We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Lagos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Federal Palace Hotel
Ranked #4 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
276 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“One of the best in Lagos”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Although all the hotels in Lagos are expensive, the Federal Palace comes closest to giving you what you pay for. Easy check-in, good service, great breakfast. Rooms are nice too and it is very well situated.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-Africa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear T-Africa2000
Thank you for your review of the Federal Palace Hotel and Casino. We are pleased that you found the standard service and the facilities on offer to be good and also to be value for money, and are grateful for your rating as “one of the best”. Please enquire about our Best Available Rate (BAR) when next you make a booking.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel and Casino when next you visit Lagos.
Kind regards

David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    108
    41
    4
    9
See reviews for
25
17
13
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tema, Ghana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I loved my stay at Federal palace. The internet was fast, the atmosphere was very collegial, and the breakfast was amazing! Get to meet the food and beverage manager. Great guy! Oh and the Casino is a must indulge!! Overall great service. Highly recommend it to anyone visiting Victoria Island! It's a true gem!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Opoku_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Opohu_p

Thank you for your review of the Federal Palace Hotel and Casino. As a businessman’s hotel we understand the need for fast, stable internet connectivity and the importance of a good breakfast. We are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and the service. We are also very proud of our casino, having won the Travellers Award for the “Best Casino” in Nigeria in 2013. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel & Casino.

Kind regards

David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was my first stay in Nigeria and I was extremely pleased to have been staying at the Federal Palace. The staff was very friendly and the service was as good as any top hotel in the world! I was upgraded to a large room, which was a nice surprise after a long flight. The staff were attentive and could not do anymore to help.

The rooms were very nice, with full UK and US television. They have huge comfortable beds with very clean and up to date bathrooms. I hosted a business presentation at the hotel and everything went to plan.

The food was delicous as well! Well done!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Alexander B

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of the Federal Palace Hotel and your kind comments. We were glad to read that your first stay in Nigeria was a pleasant one, and that the Federal Palace Hotel was involved.
It is also important to us, that you are successful in your business endeavors while in Nigeria and I was pleased to hear that your business presentation hosted at the hotel went off as planned.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel on your next visit to Nigeria.

Kind regards
David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The best Hotel in Lagos, clean, calm and has a very friendly service.
WI-FI is quite reliable and I can do VoIP calls clearly.
Very close to major businesses in VI.
Nice Gardens and overlooking Lagos Lagoons.
Great Staff and management.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Assem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Assem K

Thank you for your review, especially your acclaim that the Federal Palace Hotel is “the best hotel in Lagos”.

As the hotel of choice for discerning businessmen, in addition to a good night’s rest we recognize the importance of good quality high speed internet services. We are pleased that you found our WiFi to be reliable with good bandwidth.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel on your next visit to Lagos.

Kind regards
David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

I always stay at this hotel when visiting Lagos, the hotel is in Victoria Island. The hotel is fairly new with all the normal room amenities, flat screen TV, AIRCON, Mini Bar, Free WiFi.
The hotel service is consistent, the breakfast caters for a variety of tastes and on par with most five star hotels. The gym is well equipped with Technogym equipment. There is a pool with slides for kids, outdoor obstacle course for fitness fanatics. Try the local restaurants for dinner because the buffet can get tedious after a few days and the menu doesn't change much, there is a la carte menu though if you don't feel like going out. Try Spice Route restaurant if you like Indian/Chinese cuisine, it's on Victoria Island not far from hotel. Hotel has taxis on standby, this can be charged to your room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the generators. Double check your invoice when checking out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lagos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Logos I

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review following your recent stay. We were particularly pleased to read that you are a regular Federal Palace guest and that you have found our service consistent.
I do agree with you, that as a frequent traveller one can suffer from “food fatigue” with hotel buffets. You may have noticed our new extension to the Ancestors Bar, which has a variety of food options and has become very popular as dining venue.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel when next you are visiting Lagos.

Kind regards
David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I arrived at the Hotel and was pleasantly surprised, lovely decor and a warm and inviting atmosphere. Staff were friendly and always at hand to help. Facilities were up to date and food served offered a variety of native and continental dishes. Surroundings were clean and modern, and rooms were to a high standard, bed and pillows were extremely soft and gave us a great nights sleep. I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples and families as there is so much to do and is easily accessible to other areas in Lagos. A great escape from the hustle and bustle not Lagos, as it is a quiet and safe resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbadero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear cbadero
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and your positive recommendation as the hotel to stay at when in Lagos.
The Federal Palace has a wonderful location with large gardens and beautiful swimming pools, which are loved and enjoyed by both the young and old. We were delighted to read that you found the staff friendly and attentive to your needs.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel for another “amazing short break”.
Kind regards
David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

After staying in some not-so-nice hotels in West Africa, the Federal Palace Hotel was a welcome break. My room was very comfortable and clean, and the bed was wonderful.

The gardens and facilities at this hotel are great - there is a decent gym, beautiful pools, mini golf, and more. There is also a walking path along with water, just be weary that the water is full of garbage...

Food at the hotel is great, especially the breakfast buffet. If you are ordering food a la carte, just be prepared to wait...a while. My a la carte orders typically took 45-60 minutes to be delivered to my table.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenAsh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear LaurenAsh1
Thank you for submitting your review of the Federal Palace Hotel& Casino following your recent stay.
We were most pleased that you found our rooms clean and confortable, and the bed wonderful. Please accept our apologies for the slower than normal delivery time of your meals.
We are most fortunate to have the mouth of the Atlantic Ocean as our front boundary, looking across to the Port of Lagos. It is unfortunate that the changing tides carry flotsam which pushes past our seawall on the way out.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel when next you visit Nigeria.
Kind regards
David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
2.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#8 of 130 in Lagos
362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 130 in Lagos
662 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 130 in Lagos
298 reviews
2.6 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 130 in Lagos
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Federal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Federal Palace Hotel

Property: The Federal Palace Hotel
Address: 6 - 8 Ahmadu Bello Way, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 130 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Federal Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the commercial hub of Lagos, Nigeria’s Federal Palace Hotel is tailored to international corporate standards. Conduct a boardroom meeting within the walls that witnessed the signing of Nigeria’s Independence Declaration or manage your daily business affairs in the convenience of one of the eight boardrooms. The Federal Palace Hotel caters for corporate travellers who value consistency in excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Federal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing