We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Art Lover's Get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip Festac Lagos
Ranked #59 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An Art Lover's Get-away”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a 4-day retreat by the senate of a post graduate college. The rooms are adequately roomy, clean with efficient room service. The hotel is in a spacious ground in the Festac/Agboju Amuwo area of Lagos, Nigeria. There 2 approaches- one from the Festac axis and the other from the mile2 / low cost axis both fully functional. The buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner were quite rich with reasonable range of continental, African, Asian and other exotic options. Very nice food indeed. Beautiful art works adorn different arrears of the hotel with shops and a bank in-house. However the bar service is a little bit on the expensive side compared to other hotels in it's cartegory. There are no nearby eateries or cafes thus the need to take a taxi if you require out of hotel services. I will happily stay in this hotel again when I visit that part of Lagos in the future. All in all, sweet experience.

Col Dr Andrew Imogu

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool area and the canal behind it. It is about the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    30
    36
    8
    13
See reviews for
6
9
6
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Wow, a place so unlike what you find in Nigeria. This Hotel is one of the best i have come across in terms of service in Africa so far. This hotel is fairly new property located in a not so urban a location but it is better than all those i have heard of from people i met on my way to nigeria. There is so much negative being talked about the service levels, hygiene, expensive accommodation that finding a good hotel has become an act of god.
I wish this hotel would help arrest the negativity and would help the nigerian hospitality industry get back on track.
The meals cost are on the higher side and I thought i could have tried different places on the island instead of having it in the hotel but the traffic would not permit me to do so.

Room Tip: Up...Up towards the pool if you want to have some entertainment! Two quick suggestions: Drink bott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swaptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here as part of a work retreat in July and I have to admit it was an awesome experience. I was surprised to find a hotel this good and spacious in Festac. The food was nice and the service very good. The rooms were international standard, however the grounds of the hotel though spacious can do with an upgrade.

If I was passing through Lagos and I wanted to stay on the mainland, I would definitely consider this hotel, particularly for its proximity to the airport.

Room Tip: Poolside view otherwise not but o see
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had the opportunity to be in Lagos. the Golden Tulip Festac was a recoomended choice. In short it is a get away location with secured serene environment, offering a one stop point for guests who are both business and leisure.

It has given a Lagos, a beacon of hope were one can get a 4* star service with affordable price. Golden Tulip, really an ideal place to be when in Lagos

Room Tip: Request for Higher floor rooms over looking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed at Golden Tulip Festac and it was such a beautiful experience. The staff were very friendly, the food was really good, 5 star attention to detail in the service! The ambiance was lovely and warm. No fault at all! It was more than worth every penny! Better that a lot of hotels abroad. I'll definitely be staying there on another trip to Lagos :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCole009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have stayed in a number of Nigerian hotels, but this was by far the best. It is spacious, peaceful and you wont be bothered by ladies of the night as one would in so many other places in Nigeria. It is an ideal hotel for any occasion, business, personal or family. There is a good outdoor pool and security is discreet but well managed. The buffet breakfast is as good as any anywhere. The staff are polite, efficient and clearly well trained. The bar is pricey but not over the top. I would definitely return and would recommend this hotel to anyone..

Room Tip: ask for a view over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmfenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel is like a buddy. It's near me (I live in Festac) and it's a favourite hangout at weekends. I've also stayed as a guest. I was pleasantly surprised to see the positive reviews on here. I thought it was my secret. Suffice it to say that this hotel is all that and more - friendly and courteous staff, reasonably priced relative to Lagos hotels, good food, neat, quite rooms (if you're facing the pool area, don't know about other rooms). This hotel shows a great sense of style and appreciation of art. It's literally an arts gallery! You can buy too. Downsides? Two stand out - far from town (for visitors looking to do business on the island, but it's close to the airport in compensation); and a high turnover of staff, I see new faces all the time replace old ones. So far it hasn't affected service much, but it could.
Particular mention must be made of the live band - very good, soothing oldies done just right. I'll keep going!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GodsonUgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
8.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Essential Lagos Airport Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sunfit
Sunfit
#1 of 3 in Festac Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
African Garden Lodge
African Garden Lodge
#31 of 130 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cynergy Suites Limited
Cynergy Suites Limited
#49 of 130 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection
3.0 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#22 of 130 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Festac Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Festac Lagos

Property: Golden Tulip Festac Lagos
Address: Amuwo Odofin, Mile 2, Lagos PMB 031, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Festac Lagos 4*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Festac Lagos, Hotel & Conference Centre is located in one of the most dynamic trade and business districts in Lagos, situated at half an hour's drive from Lagos International and Domestic Airports, and has easy access to Apapa commercial harbour and industrial areas as well as to other business districts such as Ikeja, Victoria Island, Ikoyi and others.The hotel is designed to provide guests with various business and leisure facilities, complimented by international service standards and local gracious hospitality.The Golden Tulip Festac Lagos is a new 471 guest room property The hotel is located in one of the most dynamic trade and business districts of the city of Lagos. Half an hour’s drive from central business districts and the airport, the Golden Tulip Festac Lagos is located near the Badagry Highway which leads travellers by road from Lagos to the neighbouring Republic of Benin. The hotel is set on a 7 hectare site and features beautifully landscaped Tropical Gardens, 471 rooms, a variety of restaurants and bars, the largest and most flexible conference and banquet facility in Lagos, a Gym and wellness centre, tennis courts, squash courts, a bank and shops.Construction Date 2009 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Jovago.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Golden Tulip Festac Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Festac Lagos Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing