We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Surprised! Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Federal Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Federal Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 127 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Surprised! Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I was a bit worried when I was told that I will be staying in this hotel. This was because I usually see the tall run down building from the outside. But I was suprised to see a new hotel building within the compound when I arrived. I spent 5 days in the Hotel during an exhibition within the hotel and I must say it is definately one of the top 5 hotels in Lagos. The room was clean, well decorated and spacious. The Pool and garden area is awesome and can get quite busy in the weekend as it's a popular attaction for children. The negative things about the hotel is that it only has one restaurant which I think is inadequate for such a big hotel, also the one or two 'lady friends' who came be found hanging out in thee bar on weekday nights and the lack of power sockets next to the bed(All the sockets in my room were around the Tv and and working table). There are also a variety of shops and restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.

I will highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Victoria Island.

Room Tip: All rooms are non smoking, ask for a room close to the elevator if you need to smoke as there is a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrWorldtravellerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Mr WorldtravellerJ

Thank you for posting a review of the Federal Palace Hotel & Casino following your recent stay.

We were delighted to read that found the hotel and the facilities on offer to your liking. There are power points located next to the bed which power the bedside table lamps. We would be happy to provide adaptor plugs should you require power for additional devices.

Your comment regarding the “lady friends” is noted. I would like to assure you that we have an excellent surveillance departments and that the “friends” are closely monitored as any solicitation is totally unacceptable to us.

Thank you for your recommendation, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel & Casino when next you are visiting Lagos.

Kind regards

David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    91
    36
    4
    8
See reviews for
12
15
10
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Our daughter's wedding reception was held in the marquee because she wanted the backdrop of the hotel grounds in the wedding pictures. It helped of course that the recently renovated hotel has had the gardens beautifully landscaped into an ethereal experience with the Lagos Port and lagoon providing an unforgettable vision of nature. Add to this the fantastic service we got in the planning of the event.... Special discounts on the 'dodo' the bride wanted, hot TASTY meals (and I emphasise that because absolutely everybody commented on how exceptionally tasty the food was!!!) The ambience, the decor, the service was beyond excellent. A Huge thank you to all the brilliant people who made it so unbelievably fantastic.

Room Tip: I will let the honeymooning couple comment on the room quality.... When they emerge ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alero R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Alero R

Congratulations on your daughter’s wedding and thank you for your review of our banqueting services following your daughter’s recent wedding reception at the Federal Palace Hotel.

We were delighted that you, and your guests, enjoyed the wedding reception.

Kind regards

David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I would like to stay that my stay was above expectations!
Very nice welcome at check in by Michael who got me a nice room with a view when i told him , it was my very 1st stay!
Breakfast is varied and tasteful!
Staff is committed and eager to help ! It was a very nice stay in busy Lagos

Room Tip: Room 526 is quiet and has a very nice view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CFF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear CFF13

Thank you for posting a review of the Federal palace Hotel on Tripadvisor following your recent stay. We are glad that you have enjoyed your first stay and the splendid view over the water.
We do hope that you will enjoy many more stays with us in the future.

Yours sincerely
David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Lovely, relaxing hotel in a city which is challenging. Reception staff helpful, room large and clean. Pool lovely and refreshing.

That said, the food and drink were alarmingly expensive. Very good breakfast

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fabphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Fabphil

Thank you for recently posting a review of the Federal Palace Hotel following your stay with us.

We are pleased that you found the hotel clean and that you enjoyed the facilities on offer, particularly the swimming pool and the breakfast. The pool and the tennis courts certainly provide relief from the hustle and bustle of Lagos.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel when next you are visiting Lagos.

Yours sincerely
David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Gorgeous Hotel. Resort Style. Loved the olympic size pool Perfect water day and night. Cool water slides. Mini golf. Great sea view . Tennis courts. Gym is small but has everything you need. Food on expensive side. Room service pricier than eating in restaurant.
$U.S.15 for a small cocktail! wow. Wasn't expecting it to be expensive in Nigeria. . Gorgeous green gardens with peacocks milling about. Breakfast buffet is worth getting up for. Never got sick once here. Had to stay here for many days on a business trip. Staff is very accommodating and friendly. Area outside hotel is not much to see. Very busy crowded and dirty. There is a mall with cinema walking distance from hotel. Went to a Chinese restaurant 5 mins from the hotel - excellent food. Free fast wifi mostly everywhere. Would def recommend this hotel. Nice comfy bed! Electricity shuts off now and then but nothing major. Sometimes the shower sprouts brown rusty water! No spa/salon in here.

Room Tip: Room with pool or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvares04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Calvares04
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review of the Federal Palace following your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed all the facilities on offer within the hotel and grounds, especially our peacocks. As a business hotel, we understand the importance of fast reliable internet and a quality night’s sleep in in a good bed.
Once you leave the hotel property, you are truly in the heart of Victoria Island and the hustle and bustle of a busy city.
Yours sincerely
David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel is clean, the service is good, dining facilities are more than adequate and it's good for both business travellers as well as those on holiday. You tend to get quite a few cabin crew using this hotel as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spanner75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Spanner75

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review of the Federal Palace Hotel following your recent stay. We are pleased that you had a memorable experience and we look forward to welcoming you back when next you are in Lagos.

Yours sincerely
David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I had a really nice stay at the Federal Palace. Was in Lagos for work and spent a few days here. The staff were extremely courteous, friendly and were very helpful. The grounds are nice to take a (short) stroll, with some lovely views over towards Lagos Island. Breakfast was great, with a nice range of choices , and the room was ideal - a really comfy bed! It is expensive, but then everything seems to be expensive here. Internet was fast and reliable too.

I could have happily stayed here longer and will definitely be staying here next time I come to Lagos.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psychic_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Psychic_Mike
T
hank you for your review of the Federal Palace Hotel following your recent visit.

Your statement “will be definitely staying here again next time I come to Lagos” is rich reward for us, thank you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel.

Yours sincerely
David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
2.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
2.1 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 127 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#8 of 127 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 127 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
2.5 mi away
The George
The George
#5 of 127 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Federal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Federal Palace Hotel

Property: The Federal Palace Hotel
Address: 6 - 8 Ahmadu Bello Way, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 127 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Federal Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the commercial hub of Lagos, Nigeria’s Federal Palace Hotel is tailored to international corporate standards. Conduct a boardroom meeting within the walls that witnessed the signing of Nigeria’s Independence Declaration or manage your daily business affairs in the convenience of one of the eight boardrooms. The Federal Palace Hotel caters for corporate travellers who value consistency in excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Federal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing