour.

Breakfast this morning was great. Once again prompt and friendly service by the waiters. The lady serving at the food section was a great disappointment however. She was grumpy and unfriendly and took 15 minutes to top up the cold meats and cheese after I asked for it nicely, and when she did this eventually appeared even more grumpy.

All-in-all I have to admit that this was a one night business stay over (maybe I caught some staff on a bad day), and that all the issues are easily fixable with a bit of attention to friendliness and efficient customer service. I hope that management sees it in that light and get all the staff up to the required professional level that is synonymous to the Protea brand.

I have to come past Lagos again on my way back home. Will I stay here again? I am not sure - there are many other choices in the area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RenaldoRheeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.1 mi away
Morning Side Suites
Morning Side Suites
#15 of 127 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
1.2 mi away
Three Arms
Three Arms
#28 of 127 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#23 of 127 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bogobiri House Lagos
Bogobiri House Lagos
#19 of 127 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elion House Hotel
Elion House Hotel
#34 of 127 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
2.0 mi away
The George
The George
#5 of 127 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Hotel Ikoyi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Hotel Ikoyi

Property: Westwood Hotel Ikoyi
Address: 22 Awolowo Road, Lagos, Nigeria (Formerly Protea Hotel Ikoyi Westwood)
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 127 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood Hotel Ikoyi 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westwood Hotel, Ikoyi Lagos - Simply Convenient. The Westwood Ikoyi is situated in the heart of the bustling business centre of Ikoyi, on the waterfront of the Cowrie Creek Lagoon, with its own jetty. This ten story building offers 18 Suites, 20 Deluxe Rooms and 18 Standards Rooms, all fitted with a DSTV bouquet, state-of-the-art furnishings and free internet access. We are under new management and have been working hard to upgrade and add to our facilities. A new amazing waterside venue will open in October. We have already added a very popular library and a wonderful new wine list. Plus have seriously increased our internet connectivity. Enjoy a wholesome breakfast or indulgent dinner in our stylish restaurant with family, friends or business associates. Whether visiting for business or leisure, be sure to relax by the pool or visit the fitness centre to complete your stay. The airport is approximately 30km away from The Westwood, and is easily accessible from the hotel via the Third Mainland Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, HRS and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Westwood Hotel Ikoyi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing