We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”
Review of Southern Sun Ikoyi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Ranked #2 of 131 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from my first trip to Nigeria and stayed in this hotel. I have been told that this is one of the best hotels in the area but found it quite average for the price aprox $400 per night! My room was quite small but modern and clean with a fair selection of western tv channels, as was apparently the norm, the air conditioner sounded like there was an ice cream van parked in the room with its engine running...it was so loud ! but crucial to have switched on. I had previously booked online for 3 nights but they only had me booked in for 1 night, luckily this was not a problem but had to check 3 different times with 3 different people to make sure it got changed. Breakfast was good quality and staff were friendly but as is usual have to ask 3 different people to get your tea/coffee. The pool is very small but there is also a gym but did not manage to visit it. Food was nice from the restaurant but again very expensive $40 for buffet. All in all a secure location/hotel but average hotel for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colmon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    283
    76
    19
    13
See reviews for
37
45
54
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

The Southern Sun, Ikoyi is an oasis of elgant calm in hectic Lagos. Recently built the rooms provide all a business traveller needs - firm beds, crisp linen, roomy clean bathrooms with good water supply, WiFi Internet, digital satellite TV, personal safe, tea service and working desk. Laundry service was prompt. A good gym to work out the kinks from the flight. Fantastic 20m pool for the water-babies. The buffet breakfast and lunch were good, but not exceptional, but attentive service rounding off the experience. The mezzanine lounge and ground floor bar provide a good alternative for snacks and informal meeting areas with formal conference facilities available. Access security was average but in house security on every floor above average although not intrusive. Rack rate is upper end of mid-range, but value for money exceptional for West Africa, particularly in comparison with Angola. All round very good experience - well done to Mark and staff.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RollStoneMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have been to this hotel twice everything is above expectation after a very long flight and crazy traffic trust me this is the best place to be!
I have always felt at home. home away from home
The service is super thanks to Mr.Lawal the food and beverage manager trust me he is doing a great job
I had a problem with the internet but it was sorted out right away by Paul all your efforts can't go unnoticed.Everything is just above the standards.
Congratulations and keep up the standards!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babydol86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I must commend the friendly staff, the wonderful food and the well maintained facilities. Coming home to the Southeren Sun Ikoyi is a visit to an oasis of calm and a retreat after the hurly burly of Lagos heat and traffic. It is the perfect stay for business as it leaves you fresh and ready to tackle a new day. Well done to the whole team.

Room Tip: if you want to sleep in take the rooms facing away from kings road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maarten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Abuja Capital Territory, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My experience hosting an informal meeting at Southern Sun Ikoyi was simply wonderful. There is much to recommend. The staff was really helpful and had a winning attitude. The food was excellent. The room was comfortable and none of my guests had anything thing to complain about.

Look forward to going back there in a few weeks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just to say, I loved this hotel, the service was excellent. From the concierge to the front desk, the restaurant staff and the floor guards. The food was marvellous too. I shall forever remember the wonderful individuals who ensured my stay at the hotel was memorable: Faith, Titi, Rose, Lawal and Mariam, always going the extra mile with a genuine and welcoming smile...

Thank you and God bless.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front elevation have a nicer view, and are more spacious..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boi2melow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed in the hotel from October 2012 till end of December 2012. Then I moved to my own apartment close by, so that I can still be able to visit Southern Sun without having to consider traffic jams.

Food was perfect, at least for westerners. Big variety of choice no matter if we are talking for breakfast or dinner. The price is rather high, though.

The service is fast and everyone is trying to make your stay pleasant. The General Manager of the hotel will always find the opportunity to talk to you and make sure that everything is OK. Let alone, sometimes to offer you a coffee or a bottle of wine.

The small gym is complete and the trainers always helpful and sociable.

I would definitely recommend the hotel for everyone visiting Lagos.

Tassos S.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.1 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 131 in Lagos
304 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 131 in Lagos
142 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#8 of 131 in Lagos
369 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Ikoyi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ikoyi

Property: Southern Sun Ikoyi
Address: 47 Alfred Rewane Road Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#4 Business Hotel in Lagos
#11 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ikoyi 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi LagosAddress 47 Alfred Rewane Road (Kingsway Road)Ikoyi – Lagos Nigeria.Location Southern Sun Ikoyi is strategically located in the GovernmentArea of the City. It offers the corporate business travelers an excellent accommodation and irresistible Services. The hotel is situated within a few kilometers from the Atlantic Ocean (popularly called Bar Beach), 5km from the City Centre and 30km from the International Airport.Accommodation Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi has a total of 195 rooms tastefully furnished with luxurious amenities and offers various segments of rooms to meet our clients’ needs. The Hotel rooms are categorized as follows: 86 Standard Rooms 75 Executive Rooms (One Double Bed) 22 Executive Rooms (Two Double Beds) 5 Junior Suites 4 Suites 2 Executive Suites 1 Paraplegic RoomAll the above mentioned rooms are non-smokingGuests Rooms All rooms are fitted with the followings: Air-conditioning Flat Screen 32” LCD TV DSTV and Local Channels Hitv Channels High Speed Complementary Internet Access WIFI internet connectivity IDD Telephone System in rooms Safe Deposit Boxes Electronic Door Lock Tea/Coffee Making facilities Fully Stock Mini Bar Hair Dryer Iron/Ironing Board (on request) Work Desk with LampExecutive Floors The Executive floors (8th & 9th) offer our esteemedguests exclusive services as follows: Executive Lounge Complimentary:o Continental/Buffet Breakfasto Fruit Basket on Arrivalo Bottle of Wineo Newspaperso Bathrobeso Slipperso Loffa Business & Secretarial Services Turndown ServiceFamily Children under 3 years and below stay and eat freeServices Our Hotel Services include: 24 hours effective and efficient security system 24 hours, 7 days a week room service Laundry and Dry Cleaning Services Secured Environment Free Parking Business Centre with state-of-the-art facilities Daily Secretarial Services Fitness Centre with modern equipment ATM Services on site WIFI internet connectivity throughout the Hotel High Speed Internet Access Outdoor Swimming PoolConference/MeetingOur professional Staff will assist our Corporate and Business Clients to plan their meetings/functions. Our meeting rooms are fully equipped with state-of-art-facilities.Restaurant/Bar Our Restaurants our open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner and offer elegant Nigerian and Continental dishes to the delight of all guests. Restaurant Capacityo Main Restaurant - 80 Seatso Mezzanine Lounge/Bar - 20 Seats Operation Hourso Breakfast - 6.30am – 10.00amo Lunch - 12.00pm – 3.00pmo Dinner - 6.00pm – 10.00pmSports/Recreation * Swimming Pool Fitness Centre Gym Sauna/Steam RoomUseful Information The Hotel does not operate Airport Shuttle, but could assist our guests to make arrangement with a reliable Car Rentals on request. Rates are inclusive of Full Continental/Buffet Breakfast 5% VAT and 10% Service Charge.Interested Placesin Lagos Ikoyi Club – Established 1938 is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel and it offers various sporting facilities. It has about 15,000 members of high profile people in Nigeria. Muson Centre – meaning Musical Society of Nigeria. Is 10 minutes drive from the hotel and most musical concert are staged at the Centre. Bar Beach – is located 5km drive from the Hotel. This is the main beach on Victoria Island, Lagos. The Bar Beach is named historically after the sand bars on long the Lagos Coastline. Silverbird Calleria – Is situated on Victoria Island, a 10 minutes drive from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Shoprite – Is located along Lekki Expressway, is 20 minutes from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Eleko Beach – Is about 45minutes drive along the Lekki-Epe Expressway. It is one the most popular among the beaches in Lagos. It is very busy during festive and public holidays.Language *English and three (3) other major Nigerian Languages –Yoruba, Igbo and HausaCurrency Naira(Local)Credit Card Visa and Master CardsElectricity 220vTime Zone GMT-1Climate Tropical Climate all year round with temperature of 25c and 40c.Major Airlines South African Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Lufthansa, British Airways, KLM, Egypt Air, Kenya Airways, Delta Airlines, Arik Air, Turkish AirRates are Inclusive of:  Full Buffet Breakfast 10% Service charge Other Added Values are:  Wifi/Internet Service Two bottled water in Room Daily Gym, Sauna and Steam Swimming Pool Free Car Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Ikoyi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing