We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Federal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
BWC Hotel(Lagos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveler rating
104
121
48
4
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
121
48
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge groundssea facing roomvictoria islandolympic size swimming poolwould highly recommend this hotelbusiness lunchbreakfast buffetfood and beverage managerroom servicebusiness triptennis courtsup to datehotel guestsvisiting lagosother hotelsrooms are comfortablef b
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 286 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The best swimming pool . Great food. Excellent rooms . Very expensive but the best you can get. Would stay there more often but cost to much for me. Only stay as a treat before my daughter got married. But would stay every time out visiting if I could. Great place

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

located along sea so you can have nice view and also you can enjoy in the pool. breakfast is so nice.you have a lot of choice. however the most important item, room level is not enough compared with room tariff. we want hotel to spend more money to improve equipment of room,especially of toilet. when i press the button in my frist use, suddenly cover around the button came off from the wall so every time i have to press button very carefully...

Room Tip: room of sea view
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emakenshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

have stayed 3 nights at Hotel on a business trip..Its really seems to be best hotel in Lagos..nice location, attractive premises, decor & friendly staff. have booked hotel via Octopus.com with complementary Breakfast which cost me USD1356 for 3 nights..its really ridiculous....
The check in was fast but i is my advise to travelers who usually books hotels via travel sites to confirm your reservations from hotel on mail/phone before leaving your country..in my case octopus.com had not paid to hotel till my check in ,even had taken money via from credit card in its own A/c 10 days before but i managed to convince the manager about it.

The hotel is in heart of Victoria island & at very secured location. However it is far from airport(around 22 K.M) & taxi can cost you 5000 to 7000 naira to reach upto hotel. I found an India guest house owner(Gupta Ji) who use to offer their airport pick services @5000 Naira & its quite safe also.

About Hotel, its really a cool place to stay..nice surroundings..the upside rooms gives a beautiful views of lagoon & port area..room services are O.K, Air con was good, WIFI worked nicely..lobby is nice & ideal place to meet your clients, buffet breakfast is superb..lot of choices with combination of breads,hot dishes,rolls, fruits & dry fruits with juices & beverage.

I recommend this hotel but prices.!!!!........need to be think about...but again this is Lagos..

Room Tip: try to get rooms on 3rd & upper floor with lagoon side view...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SourabhGaggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I travelled to Lagos on business and stayed at the Federal Palace. Being from South Africa the Sun International brand is all to familiar.

I arrived late in the evening after a rather bumpy ride from the airport and it was great to arrive in a cool hotel. The reception staff were friendly and had no issues checking in.

The actual rooms when you think about how much you pay are average at best. I tried to grab some food and drink from the restaurant which left a lot to be desired - I could only eat the fries. The drinks are very expensive and the service exceptionally slow.

The breakfast is pretty good so I would give them a tick for that.

The overall hotel is quite quiet, not much of a vibe, which is fine if you are there for just business. If you need a bit of a vibe when taking clients out for a drink, would rather suggest the Radisson Blue for that sort of thing.

Overall, the hotel is ok, the staff friendly and it does serve it's purpose. The price however, is not jusitified in the least bit, although that is the Lagos story in general.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qiniso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Federal palace hotel has the feel of a large property but in reality isn't that large. A lot of detail is paid to security in terms of access from the main entrance, but is weaker after that compared to other African hotels I have stayed in. The large lobby houses a bar and plenty of areas to sit but other than that its limited. Rooms are a good size with a wooden floor and rugs and reasonably well furnished with a king Size bed that was very comfortable. Flat screen tv with a good range of English international channels. I had checked in late and therefore missed the restaurant so I took to room service which was was poor and took an hour to get the order delivered after follow up phone calls. When it finally arrived it was poor quality and only luke warm. The hotel only has one restaurant that supports breakfast, lunch and dinner. Can't speak for dinner but the other meals were poor and the service hopeless. Breakfast omelette was served like a dogs dinner, fried eggs were broken and white omelette with a bit of broken yellow yolk! Employ a chef! Fruit choices were awful and didn't look appetising and some looked canned fruit. As for dinner the room service menu had more choice. Speed is clearly not a feature, but then TIA! The continuous power outages were just an irritant and you are left in the dark in the restaurant. The first 12 hours had 6 outages that I was aware of and it would be a nightmare if it happened while taking a shower.

The hotel is totally overpriced and probably playing on the fact there isn't much decent competition in Lagos.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Hudson0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews