We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Art Centre Hotel Authentic But Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bogobiri House Lagos
Ranked #11 of 134 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Hotels in Lagos are tricky. Overpriced for Western business travellers and often bland complexes behind security walls without any African character. Bogobiri is part of the cultural centre in a quiet backstreet. Ive stayed here twice but also twice in the couple of 5* offerings on Victoria Island. This you get authentic food, great fried plantain and eggs, UK and EU football, live music and great Nigerian art. You can't be assured a hot shower or an extensive menu for dinner, AC or a plush insect free room. You are choosing between character and comfort. Thats it.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit of a lottery and vary widely. Ask for pics and agree a room in advance if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photoiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 59 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

My first time here was just amazing...I love the rooms,you actually feel at peace because it's located in a quiet part of town,and the decor puts you at ease. It's also very affordable...but if you are staying the night, pack a towel.
Don't forget to try the snail sauce,it's awesome...

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank amyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

First in Nigeria and was lucky enough to not only stay at Bogobiri but meet and connect with the owners and staff. Let's just say it's where I'll always stay when I come to Nigeria It's more than a hotel - more like home away from home, cultural center and so much more. I love Bogobiri.

Room Tip: Rooms are beautiful. Get one of the larger rooms if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diallo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I will have to start by saying I didn't stay here so I can't assess it as a hotel, although I would happily stay there in future. As a bar and restaurant though I can't provide enough praise. The food is excellent, the drinks are ever flowing and the staff and management are phenomenal. It's a great place to meet new people, listen to good music and relax- which can be difficult in the hustle and bustle of Nigeria. I came here at least a few times a week while I was living in Nigeria and would recommend anyone visiting Lagos to definitely spend an evening there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have stayed in total probably 1,5 months in Bogobiri, extended in 3 or 4 periods of 2 weeks. I find Bogobiri difficult to rate, just because it's so different from a regular hotel. I a way, this is not a hotel but more a bar (with live music every evening) where you can rent some rooms.

Other reviewers have described well the interior. Some of the staff are friendly. Some I find are not. Some do not care and prefer watching the football matches broadcasted in the bar area. Breakfast is included in the hotel price but very very basic, and if you are in a hurry early morning do not expect breakfast to be ready to enjoy all of the time. Internet is also included but quite shaky in times. I like the food (basic, generous portions) but not all what is presented on the menu is available at all times.

If you are a business traveller who would like a bit more comfort, and hotel feeling, there are some other places around on VI and Ikoyi where you will feel more being in a hotel. You will have to search though, if you do not want to pay more than @ Bogobiri. I stay here from time to time, but sometimes switch hotel early when I want a better shower, bed and airconditioning.

I believe the potential is enormous to take Bogobiri's hotel proposition to the next level. The question is, can it keep its unique proposition which it offers now or will 'professionalization' of the hotel business mean that the bar/music proposition will be eroded? My advice: go check out Bogo in the evening for the live music and ask to see some of the rooms before you decide to book here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poortje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have to agree with an earlier review of this hotel and say it doesn't live up to its potential
It's a charming and eccentric guest house and I loved the art on the walls, plus compared to other places in Lagos, it's (relatively) well priced. It had free wireless which is always a bonus. The staff are helpful and friendly which provides a comforting haven after braving the Lagos traffic all day.

However, I didn't have warm water for a decent shower and the breakfast was hopeless. I tried to have dinner there 2 evenings, and none of my first choices were available. If you're looking for a place to stay that has charm, is clean and that isn't as high-priced as the chain hotels, I can certainly recommend it. If your expectations are higher, you might be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very African!the art and decor is great.the music.the drinks.not pricy at all.saw a few live performances here as well.its worth a visit.definite must!!i totally love this place.definite re visit.a couple nice things to buy from the gift shop as well.

Stayed: July 2012
Thank Deji T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.3 mi away
The Blowfish Hotel
The Blowfish Hotel
#15 of 134 in Lagos
114 reviews
1.5 mi away
Three Arms
Three Arms
#28 of 134 in Lagos
20 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#23 of 134 in Lagos
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Ibis Lagos Airport
Ibis Lagos Airport
#32 of 134 in Lagos
296 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
1.7 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 134 in Lagos
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bogobiri House Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bogobiri House Lagos

Address: 9, Maitama Sule Street, off Awolowo Road,, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
#5 Spa Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $76 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bogobiri House Lagos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bogobiri House Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bogobiri House Lagos Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing