We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Federal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
BWC Hotel(Lagos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveler rating
104
121
48
4
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
121
48
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge groundssea facing roomvictoria islandolympic size swimming poolwould highly recommend this hotelbusiness lunchbreakfast buffetfood and beverage managerroom servicebusiness triptennis courtsup to datehotel guestsvisiting lagosother hotelsrooms are comfortablef b
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 286 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2010

My stay in this hotel was terrible. Apart from the yellow hard water in the bathtubs, they actually served me rotten fish. When i complained, they said i had eaten part of the fish and therefore i had no grounds to complain. How would i know it was bad if i never tasted it? Even the waiter who took away the plate tasted it and said it was bad, but the cook i spoke to said it was flavouring. I wonder what kind of flavour would produce a rotten taste in fish? They could not even apologize.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary99415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

I have been travelling to Lagos on business for the last 15 years, staying in a wide range of over-priced and sub-standard accommodation. Without a doubt the Federal Palace, since its refurbishment and the assumption of operational control by South African management, is the best hotel I have stayed in in Lagos. The foyer is large and suitable for informal meetings. The rooms are on the small side, but well furnished and very clean. The beds are supremely comfortable and the bed linen is of high quality. Breakfast is extremely good, with a wide variety of food on offer. Meals during the rest of the day are less impressive (the menu is fairly limited, although the quality is fine) and service quality is variable (if you are sitting on the verandah at the rear of the hotel you sometimes have to go to the bar to call for service). At the time of my stay a new gym was being opened. There is a large casino in the hotel, but no swimming pool. The business centre is adequate and there is cable internet in the rooms and a wireless service in public areas. The only real downside is the price, which at $400+ is very high by international standards, although on a par with the other top end hotels in this expensive city.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

This is the new wing of the hotel which is managed by the South African hotel operation, Sun. Physically, this wing of the hotel is new and in good condition. The service is ok (good by Nigerian standards). The rooms are fine albeit a little small for the price. Food etc. is ok. The manager at reception, a chap named Mohamed, is a super chap, tries his best, and goes over and above the call of duty. BUT THERE IS ONE BIG PROBLEM. THE WATER FROM THE TAPS IN THE HOTEL IS YELLOW - see photograph. Worse still, the South African management is in denial and took offence when I pointed out that the water is yellow and unfit for use. Against all the evidence he insisted that the water was clear and clean. My advice is only stay in this hotel if you do not mind washing in yellow water (or if you do not need to wash). I declined to wash in the water and left first thing.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wonji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Best view in Lagos, but unfortunately, a prime example of the shambles Nigeria is in – priced jewels owned by powerful families or individuals who aren’t very good managers and run their assets down. There are two FP’s – one on the left, the new and shorter wing, is now run by Sun International and costs more than twice that of the old wing (where I stayed). However, in my opinion the cost difference isn’t justified as the older one has larger rooms (though much shabbier) and better views as the building is taller. At the prices hotels in Lagos command, I found this to be a fairly good value at 31000 Naira.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
Thank euricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews