We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legitimately the worst place I have ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Playa Venecia
Ranked #30 of 50 Isla de Ometepe B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 8, 2013

First, to be fair I would not be surprised if this is one of the better places to stay on Isla Ometepe as accommodations are limited and not good overall on this isolated island. However that being said, I stayed here with my girlfriend 1 night in the most expensive air conditioned 2nd floor cabina and it was very memorable for all the wrong reasons. First of all, I have never had such a problem with bugs, and unfortunately the door was not sealed sufficiently to keep out all the bugs. They were literally creeping in through the bottom of the door, which we tried to prevent with bug spray, a towel, etc. but all proved ineffective. That alone would have made it terrible, but that was not it. We also lost all water in the cabina, sink, toilet, and shower all didn't work. Even when the water did work the shower was freezing and really just like showering with a hose. On top of that we lost power during the night, which obviously made the
AC not work. Finally the breakfast at the restaurant was awful, I got a ham and cheese sandwich, which turned out to be literally wonder bread, 1 slice of cold ham, a cold slice of kraft singles cheese, and mayonnaise. Again, I don't know if other places are better on the island but you should know what you are in for. Isla Ometepe is goregous, we are glad we went, but the this hotel was truly terrible.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Finca Playa Venecia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 143 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. For our purpose it was excellent, though it is far from down town so depending on what your travel plans are it might be too far out of the way. The rooms are spacious and clean, we "upgraded" to a more modern room on the second night and unfortunately some of our towels and clothes got stolen from the balcony where they were drying. I don't blame the hostel or the staff, anything left unattended is pretty much fair game when traveling. (if you stay in the first few rooms they are closer to reception and are less visible from the beach). There is a restaurant on the premise and the food is ok. They offer a tab for each guest which makes it easier than paying cash for every item as you go. The staff were courteous and helpful and I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a relaxed couple of days.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuattroBurros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Top floor, 3 beds, lovely view of the Lake. We were within 15 steps of the lake. Went on a hike right from our door (you're supposed to pay to go into that area) since there was a huge hiking map/guide right there in front of the ""beach"". We were not disappointed, even our 4 year old could do it. What a lovely area.

We liked it so much, we stayed for 3 nights instead of one.

We had great service, and had lots of options for rooms. We might have lucked out. We showed up early in the day and had a rental car to tour around the island. Very helpful, but the car got dented in the Ferry, so be careful in that sense. In Nicaragua, expect the unexpected...and wherever you go, don't expect great service.....might be a cultural thing. I'm fluent in Spanish, so that helps at times.

Very, very windy. It was so hot, that the wind was quite nice. The lake water was also very warm and pleasant to swim in.

Room Tip: top room, corner at end of property.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a place to stay near Charco Verde, I'd recommend this place. It seemed to be a better hotel than staying at the hotel Charco Verde.

The rooms were basic but had the necessary amenities. The hotel could use some updating to the property.

Our room had ants, however this seemed to be common in most of the places in the middle of nature. What else can we expect.

The cabanas were along the beach which was a plus. Very good views! And in walking distance to Charco Verde. There is also a very cool nature walk within a 10 minutes walk away.

The staff was very friendly. In particular, one of the servers at the restaurant was very kind & friendly and made our stay extra welcoming.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just returned from an incredible trip to Ometepe! Finca Venecia was a great home base for us. By Nicaraguan standards, the accomodations were top of the line, and the location could not be beat - it is located right on the shores of Lake Nicaragua. We stayed in room #18 and were very comfortable. $50 a night for an air conditioned room with beds for all 7 of us. I say que ganga! (What a deal!) The restraunt was good too - we ended up eating all of our meals there minus a few picnic lunches we had on our excursions.

Room Tip: The cabins on the beach seemed newer than other options
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kianemikala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

OK, its not 5*, but at the price, it is very good. Yes, it is not in town - but that's good isn't it? It's near one of the best sites on the island, and well placed for others. Restaurant fine. Staff very helpful.
We booked ahead, and I am glad we did. This place is popular, and that says it all. Some people came in off the street and could not get a room!
We only had a day/2 nights unfortunately. They do horse riding here at $8 p/h - you won't get it anywhere else in Central America for less, if not half the price of elsewhere - and through beautiful country - we went part way up the volcano, then down and along the lake shore - then in it! The young lad who does it is really good and helpful - we were relatively inexperienced. Really good half day. Then we hired a motorbike (scooter too small/ bike hard work!) toured part of the island, and went to the Caballito Mar Kyaking site (they don't speak English at all) - fantastic easy paddle along a small river estuary (no current) full of birds and animals, including crocs! (cost $75 for 2, including 20 min tow to river estuary. What a great day.

Room Tip: Great island - spend 2 full days here at minimum.
Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tessaanddennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We chose this place at random and it was a good choice. For the price a cabin on the beach was a bargain. Clean, hot water and with the breeze a fan was all that was needed. The rocking chairs on the porches was a great place to enjoy the views, watch the birds, fishermen and listen to the nearby Howler monkeys. The guide they use for excursions is very knowledgable, his name is Willmor, taught us a lot, knows bird, plants and the area quite well. The beer from the restaurant was cold the food good not great but it would be nice if coffee was available earlier than 7:30 for us early risers. Just like MacArthur said, "I shall return."

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach are worth the small amount extra
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skibob_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
6.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
410 reviews
5.9 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 50 in Isla de Ometepe
122 reviews
6.2 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Moreno
Hotel Casa Moreno
#2 of 20 in Moyogalpa
53 reviews
6.5 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
301 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Finca El Chipote
Hotel Finca El Chipote
#2 of 7 in Altagracia
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Playa Venecia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Playa Venecia

Address: De la iglesia Las Cruces, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range: $55 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca Playa Venecia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Playa Venecia Hotel Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing