We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel : Professional and Courteous Staff”
Review of Southern Sun Ikoyi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Ranked #2 of 135 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I'd been to lagos few times and have always stayed in this hotel....the best thing about the hotel is the humble and courteous staff.Hotel is situated in a nice are.The food served in the restaurant is great.They have a different theme for Dinner every night.Mr.Lawal(F & B Manager) will make sure that guest are treated with excellence.
Do not stay anywhere else other than this hotel...It is value for money

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 716 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

I stayed here for 6 days in March on a business trip. It is a complete rip off at usd300 per night. The rooms are very poorly decorated with Premier Inn UK Stansted Airport appearance furniture. This is a 2 star hotel. As I have now discovered you can do a great deal better elsewhere Protea, or Park Inn for example which is now open and just up the road.
The best thing was getting out of this dump. As more and more hotels are now opening in Lagos the rip off rates will be numbered here and punters will go elsewhere. Seriously terrible.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel and bring your mortgage advisor if you have to stay in this godforsaken dump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank minceonmonday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I couldn't help but notice the minor things as staff telephone courtesy. So fantastic. They are all trained to be niece on phone. The warm manner each desk handles my needs. I took pains to reappraise this the next day from the gate house to my room and i was convience, the staff here have been trained to take the hospitality business to the next level.
Two days latter, my family returned from vacation to join me back to our home in Port-Harcourt. A staff who attended to my children at the pool side, got their data and a hand delivered "back to school" gift items was sent to them. I was most pleased.
This for me, is hospitality at it's best.
Southern Sun, for me, is a place to be.

Room Tip: The best room for me, are those facing the Alfred Rwane rooad. It also over looks the swiming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TONYE2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

As an airline crew member, I spend more time in hotels than at home. This hotel is absolutely fantastic. Nothing is too much to ask from the staff. They are helpful and very friendly. I have stayed here on various occasions and always good!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elsabe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I stayed at the Southern Sun Ikoyi with a colleague on business for a few days this past July, and we truly had a great experience - far better than other hotels where we stayed in Nigeria. The rooms & bathrooms were comfortable, but it was the staff and the food that were really exceptional. Everyone was friendly and remembered my name and preferences at the bar/restaurant. The a la carte menu in the terrace and the main restaurant are good with a standard mix of "continental" and local food, but the buffets were even better (sunday lunch= wowza). The only thing I would change is that accomodation should be made for guests who want to order a la carte in the main dining room during the sunday lunch buffet - if you are staying in the hotel for a few days with little possibility to eat elsewhere (because of your schedule), it would be great to be able to just have a snack or salad and not go "whole hog" with the buffet, as it were. That said, the restaurant manager went out of his way to accomodate our special request to eat from the menu rather than the buffet, which was great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaomiH473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I recommande this hotel in Lagos, the team is verry friendly and professional
the bar is nice for lunch and diner
just a problem with payment with an american express card

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier007_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This hotel is at the appropriate level for business travel.
One negative comment hoever : do not try to get food à la carte. You'll wait for a long time and what you get disappoints. Stay with the buffet.

Room Tip: the room was excellent. However an effort should be made to have air conditioning device less noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
1.1 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 135 in Lagos
314 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 135 in Lagos
156 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#9 of 135 in Lagos
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Ikoyi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ikoyi

Address: 47 Alfred Rewane Road Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#4 Business Hotel in Lagos
#9 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $191 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ikoyi 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi LagosAddress 47 Alfred Rewane Road (Kingsway Road)Ikoyi – Lagos Nigeria.Location Southern Sun Ikoyi is strategically located in the GovernmentArea of the City. It offers the corporate business travelers an excellent accommodation and irresistible Services. The hotel is situated within a few kilometers from the Atlantic Ocean (popularly called Bar Beach), 5km from the City Centre and 30km from the International Airport.Accommodation Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi has a total of 195 rooms tastefully furnished with luxurious amenities and offers various segments of rooms to meet our clients’ needs. The Hotel rooms are categorized as follows: 86 Standard Rooms 75 Executive Rooms (One Double Bed) 22 Executive Rooms (Two Double Beds) 5 Junior Suites 4 Suites 2 Executive Suites 1 Paraplegic RoomAll the above mentioned rooms are non-smokingGuests Rooms All rooms are fitted with the followings: Air-conditioning Flat Screen 32” LCD TV DSTV and Local Channels Hitv Channels High Speed Complementary Internet Access WIFI internet connectivity IDD Telephone System in rooms Safe Deposit Boxes Electronic Door Lock Tea/Coffee Making facilities Fully Stock Mini Bar Hair Dryer Iron/Ironing Board (on request) Work Desk with LampExecutive Floors The Executive floors (8th & 9th) offer our esteemedguests exclusive services as follows: Executive Lounge Complimentary:o Continental/Buffet Breakfasto Fruit Basket on Arrivalo Bottle of Wineo Newspaperso Bathrobeso Slipperso Loffa Business & Secretarial Services Turndown ServiceFamily Children under 3 years and below stay and eat freeServices Our Hotel Services include: 24 hours effective and efficient security system 24 hours, 7 days a week room service Laundry and Dry Cleaning Services Secured Environment Free Parking Business Centre with state-of-the-art facilities Daily Secretarial Services Fitness Centre with modern equipment ATM Services on site WIFI internet connectivity throughout the Hotel High Speed Internet Access Outdoor Swimming PoolConference/MeetingOur professional Staff will assist our Corporate and Business Clients to plan their meetings/functions. Our meeting rooms are fully equipped with state-of-art-facilities.Restaurant/Bar Our Restaurants our open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner and offer elegant Nigerian and Continental dishes to the delight of all guests. Restaurant Capacityo Main Restaurant - 80 Seatso Mezzanine Lounge/Bar - 20 Seats Operation Hourso Breakfast - 6.30am – 10.00amo Lunch - 12.00pm – 3.00pmo Dinner - 6.00pm – 10.00pmSports/Recreation * Swimming Pool Fitness Centre Gym Sauna/Steam RoomUseful Information The Hotel does not operate Airport Shuttle, but could assist our guests to make arrangement with a reliable Car Rentals on request. Rates are inclusive of Full Continental/Buffet Breakfast 5% VAT and 10% Service Charge.Interested Placesin Lagos Ikoyi Club – Established 1938 is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel and it offers various sporting facilities. It has about 15,000 members of high profile people in Nigeria. Muson Centre – meaning Musical Society of Nigeria. Is 10 minutes drive from the hotel and most musical concert are staged at the Centre. Bar Beach – is located 5km drive from the Hotel. This is the main beach on Victoria Island, Lagos. The Bar Beach is named historically after the sand bars on long the Lagos Coastline. Silverbird Calleria – Is situated on Victoria Island, a 10 minutes drive from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Shoprite – Is located along Lekki Expressway, is 20 minutes from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Eleko Beach – Is about 45minutes drive along the Lekki-Epe Expressway. It is one the most popular among the beaches in Lagos. It is very busy during festive and public holidays.Language *English and three (3) other major Nigerian Languages –Yoruba, Igbo and HausaCurrency Naira(Local)Credit Card Visa and Master CardsElectricity 220vTime Zone GMT-1Climate Tropical Climate all year round with temperature of 25c and 40c.Major Airlines South African Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Lufthansa, British Airways, KLM, Egypt Air, Kenya Airways, Delta Airlines, Arik Air, Turkish AirRates are Inclusive of:  Full Buffet Breakfast 10% Service charge Other Added Values are:  Wifi/Internet Service Two bottled water in Room Daily Gym, Sauna and Steam Swimming Pool Free Car Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Ikoyi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing