We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Magical Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Ometepe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Forestville, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Magical Place”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We have just had a delightful stay at La Omaja. The location is a little off the beaten track but well worth the drive. The grounds are beautiful and the view from the bar/ dining room and infinity pool are superb. It is clean and the food was delicious. You can hang out on the hammocks, lounge at the pool or sit on your private front porch. One of the best parts is owner, Jamie, who was extremely helpful and even drove us to San Ramon waterfall, as well as helping arrange our future plans. Make your reservations early.....

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaOmaja, Owner at La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
It was my pleasure, Nancy, thanks for choosing La Omaja.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    52
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
49
120
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneseo, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

On the island of Ometepe, Hotel Omaja was an amazing experience. The photos on the internet do not truly do it justice. There are 7 small cabanas, and an on site bar and restaurant, and an incredible infinity pool, overlooking Lake Nicaragua and volcan Concepcion. The owner, Jamie, from Omaha (where else??), could not have been more friendly. This is a small, intimate hotel, and to say it is out of the way, is an understatement. They recommend a high clearance vehicle, with good reason. From the half hour drive from Mayogalpa on a paved road, you still have another one hour drive over unpaved, very rocky, rutted, bumpy roads. But, as the Spanish saying goes, it is " vale la pena"...worth the trouble. But once there, it is pure beauty and relaxation. And there is even a colony of monkeys, about 15 minutes away! Bedrooms are large but stark, and wall decorations. Great natural stone showers. The only drawback: prices at the restaurant are a bit high by Nica standards, but good food. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All cabanas have great views of the lake and the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timoteo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaOmaja, Owner at La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You are rig, we are a bit off the beaten path, which is one of the things that to me makes it so special, so it is bitter sweet news that the infamous round out here is to be paved this fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I came down to Nicaragua for our honeymoon and stayed here the first week of January, and it was the highlight of our 17 day trip. Jamie is as hospitable as it gets, as are his entire staff (especially Jeffrey). The property is gorgeous, with views of the mainland and Concepcion from the bungalows, restaurant, and pool/hot tub. Hammocks on the front porches. Pure tranquility.

Jamie set us up with a guide, Saul, to hike up Volcan Maderas. Saul's got to be the best guide on the island, so if you make it over there, make sure you use him.

The food is good, and the tona is cold.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cd0uGt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaOmaja, Owner at La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thanks for the nice review and we wish you a lifetime of happiness together. Congrats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quadra Island BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Don't miss this great out of the way hotel. The location is a short and very bumby ride but well worth the slight minimal inconvenience. Super view, excellent staff, gorgeous infinity pool. The cabana's are clean with lots of hot water! A great kitchen, and Oscar the "go to guy" will solve all you problems, which will be few. James, the owner, lives on the property and is a caring guy who sees that the place he built from scratch remains one of the best accommodations on Ometepe. Don't listen to the negatives, this place is well wort a visit.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank buckaroo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaOmaja, Owner at La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you buckaroo, for your kind words, Oscar and all our staff do work hard to try and make everything as easy and comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Other than the HUGE (tarantula sized) spiders and baby scorpions in our bed, this was the best place we stayed in Nicaragua. Cabins were clean, and peaceful. Property was beautiful and peaceful. Good customer service. Hot water, very relaxing. There is NOTHING within walking distance of this place though and they were unable to accommodate us for the duration of our stay, leaving us having to look for less than desirable accommodations elsewhere on the island.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piscesgirl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaOmaja, Owner at La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank,you for the commentary, Mollie, being in he jungle there is no escaping the wildlife, but that's what it's all about right!

Due to the limited number of rooms in our little lodge we do recommend reserving ahead of time to make sure we can accommodate you, especially from December through March.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliMarie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I just completed three nights at La Omaja, and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Ometepe. The view was beautiful and made sunsets special, La Omaja is on the best side of the island to avoid getting blown away by the winds (may not sound like a big deal, but trust me, quite important), the cabins are simple but clean and charming (complete with a hammock and rocking chairs on your private porch), a nice pool, good food (while a fairly basic menu, it was by far the best food we had while on Ometepe), and more. Jamie the owner is great, helpful with information, and has a lovely family and staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeliMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaOmaja, Owner at La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for the nice review and you make a good point for tourists thinking on coming between December and April, the winds typically blow out of the east and can get quite blustery making the eastern side of the island a bit uncomfortable at times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at La Omaja for three nights over the New Year. We and one other couple shared one of the cabins, and everything was perfect for us.

Everything about our stay was great, from the pick up at the Ferry, to helping us kayak, hike, and do other activities, to watching the sunset over the lake from a hammock.

The only thing that impressed us more than that view was the staff. Owner Jamie takes care of you and is sincerely proud of his adopted home. He was willing to chat about the island, Nicaragua, his family, and his place, and he made sure we had a great time. He even went as far as to taking us out to a nearby town’s festival so we could get a taste of Ometepe life.

Jamie has hired some great islanders to welcome and take care of his guests, especially Oscar and Jeffery. They greeted us with a huge smile and taught me a few choice words in Nicaraguan.

The room is more than you'd expect. Its clean, air-conditioned, and the water is hot. There are some ants and some geckos, but realize you are not at a five star resort. I’m guessing, though, if you’re looking at taking the hour-long ferry ride followed by an hour-long drive on a tough, dirt road, you’re not reading this.

Really, the only downside is that pool. It’s so near perfect that you find yourself sitting in it drinking Tona after Tona. Watching New Year’s Eve fireworks over Nicaragua from the hot tub is tough to beat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaOmaja, Owner at La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thanks for the nice review, it was a pleasure having you and we are glad you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
4.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
3.7 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Omaja
Hotel La Omaja
#1 of 3 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 43 in Isla de Ometepe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
4.7 mi away
Selvista Guesthouses
Selvista Guesthouses
#3 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant

Property: La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Maderas Volcano, Meridia, Isla de Ometepe, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant on Ometepe. Situated in the foothills of the Volcano Maderas on the majestic island of Ometepe, La Omaja offers breathtaking views of Lake Nicaragua and the volcanoes Concepción and Maderas. Strategically located in the middle of the Maderas Nature Reserve, La Omaja enjoys easy access to the most intriguing attractions on this hidden Nicaraguan treasure. La Omaja´s cabañas and full service bar and restaurant provide a comfortable, secure, and above all else, friendly environment from which to headquarter your stay on Ometepe. Whether you come to relax and enjoy a quiet, romantic getaway or are looking for more adventurous opportunities to hike, kayak, bike or horseback through the Maderas Nature Reserve, La Omaja provides the perfect setting for a memorable vacation.La Omaja is family operated and an active stakeholder in the local island community. Our specially trained staff and guides provide professional and friendly service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Omaja Hotel
La Omaja Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing