We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and facilities, service could be a bot better though.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Federal Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2012

stayed here for three nights while on business in Lagos, hotel was great and felt very international with great food and facilities (breakfast is best I've had in Nigeria) pool and casino both very good and rooms nice and comfy. Service needs a bit of work as staff are friendly but a little bit slow and not very attentive, i know this is Nigeria and i'm not expecting european standards but as an international hotel the staff need to buck there ideas up a bit. We had to go to the bar everytime we wanted to order food or drink and the food was very slow in coming out. Only other thing was the dry cleaning service wasnt very efficient of fast considering they were offering an 'Express' service. In general a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 280 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great food with excellent choice at breakfast. Rooms great and comfortable. People good service and willing to help.
Expensive but that's Lagos and any other big city for you. A good business hotel with lots of holiday facilities from pool to gym and more, though did not use these as I was on business.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank mwant999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I've been to Lagos several times on business. stayed at 3 different hotel, Federal palace is the best of them.
it's conveniently located in Victoria's island near most of the businesses, with a nice lobby, a good restaurant and a casino.
it's especially good as you can't go out that much in Lagos because of security issues

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidrusseleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed at the federal palace and was amazed by the pool side view and nice hospitality

Room Tip: Bed and breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I have been travelling to Nigeria on business for the past 5 years, and during this period I have had the opportunity to visit many different hotels and venues. Having "discovered' the Federal Palace some years back, I quickly realized that this was by far and away the best choice in Lagos.
The reasons to support this claim are evidenced by the way in which the management listen to guests concerns, and then actually act on them to improve the service. No lip service here! Once you have stayed more than once or twice, the staff will recognize you and welcome you back as if you were returning home! Most surprisingly perhaps is the fact that all staff actually take a genuine interest in your comfort and well being, and are quick in their efforts to ensure that you are looked after.
From a professional business perspective, the hotel also really scores; the internet connectivity is always working, the meeting rooms are great, and the business center can accommodate most requests. Customers enjoy the experience of meeting at the Hotel, as it is a really tranquil environment, well suited to holding individual meetings, or larger conferences. The team are really geared up for anything ranging from breakfast seminar sessions to full on conferences. All of the required supporting IT equipment is available to support such events.
If you have to stay over the weekend, the Federal Palace is also a great place to relax with one of the best pool settings available in Nigeria! The view from the pool area overlooking the harbor is spectacular, and the staff at the pool are great.
Overall the food is very good, and the themed evenings are a special treat, and very authentic. The meals served on the terrace, especially the prime steaks are excellent. The terrace is a great way to wind down after a long day in the legendary traffic on VI, and you will quickly forget the commotion as you overlook the harbor.
All in all, this is a fantastic place, made even more so by the consistent quality with which you are treated.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Loved the casino! Was a great time. Hotel is decent. Food was great. Pool was top notch. Try the traditional dishes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The ambiance and décor are next to none. The place is beautiful and most of the staff are very warm and friendly. However they need a little more training with how they treat their female guests. Not all are there at the invitation of a man. We also come for business and relaxation.
Then the color of the water in the bathroom is questionable. One will expect that a hotel of such standards should have a water treatment plant. Also those in charge of house keeping should be trained on proper etiquette. If the rule is to put face flannels in the bathroom, then do so without expecting to be tipped or threatened.

The only departments I can’t fault are: the restaurant (especially the staff). I enjoyed many meals and the staff had great bed-side manners. Their grilled fish with chili pepper was one of my favourites. It’s fresh and well done… yum. The second department is their security. I felt safe taking walks on their grounds. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and will keep coming back, but PLEASE TRAIN YOUR bellhops and housekeeping staff. All visitors should also visit the casino, it is a lot of fun (if you don’t smoke and cant be around people who smoke, then this is not for you).

Room Tip: As for rooms at the back, they have a beautiful view, however don't be statled by the horns from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChivonneLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary P, Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Federal Palace. Your positive comments are welcome. At the Federal Palace we endeavour and constantly strive to keep to our guests expectations, , and as our guest it is appreciated that you have brought these concerns to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
2.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
3.1 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 138 in Lagos
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The George
The George
#3 of 138 in Lagos
160 reviews
2.3 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 138 in Lagos
728 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lagos Continental Hotel
Lagos Continental Hotel
#10 of 138 in Lagos
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Federal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Federal Palace Hotel

Address: 6 - 8 Ahmadu Bello Way, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range: $162 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Federal Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the commercial hub of Lagos, Nigeria’s Federal Palace Hotel is tailored to international corporate standards. Conduct a boardroom meeting within the walls that witnessed the signing of Nigeria’s Independence Declaration or manage your daily business affairs in the convenience of one of the eight boardrooms. The Federal Palace Hotel caters for corporate travellers who value consistency in excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Federal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing