We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Southern Sun Ikoyi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Ranked #2 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
midle east
1 review
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Absolute warmth and professionalism every time i visit the hotel. Impeccable service all through the hotel.
However,i have always experienced a smell of dumpness everytime i opened the room upon check in. The rest of my experiences in the hotel have just been Great!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirugi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Kirugi

Thank you for choosing Southern Sun Ikoyi as your prefered destination hotel. We appreciate your comments and are please that we are able to make Southern Sun Ikoyi a home away from home for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

We wish you success in all your endeavours.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    266
    72
    18
    13
See reviews for
34
42
52
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I work as a cabin crew and almost every night I stay in different hotel, in different country. I can say Southern Sun Ikoyi hotel is one of my favorite! Is one of the places where I feel myself home :) Comfortable rooms, delicious food and what is the most important very very nice staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadet_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Bernadet

Thank you for choosing Southern Sun Ikoyi as your prefered destination hotel. We appreciate your comments and are please that we were able to meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and are committed to sustaining this stardard of service and quality.

We wish you success in all your endeavours.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

its a great experience with this hotel,its the best hotel n thecustomer oriented people workin with great skills of hospitality,./i would always keep comin to this hotel n recomend all my friends to visitn try the hospitality n service which is just amazing,./

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuvkaran d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for making out time to comment on your last stay with us. It's our pleasure and delight that we were able to make your stay a pleasant one.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back as we commit ourselves to render quality service continously.

We wish you well.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Exellent hospitality and great service. The staff are wonderfull especially Mr Lawal the assistant F&B manager. Recommend to everyone who are visiting Lagos to used the hotel.
Clean and comfortable room too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissamokhtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Melissamokhtar,

Thank you for choosing Southern Sun Ikoyi as your prefered destination hotel. We appreciate your comments and are please that we were able to meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and are committed to sustaining this stardard of service and quality.

We wish you success in all your endeavours.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Excellent hotel, nice rooms, great staff especially Mr Lawal, and lovely food.. As a flight attendant my company uses SS hotel and I love the hotel cos its close to home and after a hectic flight it takes me 5-10mins to get home to my family.. I would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting lagos..Keep up the great work....... Uvie

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissUvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Uvie,

Thank you so much for your comment and we are glad you were touched by the hospitality of one of our many managers. It was a great pleasure and previledge to have you around.

We are commited to sustaining this standard we have shown you and are looking forward to welcoming you back.

We wish you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Hello everyone..my name is jaydeep and i am a frequent customer staying in sourthern sun hotel..
And with my experience i would highly recommend people travelling to lagos for business or leisure to hire this hotel for the stay..as this hitel is excellent in there service , right from the begining of entring into the hotel from bell desk to having food in there restraunt..
Would highly appreciate the service,true gesture,hospitality and approach of Mr. Lawal Agugi and his team for making my stay more comfortable with reference to food as i am a strict vegetarian and he really helped me a lot in that..
Thank u very much lawal, his team front office staff and complete sourthern sun hotel for making my stay worth and offering genuine hospitality and service
Cheers guys cu soon....

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsingh2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your comment and for choosing to stay at our hotel. We are glad we were able to give you and your crew members a pleasant stay.

We are commited to sustaining this standard we have shown you and are looking forward to welcoming you back.

We wish you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doha
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Awesome! is how I can describe this hotel. From the moment you walk into the lobby to the time you check out, you sense the warmth in the hotel's staff. They all seem eager to know how your stay at the hotel was... which really makes you feel cared for. Housekeeping, room service and any requests made is handled with exceptional speed... someone knocks on your door the moment you put the hotel's phone receiver down... talk of efficiency!!! Special mention, Mr. Lawal, who ensures your stay there is as comfortable as possible. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lagos.
5 star cabin crew.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaka w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Kaka,

Thank you so much for your comment and for choosing to stay at our hotel. It was a great pleasure and previledge to have you around.

We are commited to sustaining this standard we have shown you and are looking forward to welcoming you back.

We wish you well.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.1 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 130 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#9 of 130 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 130 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Ikoyi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ikoyi

Property: Southern Sun Ikoyi
Address: 47 Alfred Rewane Road Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#4 Business Hotel in Lagos
#13 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ikoyi 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi LagosAddress 47 Alfred Rewane Road (Kingsway Road)Ikoyi – Lagos Nigeria.Location Southern Sun Ikoyi is strategically located in the GovernmentArea of the City. It offers the corporate business travelers an excellent accommodation and irresistible Services. The hotel is situated within a few kilometers from the Atlantic Ocean (popularly called Bar Beach), 5km from the City Centre and 30km from the International Airport.Accommodation Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi has a total of 195 rooms tastefully furnished with luxurious amenities and offers various segments of rooms to meet our clients’ needs. The Hotel rooms are categorized as follows: 86 Standard Rooms 75 Executive Rooms (One Double Bed) 22 Executive Rooms (Two Double Beds) 5 Junior Suites 4 Suites 2 Executive Suites 1 Paraplegic RoomAll the above mentioned rooms are non-smokingGuests Rooms All rooms are fitted with the followings: Air-conditioning Flat Screen 32” LCD TV DSTV and Local Channels Hitv Channels High Speed Complementary Internet Access WIFI internet connectivity IDD Telephone System in rooms Safe Deposit Boxes Electronic Door Lock Tea/Coffee Making facilities Fully Stock Mini Bar Hair Dryer Iron/Ironing Board (on request) Work Desk with LampExecutive Floors The Executive floors (8th & 9th) offer our esteemedguests exclusive services as follows: Executive Lounge Complimentary:o Continental/Buffet Breakfasto Fruit Basket on Arrivalo Bottle of Wineo Newspaperso Bathrobeso Slipperso Loffa Business & Secretarial Services Turndown ServiceFamily Children under 3 years and below stay and eat freeServices Our Hotel Services include: 24 hours effective and efficient security system 24 hours, 7 days a week room service Laundry and Dry Cleaning Services Secured Environment Free Parking Business Centre with state-of-the-art facilities Daily Secretarial Services Fitness Centre with modern equipment ATM Services on site WIFI internet connectivity throughout the Hotel High Speed Internet Access Outdoor Swimming PoolConference/MeetingOur professional Staff will assist our Corporate and Business Clients to plan their meetings/functions. Our meeting rooms are fully equipped with state-of-art-facilities.Restaurant/Bar Our Restaurants our open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner and offer elegant Nigerian and Continental dishes to the delight of all guests. Restaurant Capacityo Main Restaurant - 80 Seatso Mezzanine Lounge/Bar - 20 Seats Operation Hourso Breakfast - 6.30am – 10.00amo Lunch - 12.00pm – 3.00pmo Dinner - 6.00pm – 10.00pmSports/Recreation * Swimming Pool Fitness Centre Gym Sauna/Steam RoomUseful Information The Hotel does not operate Airport Shuttle, but could assist our guests to make arrangement with a reliable Car Rentals on request. Rates are inclusive of Full Continental/Buffet Breakfast 5% VAT and 10% Service Charge.Interested Placesin Lagos Ikoyi Club – Established 1938 is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel and it offers various sporting facilities. It has about 15,000 members of high profile people in Nigeria. Muson Centre – meaning Musical Society of Nigeria. Is 10 minutes drive from the hotel and most musical concert are staged at the Centre. Bar Beach – is located 5km drive from the Hotel. This is the main beach on Victoria Island, Lagos. The Bar Beach is named historically after the sand bars on long the Lagos Coastline. Silverbird Calleria – Is situated on Victoria Island, a 10 minutes drive from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Shoprite – Is located along Lekki Expressway, is 20 minutes from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Eleko Beach – Is about 45minutes drive along the Lekki-Epe Expressway. It is one the most popular among the beaches in Lagos. It is very busy during festive and public holidays.Language *English and three (3) other major Nigerian Languages –Yoruba, Igbo and HausaCurrency Naira(Local)Credit Card Visa and Master CardsElectricity 220vTime Zone GMT-1Climate Tropical Climate all year round with temperature of 25c and 40c.Major Airlines South African Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Lufthansa, British Airways, KLM, Egypt Air, Kenya Airways, Delta Airlines, Arik Air, Turkish AirRates are Inclusive of:  Full Buffet Breakfast 10% Service charge Other Added Values are:  Wifi/Internet Service Two bottled water in Room Daily Gym, Sauna and Steam Swimming Pool Free Car Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Ikoyi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing