We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Customer Focussed in Lagos.”
Review of Southern Sun Ikoyi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Ranked #2 of 134 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I was traveling to Nigeria alone for the first time and found this hotel sensitive and alert to to customer needs.The breakfast spread was amazing,especially loved the cheeses and fruit,quick switch over with the power outages common in this country.Chikwudi the barman deserves special recognition,his mocktails and cocktails were superb.The vibe at the bar was great,decent mixed crowd too.I also enjoyed the Church service in one of the conference rooms on Sunday morning.The Concierge could however do better.Southern Sun Ikoyi was one of the few places in Nigeria I felt very at home traveling as a single lady.

Room Tip: The a/c worked great on 2nd floor.All rooms have minibars/fridge and the TV channels are very clear...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanjiruT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2014

Dear Wanjiru,

Thank you very much for taking out time to provide your comments following your recent stay with us at Southern Sun Ikoyi

The team and I are pleased that your enjoyed our service, food, internet service, the efficiency and courteous nature of our staff and other things mentioned in your comments. We want to assure you that these attributes will continue as you return to the hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Ikoyi soon.


regards
Cliff Shiridzinodya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Ikoyi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 692 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

First room I was given had an odd scent, second room was dirty as work had been done in the bathroom and resulted in plaster/silicone all over the bedroom floor. Alarms went off in the middle of the night on 4 occasions. I work for NEC Africa we have a number of staff that stay in your hotel regularly and I found this experience horrible. I stayed at the southern sun this time last year for 2 weeks and the standards seem to have dropped significantly since then, which is disappointing because it used to be an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank SunnyWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Deputy General Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear SunnyWorldTraveller

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking your time to share your experience.

I am truly disappointed to know about your bad experience and the state of our rooms,and the alarm that went off in the middle of the night.

All these issues have been sorted.

I would like you to know that I appreciate your comments and it is vital for us in improving our service. I hope I would have another opportunity to welcome you again in Southern Sun Ikoyi.

Yours Sincerely
Cliff Shiridzinodya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The Southern Sun hotel is located in a secure and fairly quiet part of town in Ikoyi.
It's located on a major road so easily accessible both within and outside the island. I spent only one night there but I did enjoy it. Although it's expensive, the quality of service compared to other similarly priced hotels is better.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viviani204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Deputy General Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Viviani204

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Southern Sun Ikoyi, and taking your time to share your experience . We are delighted to learn that the location and the service were acceptable to you.

We looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Best Regards
Cliff Shiridzinodya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Service I experienced during the my stay was excellent. Staff are friendly, polite and very professional. Excellent customer care and goes the extra mile to help guests.
The room was spacious and decorated well. It looked extremely well maintained with high quality furniture & linen. Bathroom was modern, spacious and extremely clean.
The hotel is located in a convenient, central location and looked easy to get taxi eventhough I did not use taxis.
On the whole it is an execptionally high quality hotel in a location where quality is an issue.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank 300Aishwarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Deputy General Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Priyanka

Thank you for taking time to share your comment and feedback with us.

We truly value your feedback as your absolute satisfiaction is our goal. Thank you for your comments about the rooms, and our staff. I will definitely share your comments with the team.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Cliff Shiridzinodya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The Southern Sun is one of the nicer, if not the nicest full service hotel experience in Ikoyi. The entire staff, regardless of position, greets you with a smile and seems to genuinely appreciate you being there. I use the gym on a regular basis. The facility is always clean and the machines are well maintained. There is a good selection of weights, machines and cardio equipment (3 treadmills, 3 bikes, 2 elliptical machines). Steam, sauna, and lockers are also available. The most memorable part of the gym are the 3 attendants (I believe their names are Hostraap, Mbom, and Tobenna). They are eager to assist or train you, answer questions, demonstrate exercises, and motivate you to achieve your workout goals. They are all an asset to the hotel and make exercising a bit more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicagowino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Deputy General Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Chicagowino

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to know that the service rendered by the team members were to your satisfaction. You good comments have been passed on to them and they are happy to hear that their effort is recognized.

We are committed to provide the highest level of service to all our guest and it has been a pleasure to serve you.

Thank you for your personal recommendation, we look forward to your next visit.

regards
Cliff Shiridzinodya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Wow. I hate coming to Lagos! My 1st impression and last of the country, both being at the airport, sour my feelings of the place every time I am here.
But then I was advised to stay here. And even though its a business trip, it is fantastic.
I have never had such efficient, happy and friendly assistance with anything I request.
Its clean...fabulously clean!
Rooms are big, hallways are quiet, and its extremely secure.
Internet is free, and fast. This is a biggie for me.
I cant speak highly enough of this property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank craigharwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Deputy General Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Craigharwood

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also taking your time to share your experience with us.

Your appreciative comments about the facilities and staff are highly appreciated.
We are also proud of their professionalism as they continue to deliver professional service.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Ikoyi.

Kind regards
Cliff Shiridzinodya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here a number of times on business. The hotel is perfectly fine, not a bad oasis amongst all the chaos. If you're staying here you really need to be doing business on the island as the traffic across the bridge is chaotic. Nice gym, good bar and safe.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank tenny500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Deputy General Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Tenny500

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Southern Sun Ikoyi and taking your time to share your experience.

We delighted to learn that our location, gym and bar were acceptable to you. We looking forward to welcoming back again soon.


regards

Cliff Shiridziodya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.1 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 134 in Lagos
306 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 134 in Lagos
144 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#9 of 134 in Lagos
373 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Ikoyi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ikoyi

Address: 47 Alfred Rewane Road Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#4 Business Hotel in Lagos
#9 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $197 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ikoyi 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi LagosAddress 47 Alfred Rewane Road (Kingsway Road)Ikoyi – Lagos Nigeria.Location Southern Sun Ikoyi is strategically located in the GovernmentArea of the City. It offers the corporate business travelers an excellent accommodation and irresistible Services. The hotel is situated within a few kilometers from the Atlantic Ocean (popularly called Bar Beach), 5km from the City Centre and 30km from the International Airport.Accommodation Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi has a total of 195 rooms tastefully furnished with luxurious amenities and offers various segments of rooms to meet our clients’ needs. The Hotel rooms are categorized as follows: 86 Standard Rooms 75 Executive Rooms (One Double Bed) 22 Executive Rooms (Two Double Beds) 5 Junior Suites 4 Suites 2 Executive Suites 1 Paraplegic RoomAll the above mentioned rooms are non-smokingGuests Rooms All rooms are fitted with the followings: Air-conditioning Flat Screen 32” LCD TV DSTV and Local Channels Hitv Channels High Speed Complementary Internet Access WIFI internet connectivity IDD Telephone System in rooms Safe Deposit Boxes Electronic Door Lock Tea/Coffee Making facilities Fully Stock Mini Bar Hair Dryer Iron/Ironing Board (on request) Work Desk with LampExecutive Floors The Executive floors (8th & 9th) offer our esteemedguests exclusive services as follows: Executive Lounge Complimentary:o Continental/Buffet Breakfasto Fruit Basket on Arrivalo Bottle of Wineo Newspaperso Bathrobeso Slipperso Loffa Business & Secretarial Services Turndown ServiceFamily Children under 3 years and below stay and eat freeServices Our Hotel Services include: 24 hours effective and efficient security system 24 hours, 7 days a week room service Laundry and Dry Cleaning Services Secured Environment Free Parking Business Centre with state-of-the-art facilities Daily Secretarial Services Fitness Centre with modern equipment ATM Services on site WIFI internet connectivity throughout the Hotel High Speed Internet Access Outdoor Swimming PoolConference/MeetingOur professional Staff will assist our Corporate and Business Clients to plan their meetings/functions. Our meeting rooms are fully equipped with state-of-art-facilities.Restaurant/Bar Our Restaurants our open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner and offer elegant Nigerian and Continental dishes to the delight of all guests. Restaurant Capacityo Main Restaurant - 80 Seatso Mezzanine Lounge/Bar - 20 Seats Operation Hourso Breakfast - 6.30am – 10.00amo Lunch - 12.00pm – 3.00pmo Dinner - 6.00pm – 10.00pmSports/Recreation * Swimming Pool Fitness Centre Gym Sauna/Steam RoomUseful Information The Hotel does not operate Airport Shuttle, but could assist our guests to make arrangement with a reliable Car Rentals on request. Rates are inclusive of Full Continental/Buffet Breakfast 5% VAT and 10% Service Charge.Interested Placesin Lagos Ikoyi Club – Established 1938 is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel and it offers various sporting facilities. It has about 15,000 members of high profile people in Nigeria. Muson Centre – meaning Musical Society of Nigeria. Is 10 minutes drive from the hotel and most musical concert are staged at the Centre. Bar Beach – is located 5km drive from the Hotel. This is the main beach on Victoria Island, Lagos. The Bar Beach is named historically after the sand bars on long the Lagos Coastline. Silverbird Calleria – Is situated on Victoria Island, a 10 minutes drive from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Shoprite – Is located along Lekki Expressway, is 20 minutes from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Eleko Beach – Is about 45minutes drive along the Lekki-Epe Expressway. It is one the most popular among the beaches in Lagos. It is very busy during festive and public holidays.Language *English and three (3) other major Nigerian Languages –Yoruba, Igbo and HausaCurrency Naira(Local)Credit Card Visa and Master CardsElectricity 220vTime Zone GMT-1Climate Tropical Climate all year round with temperature of 25c and 40c.Major Airlines South African Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Lufthansa, British Airways, KLM, Egypt Air, Kenya Airways, Delta Airlines, Arik Air, Turkish AirRates are Inclusive of:  Full Buffet Breakfast 10% Service charge Other Added Values are:  Wifi/Internet Service Two bottled water in Room Daily Gym, Sauna and Steam Swimming Pool Free Car Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Ikoyi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing