We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lagos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avenue Hotel
Save
You added Avenue Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #52 of 127 Hotels in Lagos
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for the second time and both times have been excellent. (The first time was October last year). The personnel are warm, friendly and interested in a genuine way to their guests. I stayed for just over two weeks and any issue that arose with my room was solved immediately. The hotel has a good standard of cleanliness, occasionally the finer details are missed - air vents etc. The food is consistent, well cooked and well presented particularly in the restaurant on the top of the hotel. The location of the hotel is not central, however for the purposes of my trip it was very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
1
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Now this hotel has the potential to be 4*, and could do with a few tweaks (if like me you treasure an unimpeded nights' sleep, bring your own pillow: they were too hard, then too soft, but a minor inconvenience when considering the whole), there is no pool and the bathroom let the suite down somewhat in terms of needing updates on tiling, but the accommodation was unfailingly spotless (and believe me I went prepared with my cleaning products and toilet wipes - as I was travelling with children, but no additional cleaning was necessary - neither were my pre-packed sheets!), non-smoking, totally bug free, and the food was of an excellent standard, the staff were responsive, polite, discreet and the real strength of the operation. Max was constantly available to go above and beyond the call of duty (my laptop stopped working and Max and his manager Nnena were quick to voluntarily print out my pre-booked boarding passes and make computers available to us) and all members of the staff team are a credit to such a small boutique hotel. I say "small" but our family of four stayed in the one bedroom apartment, and using their own initiative an additional double bed was moved in to accommodate us, the apartment was spacious and nice enough to entertain visiting associates and friends, there was a lovely outdoor thatched roof lounging area that served drinks and food which was lovely to sit in of an evening (especially when a very good band played on the Wednesday night!). While this location was close enough to the business and leisure districts to feel connected but discreet (lovely quiet road, easy to find, situated behind the main drag in Victoria Island), it would be ideal for the single business traveler looking for a short or extended stay - the children were welcomed and catered for in terms of meals and DVD entertainment; they are 8 and 14 so weren't running around interrupting meetings, but I get the distinct impression this staff body could have handled anything thrown at them. Having shopped around scrupulously and maximised the spying potential of friends and family living in Lagos I can confidently say that for our tight budget, this was not only the most amazing, reasonably (and competitively) priced hotel, but was so clean, welcoming and conveniently located I wouldn't hesitate to return (as promised) on future trips to Lagos State, Nigeria. As world travelers I can confidently say the security was second to none, and I felt secure and comfortable in all areas of the hotel (I don't play with my childrens' safety and even fully inspected the low traffic staff areas at the back of the residence - it pays to be paranoid) - the gate and environs of the hotel were constantly discreetly patrolled and the unobtrusive security measures were noted and appreciated. We went for my fathers' funeral, and to walk away at such a devastating time with the impression of a phenomenal stay in this establishment says it all. Thank you Max, Nnena, Ibe, Glory and Austin for being such outstanding support in creating a home away from home in our darkest hour.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starr798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Even though the place has the potential of being a very nice simple and affordable hotel,it is lacking a lot of things which is obviously suffering from lack of supervision and maintenance,rusted soap handles and shower rails enough for you to wanna puke or throw up,the corridors are so hot once out of room and sometimes smells of cigarette smoke,then most of the food they have in the Menu is never avialable in the kitchen while food take one hours to be served,its never fresh,yet expensive,. Very dirty towel mat on the floor you will dread stepping on it. The whole compound needs fumigation because the mosquitoes are big as giants courtesy of the dirty gutters in front. The house keeping can't even make a proper bed with the stained bed covers. Meanwhile staffs dress like the are going for a house party. The hotel is still trying to breath and it could be better if the could bring up their standard. For now,I will not advise anyone to stay here. Penny wise,pound foolish.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doris_idec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The staff are first class all very friendly and helpful, they cant do enough for u, anything u ask for its not a problem for them.The location is safe and perfect, far enough from the strip to get away from the hustle and bustle of Lagos but close enough (5 minute walk) to get to, enjoy evening meals and drinks, shopping malls, nightclubs,and banks! I have to say that I have never ever stayed in such a nice, well run, immaculately kept haven. Although there was some renovations going on at the pool and Gym it was no problem and never obtrusive. the weather was fantastic, couple of short bursts of rain but nothing really, but it did make the landscape so nice and green, The Rooms and bathroom were spotless, Excellent Wi-Fi facility throughout the whole of the hotel, including your hotel room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosslady36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

When you consider that the other option for Europeans is the Radisson Blu at +$400 per night, this is an acceptable alternative.
It is typically African in standard and service but is perfectly OK.
The water was off for one day but they have a good Generator so when the power goes, it never is off for too long.
Staff are lovely and friendly and the rooms were serviced daily.
I did have a small complaint about the fact that the Mozzies were let into my room by open windows, courtesy of the cleaner, but after i complained, the manager then instructed them to de-bug my room and the smell of the spray they used was extremely strong and made all my clothes in the wardrobe smell.
If I go again, I will take my own insect spray I think.
All in all, not a bad little guesthouse and I would consider when I go back again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mavenue, Director of Sales at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you sir for your comments and also for choosing to stay at the Avenue Hotel. We are always happy to get feedback from guests.
Ive had a chat with our team mates (who have the job of looking after the guests rooms) &
you will be happy to know that they have come up with a new bug spray brand that has a lighter after-fragrance which is now used as standard in the hotel!
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and will look forward to welcoming you back again whenever you are in town.

We love to hear from all our guests as we believe that your comments drive us to sustain our services and help make us an alternative, affordable oasis of comfort among the larger, more expensive big name brands out there.
We wish you a happy rest of year in your business travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Great value for money. The staff are so welcoming and professional. The price was amazing and my room was beautiful. I did have a problem with my TV but the staff tried to fix it. I had a great time. i would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onixons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mavenue, Director of Sales at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Avenue Hotel, your comments drive change and we are happy for feedback.
We have upgraded the breakfast menus wonderfully and we now have a wider range of sections for your enjoyment including, Healty breakfast section, Full English sections, Fruits only section, Continental section, Nigerian Sections and also we even increased the brands of tea we carry to include green teas and more!

We look forward to hosting you again when you may be in Lagos next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

I stay at this wonderful place in March 2011 for 5 days after finding them on facebook. The Place is noise proof so you cant hear the generator. The pepper goat is to die for, i had it every night.............lol The staff were so friendly and helpful, they found someone to tie my heap wrap for a wedding. They could not do enough. They have a bar and have various special night. The Avenue is near a nail bar, supermarket and it is safe.
My only bad point is they try and serve you same breakfast every day but just tell them you want some diffrent and they will offer you yam, plantain etc.
It a best kept serect of Victoria Island, Stay there. I will be back in xmas

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank girlfemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
2.0 mi away
Three Arms
Three Arms
#28 of 127 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pearl Court Residence & Hotels
3.6 mi away
Etal Hotel and Halls
Etal Hotel and Halls
#57 of 127 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bogobiri House Lagos
Bogobiri House Lagos
#19 of 127 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Morning Side Suites
Morning Side Suites
#15 of 127 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
1.0 mi away
S&S Hotels and Suites
S&S Hotels and Suites
#51 of 127 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Property: Avenue Hotel
Address: 11 Musa Yar Adua St | Victoria Island, Lagos 550104, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 127 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Safe, Cosy & Affordable small hotel, set in Upper Class Victoria Island. Privacy, exclusivity & comfort guaranteed with high security. Discover a serene world of accommodation where you can unwind in total comfort in a boutique hotel ambiance. Wifi, lounges, bar, conference room, relaxation garden, We even have 'serviced short-let apartments', large luxury rooms, restaurant, and many more..Enjoyed by expatriates and top end clients. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing