We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Great place for ice-cream” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolat Royal

Chocolat Royal
Ranked #2 of 5 Dessert in Lagos
Cuisines: European, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for ice-cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I scream, you scream, we scream for Ice-Cream rah-rah-rah.
When you here the name Chocolate Royale my mouth just water. I visit the Etim Iyang Victoria Island branch almost every weekend.
There ice-cream is totally out of this world. I love it love it love it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelechi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLagos, Owner at Chocolat Royal, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Kelechi U. That you so much for your review; keeping up our standards and quality is hard work and your comments bring a big smile to our faces. Kind Reagrds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    95
    38
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Higher hype than reality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Many ice cream flavours yes, but environment doesn't live up; except for the Palms outlet. It could do a bit more brush and maybe nature.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLagos, Manager at Chocolat Royal, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Victor O. Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were disappointed from what you saw. Do believe that we strive to keep up our standards. Thank you for patronizing our Palms outlet. Please do visit Cafe Royal and Metisse, located on the first floor (on top of Chocolat Royal) - we are sure you will not be deceived. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I had a delicious omelette here for breakfast on my first day in Lagos. We sat on the balcony overlooking the street and enjoyed the people watching. The cakes in the bakery below looked extremely good. There was an excellent selection of breads to buy too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Intrepidtravellers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLagos, Owner at Chocolat Royal, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Intrepidtravellers_8, Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your breakfast. Next time, try Metisse, our Pan Asian Restaurant - you will love it! Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Met few gals for lunch here during first week in Lagos. Had read some less than positive reviews so was expecting average! I was surprised. I thought the service was fine. A little slow and possibly chaotic but didn't affect our experience. The drinks and food menus are extensive and everything we had served was good. Spring rolls looked amazing as did squid and wraps. My chicken suya was delicious. Will make it a regular.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snowytrigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLagos, Owner at Chocolat Royal, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Snowytrigger, Thank you so much for your positive review, we are glad you gave us a try! We hope to welcome you very soon! Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Another Good Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Good food at reasonable prices. Ambiance leaves a little to be desired, but you can eat inside or outside on the balcony (overlooking the road). If karaoke is your thing, I think they still do this on Thursday nights - otherwise, avoid Thursdays!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Ingamells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLagos, Owner at Chocolat Royal, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Peter_Ingamells, We enjoy reading your comments - we will work on improving the ambiance. We hope to welcome you soon, perhaps in Metisse, our pan Asian Restaurant, same location as Cafe Royal. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolat Royal also viewed

Lagos, Lagos State
 
Lagos, Lagos State
 

Been to Chocolat Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing