We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, delicious food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Isla de Ometepe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed 6 nights, using 10 of the cabanas for our group. The couples were in the best rooms with "vistas." We appreciated the A/C and hot water. Island power went off once, but the hotel has a back-up generator for lights only. We ate breakfast each day in the restaurant, enjoying the traditional food and also the crepe-like pancakes with honey. We ate dinner twice, and group members all liked the fish, pork, chicken, and beef plates. Great service, too! Really the only problem we had involved one room which leaked during a downpour. The same room also had a problem with an A/C leak, which was repaired and cleaned up by the staff. The pool and beach areas are clean and enjoyable. Great hammocks on the porches, and beautiful landscaping! Friendly and helpful staff, but check-out for the group took over an hour even though we had given them advance notice to have our bill ready. Don't wait until you're in a hurry to make your ferry departure! Overall great accommodations for Ometepe. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Cabanas with a view of the lake. #23 #24 are great.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank texastwosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Paraiso
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 410 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

While on an adventure trip, spent 4 nights here in mid-June of 2014. While it was not our first choice, we were overall very pleased with our stay.

We stayed in a 2-bed bungalow. The bungalow was situated along one of the paths leading down to the beach. This provided a much-needed breeze coming in from the lake, which helped to cool things off and minimize the bugs. We saw several other bungalows closer to the road above ours that did not enjoy the open breezes that ours had, so be mindful of this when selecting yours.

Grounds/Security/Pool/Lower Bar Area/Beach
The common areas were well-maintained and the landscaping was meticulous and beautiful. The wildlife was also fantastic... iguanas, tropical birds and monkeys all right in or in the vicinity of the resort. I enjoyed this part of my stay tremendously!

Our bungalow was clean and everything worked as expected. The A/C had a small but constant rattle, but it worked perfectly otherwise.

The beach area below the resort is nothing short of amazing. With a fine white sand beach and stunning view of a volcano, picturesque is an understatement! You would never know you were looking out on a lake rather than a beautiful ocean resort if you just landed there. There's a cool little bar right on the beach called "Carlos' Bar", but it was closed when we were there due to it being the off-season. Looks like it would be a nice little bar area to chill in during the busy season. This time of the year, however, the place was a bit windy and completely uncrowded. Most days it felt like we had the entire beach to ourselves.

The pool was small but well cared for, and pretty refreshing after a long day out and about in the heat of the island. We rented a car and ferried over from Reyes. The parking area was well-lit and had a security guard there 24/7. There were also security patrols around the common areas of the resort throughout the evening. Was a bit creeped out at first not knowing who the guy was walking silently around the area at random times after dark, but once we got used to seeing the guard, it was no problem and ultimately it was appreciated.

The restaurant served up tasty food with both Nicaraguan classics and American favorites. I really did enjoy the food. Nicely prepared with good ingredients. My only criticism about this resort has to do with the wait staff at the restaurant. They are very nice guys, but they are less than up-front about automatic gratuities being added to the bill. I caught them more than once showing me a different type of bill that did not show the automatic gratuity, and as a result, we over-tipped a couple of times until we caught on to the scam. I like to tip generously anyway, but I routinely found myself hunting down a server to get more water, our check, or whatever. On more than one occasion we were served cold coffee because the server didn't bother to notice. I have a hard time understanding why they feel entitled to more than the average tip when they are barely measuring up in terms of service. It was still worth it to eat here though, because the dining area and patios provided beautiful views of some wildlife as well as the lake and beach. The food was more than acceptable.

In the unlikely event that I might return to this area sometime, I would not be opposed to staying at Villa Paraiso again. It was definitely one of the nicer resorts (if not the nicest) in this area of Isla de Ometepe.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank RmblnMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a one night stay here in April 2014 but we packed a lot into that time. The views of Lake Nicaragua are just simply stunning from the restaurant area. We had a cabana of our own and it felt especially romantic. The only thing to note here is you might want to check the season. There were billions of gnats around. They are harmless tiny flies but I've never seen so many. Not the hotels fault by any means but I think Ometepe gets them for one of the seasons. The second day they had disappeared. The horse back ride on the beach is not to be missed. Incredible value. I think it was about $16 to rent 2 horses and a guide for an hour. Ojo de Aguas is close too. Definitely rent a bike though. We tried to walk it and it was a long hot walk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Icebreaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have been there twice and it keeps getting better everytime I go, the beaches are excellent, the food in the restaurant is the best, ask for the traditional Nicaraguan food is the best and the less priced, the rooms are cabanas that include hot water, A/C in every room, the rates maybe the same that you get on an average room in the US, remember that you can pay with US Dollar or the local money (Cordobas) on the island, ride horses or rent a bike or motocycle, ask the hotel staff for any guides that can take you to either volcano, or the ECO Ranch that they have, best experience. You have to go on a boat ferry to get to the island, you can bring your rented car to the island, look for more info. on the island. There are two or so different car ferries (Moyogalpa and Altagracia) and their times vary, call in advance and reserve your spot on the ferry for your car, the town where the ferries go out from is San Jorge. The ride to the island takes about 2 to 3 hours, so get ready to take a nap.

Room Tip: Get the cabanas, if you choose the lowest rate room, you will be getting the suites on the hotel, th...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

During a two week trip through Nicaragua, this was our favorite location. We spent a lot of time swimming in the lake and cooling off in the pool. The location is the best on the island-on a paved road. We rented a motorbike from a spot down the road to get around. We had cabana number 24 overlooking the lake. When we had problems with the AC, they moved us to another cabin, that was even nicer. I can't think of anything negative to write. We loved it. We'd planned on staying two nights, but extended it to four.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the cabins overlooking the lake. Most of them don't have a view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samanabanaue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I struggled a little with whether to give 3 or 4 stars for this hotel. We had a really great time but there were many things that were less than exceptional. The location, grounds, staff, beach and patio areas were amazing. The rooms, beds, pillows and hotel food weren't that great. Not terrible by Central American Standards but for 55-75US a night they could do more. I would stay here again and recommend to friends. The beach and hammocks everywhere really made this a nice relaxing few days. You are walking distance to several little beach front restaurants and a small store for supplies. I loved santa domingo beach area. Enjoy!

Room Tip: get the lake facing cabins if you can afford it. Don't go to Julia's Comida down the street!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fromtxtoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Don't expect them to hold your room even secured with a credit card. After we were refused our room we drove around the island for hours looking for a room. We finally found a room that looked much like the hotel for the movie Psycho. These people ruined one full day on the island. The next day we stayed a Charco Verde it is fairly nice and enjoyed the stay here.
As for Villa Paraiso never will I risk ruining a vacation for these people.

Room Tip: Don't stay at Villa Paraiso
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank p3greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Santa Martha
Hotel Playa Santa Martha
#4 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
354 reviews
1.8 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 7 in Balgue
353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Omaja
Hotel La Omaja
#1 of 4 in Merida
16 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Finca del Sol
Hotel Finca del Sol
#1 of 4 in Santa Cruz
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Paraiso

Address: Playa Santo Domingo | Altagracia, Rivas, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range: $66 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Paraiso Hotel Isla De Ometepe
Paraiso Hotel Isla De Ometepe
Paraiso Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing