We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Federal Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Federal Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 131 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton Park, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights while in Lagos on business. The hotel is immaculate. Very clean and modern. The room was medium large with new bathroom and comfortable king bed. Only complaint was the difficulty finding outlets for my business electronics.

Large comfortable lobby that was great for business meetings. A/C was strong...almost too much for locals. The bar was spacious with a nice buffet for lunch. The breakfast buffet was among the best I've had at any hotel, but not cheap... $30.

The pool was exceptional by Western standards. Probably the nicest in Nigeria. The gym was tucked away under the lobby. Equipment was new but limited.

I've stayed at the Radisson Blu and Eko in Lagos. Federal Palace is by far the best of the three.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterKalish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    103
    40
    4
    8
See reviews for
22
16
11
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I enjoyed a recent weekend booked in at the Federal Palace. I found when staying at the Federal Place it is as if you are far away from the hectic city life you experience in Lagos . The picturesque gardens, lovely terrace and magnificant pool area and all this overlooking the Lagos Lagoon and Harbour. The service is good, the food is very good and the staff on the whole are service orientated and friendly. The rooms are well furnished with everything in working order and the beds are so comfortable. The heavy curtains in the room boded well for late morning sleep ins. The casino is a great place with very friendly and professional staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

My stay was ok. No complaints so far. Food was very very good actually. My only problem is the price. This is the most expensive hotel ive ever been too !! Price vs. Value is unacceptable to me. Why should I pay 400 usd per night. Any how I was informed that it is the best in nigeria. And the safest too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ehab_Ghoneimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

It was recommended as the best Hotel in Lagos for our meeting and stay. The only impressive thing was the view of the Sea. However even this is taken away by dark heavy curtains covering the windows in the lobby. The service received was terrible. The restaurant used for dinner should not bother offering anything al a Carte. The salad ordered did not contain the items stated on the actual menu and came without dressing. We waited for nearly an hour to be served.
The guest rooms smell damp as the AC is turned off completely when not occupied. The water in the wash hand basin, shower and bath is a muddy brown.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have stayed in this place quite a few times during numerous business trips to Lagos in the past three years. The hospitable staff, nicely decorated rooms,a wonderful terrace, picturesque garden overlooking the Lagos lagoon and the magnificent pool - these are all the elements of a quality hotel, which is quite hard to find in a place like Lagos. The rooms are quite spacious, and be sure to book one overlooking the garden and the waterfront - every now and then a grand ship would pass to and from the Lagos port, a scene, which proves to be quite spectacular for those who don't live on the seashores. For food lovers, breakfasts as well any other meal of the day are very thought-through, and, compared to other hotels in the city, offer food for every taste, ranging from traditional to vegetarian cuisine. The hotel is often the venue for local fashion and business events, so don't be surprised if you suddenly find yourself in the middle of some jazz fest, or a fashion show. The place caters for conferencing and weddings, and the staff would be very attentive to every detail until they make sure the customer is treated to his expectation. Perhaps, the exterior of the hotel as well as some rooms need a little refurbishment, but don't be put off by this, as here you will find a true home many kilometers away from yours.

Room Tip: Be sure to put a "don't disturb" sign on the door if you don't want to be waken up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agami_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The Federal Palace has always been my top choice of places to stay in Lagos due to great facilities especially gym and pool. However the hotel is in need of refurbishment and there are several maintenance issues - air cons leaking, broken bathroom fittings and pool was very green. I hope management gets on top of these issues soon.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It is an oasis of calm in the middle of a very busy, security conscious city. The hotel is set within a wonderful area where you feel totally safe and can enjoy the amazing facilities - the garden is on the water and has a gentle breeze and there is a large clean pool to swim in.

The rooms are comfortable and the beds are fantastic - The bathrooms are nothing to write home about and are spotlessly clean. Mine looked a little 'tired'. One of my things disappeared from the room which I found very surprising.
The bar is nice, the staff are friendly.

We organised an event there that went very well. Food is good.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the garden rather than the car park. Both are quiet but the view over the wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jomo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
2.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#10 of 131 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 131 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 131 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eko Hotels & Suites
Eko Hotels & Suites
#16 of 131 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Federal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Federal Palace Hotel

Property: The Federal Palace Hotel
Address: 6 - 8 Ahmadu Bello Way, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 131 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Federal Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the commercial hub of Lagos, Nigeria’s Federal Palace Hotel is tailored to international corporate standards. Conduct a boardroom meeting within the walls that witnessed the signing of Nigeria’s Independence Declaration or manage your daily business affairs in the convenience of one of the eight boardrooms. The Federal Palace Hotel caters for corporate travellers who value consistency in excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Federal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing