We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“London prices for Lagos quality, horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
Ranked #6 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“London prices for Lagos quality, horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

I am staying typically 150+ nights per year in 5 Star properties around the world, for business and leisure. I am also a VIP member of many of the established hotel loyalty programs.
I'm an Ambassador Member of SPG.

I stayed for 20+ nights in this hotel in about 8 different rooms over multiple trips. Mostly received suite upgrades.

Overall, I must say this is a horrible hotel:

The entire hotel smells mouldy and humid, you even hear water dripping and flowing in some walls,...
°Rooms are large, but not well maintained (noisy/broken/only off-on A/C, bathrooms dirty, in 3 out of 4 rooms there were ants).
°Housekeeping is a no-go: 50% of the time dirty and torn sheets, every single day either not enough or no towels.
°Wifi in the room is more a matter of luck, since reception is bad and speed is slow
°Food in room service is the worst I ever had (limited choice, overpriced, tastes like nothing), restaurant buffet food does not taste like anything really... Best food option is the sports bar downstairs (smoky, but the junk food snacks are edible).
°Only good thing: reception is very friendly and well trained, but can't really make up for the horrible condition of the overall asset.

Recommendation: Take your business elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MUCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    203
    66
    31
    11
See reviews for
27
27
28
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

I live in Lagos and decided to get out of the house for the weekend with the kids (no cooking, cleaning, etc.,) without having to get in a plane or drive more than 15 mins.

Rooms were adequately sized, tastefully furnished and comfortable to stay in. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

Reception tried to overcharge me vs. what they had said on the phone during booking, for two fold-able beds for my kids (aged 2 and 4.) I had to rattle the manager before I was satisfied.

Also had a problem with restaurant staff who hassled me and my wife on two occasions for taking an extra table and chair (there were four of us, they had no high chairs, the tables were too small for me and two of the chairs were fixed to the wall and my daughter didn't want to sit on it.) Anyway there were only four other people in the 80 odd cover restaurant, so I couldn't see why it was a problem.

Other positive was we had the pool to ourselves most days. Its a nice pool, but not very popular.

The car park is also too small, had to drive round for 15 mins to get a parking space.

Afamiii

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor, the bar can be noisy. The views are also better. The top floor has exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Afamiii i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for about 30 nights over the last few months. Comfortable and clean rooms, although the power outages are getting worse. Check-in or check out can be very disorganised at times, but staff in general very friendly. The hotel could clearly not charge these prices for the standard they offering in Europe, but for Nigeria it is not too bad. Definitely a lot of prostitutes in the hotel, but then this is not too different from some of the other large hotels in Lagos.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Located on "the island" offers good modern rooms, a lovely outside bar perfect for sundowners, well protected. Stayed here twice last year and find reception staff a little slow in action and stroppy. Power cuts every evening as per the rest of Lagos, regardless of the number of the generators on the grounds.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

I have stayed at the hotel on a contract basis, the management dont care about comments as they are content with high occupancy of 85% with communication extremely low.

Depending which room/suite your are allocated you may endure the following:

Excessive Air Flow from Air Con that has to be shut-off otherwise sleep is unbearable
Because of the live music Thursdat through Sunday Rooms facing the Office Bar renders it impossible to sleep until aftewr 10:30pm
Rooms facing the road renders it possible to have severely broken sleep
Towels not replaced, soiled towels left for re-use
Room not cleaned
Tiled floors generally dirty
General care and maintenance poor
Hot water sporadic, dirty yellowish water common or no water or scalding hot wate
Use of the sweat box gym hard to endure because the temperature in the gym is not cooled and areas there devoid of cooling.

Security issue DONT leave your mobile on the dinner table. I had mine stolen one Sunday Night in the brasserie restaurant in January.

Countless problems with the check-in check-out process bill invariably accomodates additional charges as does the bar. SO Watch out.

Ability to fob off the customer lacking genuine care aka 85/90% occupancy

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George6754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Back in Lagos again, I stayed 3 weeks in Four Points. Kind staff, well organised but the poyer outages have not been fixed, if possible it is even worse. Bearing in mind that mains electricity barely covers 25% of the local consumption, power outages are not surprising but this hotel, at the rate they charge, should definitely run on generators 24/24.
But, there are more prostitutes than in the past, alone at the bar (inside and outside) as well as with customers on the room floors. Since heavy security is available at every door in this hotel, it would be easy for the hotel to stop them. Since they don't, I expect these ladies are paying their way in...
This can be the cause for theft or unfriendly behavior in the hotel and is not acceptable in this type of environment.

Room Tip: High floor and not on the pool side, live music until 11pm everyday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
Level Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

New hotel, well equipped, modern. Staff quite helpful. there even appear to be managers that actually manage! Together with the Raddison, certainly the best possible choice in Lagos. It is quite expensive, but hell! This is Nigeria and the supply-demand relation is not very favourable for visiting guests...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aner g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
1.7 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 130 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#8 of 130 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 130 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eko Hotels & Suites
Eko Hotels & Suites
#15 of 130 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#21 of 130 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Lagos

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
Address: Plot 9/10, Block 2 | Oniru Chieftaincy Estate, Lagos 101008, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#6 Business Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Lagos 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Four Points by Sheraton Lagos. An Uncomplicated comfort in the heart of Lagos. The hotel features 234 spacious guest rooms and conference facilities for up to 200 guests. Relax after a day of work and in the lively outdoor atmosphere of The Office rooftop bar located on the 2nd floor. You can also enjoy a good game at the Adrenaline sports bar with several local brews The well equipped fitness center is completed by the one-of-a kind Spa that offers various treatments for local and international guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Lagos
Four Points By Sheraton Lagos Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing