We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Southern Sun Ikoyi”
Review of Southern Sun Ikoyi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Ranked #2 of 135 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have recently completed my 5th stay at the Southern Sun Ikoyi and can really recommend it for fellow business travellers. The service is excellent and the staff are very friendly and helpful! I really enjoy staying there! My most recent trip was for 3 weeks and I was very well looked after!

Thank you!!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are generally quieter, but the rooms in the front have a prettier view. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SA_girl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 716 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2011

It was a one night stay and having stayed in sheraton earlier i would have assumed that all hotels in Lagos will be the same.
I found Southern Sun to have the following thing better than sheraton:
Better and cleaner rooms
New property
Less noise
Sheraton still has more space with out door gym, tennis court and jogging track.
The food and beverage option is comparable and both offers similar choice.
I would still recommend Southern Sun to Sheraton.

Room Tip: one in the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed at the Southern Sun Ikoyi for 4 nights recently ,usually I would not think anymore of it.However being a first timer to Lagos I was particularly impressed by the qualty of the service ,cleanliness of the hotel and the professional friendliness of the staff.I had heard many things about standards of accomodation.Location on a main road is a bit noisy, but so too is Lagos in general.
I could not fault the place.Well done all.I will be back.
Peter , Ireland Oct 2011

Room Tip: Look to say nearer the back of the hotel away from main road if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

As being from the hospitality industry myself, my job takes me around the World where i get to stay in best of the hotels and experience real hospitality frm various backgrounds,i used to believe tht Asian hospitality was top rated, but this ws only until i visited Souther Sun Lagos,the staff i welcoming, generous and ever smiling..the food has an excellent mix of western,asian and authentic nigerain delicacies..rooms are extremely comfortable & keep u at ease..Its more like home away frm home everytime i visit Lagos..Souther Sun is higly recommended if u hv a chance to visit Nigeria..and these guys are doing a commendable job..Cheers...keep it up..

Room Tip: Rooms are very peaceful..you are assured of a very sound sleep..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank affy619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

My third stay here and once again an excellent stay!

Management give it that personal touch and take guest seriously by going out their way to make you feel at home. Feedback is always well received and staff helpful and friendly.

Hotel is modern and clean with typical African hospitality. Food is always good and a variety is offered as all Southern Sun hotels. The bar is always buzzing in the evening and the free snacks always welcome.

Some of the rooms are a little dark and dreary so recommend a higher room but have not yet succeeded in getting one of the recommended room numbers!

The area around the hotel is good for walks but no found no close by shops (or a shop in the hotel). MTN is down the road so handy for prepaid sim cards or airtime. Ikoyi club is also down the road. As always be street smart out there but had no security concerns.

I will be back and can recommend this hotel with no reservations. Special thanks to Mark, Cliff, and all staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whctree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

It was a pleasant stay in Southern Sun Ikoyi hotel,i was delighted by a warm welcome from hotel staff,check in was so easy and quick,all the facilities of the hotel was explained,room is luxrious and very comfortable as well as hygiene and all the hotel staff are so friendly and helpful. I enjoyed staying in this hotel.'Genuine Hospitality'

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reshma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

been here couple of times,warm welcome,smiling staff(Lawal)F&b mngr make sure everything is taken care in restaurant & bar-gud food,

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cukoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
1.1 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 135 in Lagos
314 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 135 in Lagos
155 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#9 of 135 in Lagos
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Ikoyi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ikoyi

Address: 47 Alfred Rewane Road Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#4 Business Hotel in Lagos
#9 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $191 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ikoyi 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi LagosAddress 47 Alfred Rewane Road (Kingsway Road)Ikoyi – Lagos Nigeria.Location Southern Sun Ikoyi is strategically located in the GovernmentArea of the City. It offers the corporate business travelers an excellent accommodation and irresistible Services. The hotel is situated within a few kilometers from the Atlantic Ocean (popularly called Bar Beach), 5km from the City Centre and 30km from the International Airport.Accommodation Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi has a total of 195 rooms tastefully furnished with luxurious amenities and offers various segments of rooms to meet our clients’ needs. The Hotel rooms are categorized as follows: 86 Standard Rooms 75 Executive Rooms (One Double Bed) 22 Executive Rooms (Two Double Beds) 5 Junior Suites 4 Suites 2 Executive Suites 1 Paraplegic RoomAll the above mentioned rooms are non-smokingGuests Rooms All rooms are fitted with the followings: Air-conditioning Flat Screen 32” LCD TV DSTV and Local Channels Hitv Channels High Speed Complementary Internet Access WIFI internet connectivity IDD Telephone System in rooms Safe Deposit Boxes Electronic Door Lock Tea/Coffee Making facilities Fully Stock Mini Bar Hair Dryer Iron/Ironing Board (on request) Work Desk with LampExecutive Floors The Executive floors (8th & 9th) offer our esteemedguests exclusive services as follows: Executive Lounge Complimentary:o Continental/Buffet Breakfasto Fruit Basket on Arrivalo Bottle of Wineo Newspaperso Bathrobeso Slipperso Loffa Business & Secretarial Services Turndown ServiceFamily Children under 3 years and below stay and eat freeServices Our Hotel Services include: 24 hours effective and efficient security system 24 hours, 7 days a week room service Laundry and Dry Cleaning Services Secured Environment Free Parking Business Centre with state-of-the-art facilities Daily Secretarial Services Fitness Centre with modern equipment ATM Services on site WIFI internet connectivity throughout the Hotel High Speed Internet Access Outdoor Swimming PoolConference/MeetingOur professional Staff will assist our Corporate and Business Clients to plan their meetings/functions. Our meeting rooms are fully equipped with state-of-art-facilities.Restaurant/Bar Our Restaurants our open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner and offer elegant Nigerian and Continental dishes to the delight of all guests. Restaurant Capacityo Main Restaurant - 80 Seatso Mezzanine Lounge/Bar - 20 Seats Operation Hourso Breakfast - 6.30am – 10.00amo Lunch - 12.00pm – 3.00pmo Dinner - 6.00pm – 10.00pmSports/Recreation * Swimming Pool Fitness Centre Gym Sauna/Steam RoomUseful Information The Hotel does not operate Airport Shuttle, but could assist our guests to make arrangement with a reliable Car Rentals on request. Rates are inclusive of Full Continental/Buffet Breakfast 5% VAT and 10% Service Charge.Interested Placesin Lagos Ikoyi Club – Established 1938 is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel and it offers various sporting facilities. It has about 15,000 members of high profile people in Nigeria. Muson Centre – meaning Musical Society of Nigeria. Is 10 minutes drive from the hotel and most musical concert are staged at the Centre. Bar Beach – is located 5km drive from the Hotel. This is the main beach on Victoria Island, Lagos. The Bar Beach is named historically after the sand bars on long the Lagos Coastline. Silverbird Calleria – Is situated on Victoria Island, a 10 minutes drive from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Shoprite – Is located along Lekki Expressway, is 20 minutes from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Eleko Beach – Is about 45minutes drive along the Lekki-Epe Expressway. It is one the most popular among the beaches in Lagos. It is very busy during festive and public holidays.Language *English and three (3) other major Nigerian Languages –Yoruba, Igbo and HausaCurrency Naira(Local)Credit Card Visa and Master CardsElectricity 220vTime Zone GMT-1Climate Tropical Climate all year round with temperature of 25c and 40c.Major Airlines South African Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Lufthansa, British Airways, KLM, Egypt Air, Kenya Airways, Delta Airlines, Arik Air, Turkish AirRates are Inclusive of:  Full Buffet Breakfast 10% Service charge Other Added Values are:  Wifi/Internet Service Two bottled water in Room Daily Gym, Sauna and Steam Swimming Pool Free Car Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Ikoyi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing