We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hike. Go with a guide. We recommend Alexis.”
Review of Volcan Maderas

Volcan Maderas
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Hike Maderas Volcano in Ometepe Island
More Info
$159.99*
and up
Ometepe Island Day Trip from Managua
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Maderas Volcano Hike from Isla de Ometepe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The last eruption from this dormant volcano was 10,000 years ago.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hike. Go with a guide. We recommend Alexis.”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went in December but the cloud forest (most of the hike) kept it very cool and comfortable. That same cloud forest, however, means the ground is still muddy from the rainy season. Very slippery and slow-going on the way down. Use Alexis as a guide. Alexis is a local guide. He speaks excellent English. He knows the route, will help you spot monkeys, and has interesting info on the island. He's easy to talk to and conscientious. He can also guide you up Concepcion or to Jerusalem waterfall.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sujo415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    101
    27
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“hard hike in the sun”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

It Took us more than an hour hike to visit the water fall, which was very nice, but truly did not worth the hike.
Of course my kids loved it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank hanyecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“amazing hike..but not for everyone”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

i like hiking in the forest, i´m from costa rica and i usually bring my tourist hiking for 5 -6 hours...2 days before i climbed the volcano concepcion ...maybe i was a littel tired but until the 700 metros i passed a very bad time....my only luck was that my guide , he pushed me to reach the top...and i don't know how and why the second part of the climb was much better and all my sickness desapper....at the end i really enjoyed this hike, it takes 7 hours to go up and down, taking photos and stopping a couple of time...but if you are not prepared don't go.....the 1st part , form 0 to 400metros higher it's really boared....i think i losted a lot of energy in this part....than when you start to hike inside the forest it's much better....
i think at the end this hike ots' harder than the volcano concepcion...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mamba68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“I was sore for days”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was an extremely difficult hike. Very steep with a ton of stairs. And when there are not stairs, you are climbing rocks. It's very slippery. We hiked to what we thought was the Mirador (still not sure). We did not pay for a guide. It is not necessary if you can figure out how to go around some falling trees. Watch out for the crabs on the trail. The view was nice but not worth the effort for me.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFool88005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level 6 Contributor
917 reviews
638 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 729 helpful votes
“Excellent hike”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Well, this was quite a hike ...

We stayed at El Porvenir and there is a trail starting right at the hotel gate. The sign says it's about 6 km long. We heard some rumors that it's required to hire a guide, but since we didn't know where to find one we just headed on on our own. We met people walking with guides and without, so I don't think you really have to have one, as long as you start early and give yourself plenty of time to come back before dark.

What can I say ... It was definitely a memorable experience ... We went during rain season, so in the beginning it was hot and humid, and the trail was quite rocky. Then it became quite steep and muddy, then we went into a fog/mist layer and then finally went down to the lake. The lake is also quite cold and muddy, so no swimming there. On the way back we took wrong trail (there are a few and they are not marked), so ended up on the wrong side and spent a few extra hours getting back.

So a bit more details. The trail itself is not very difficult. Yes, it gets very wet, slippery and muddy, could be quite steep but you don't need any special skills or equipment, just some common sense and patience. It took about 3 hours to get to the lake on top. The trail is about 6 km long and you gain about 1 km up, so if I'd say if you can run a couple of miles, you should be able to make it, just take as many stops as needed. Most people need between 3 to 5 hours one way.

There are 3 important things you need to care about.

1. Time. Start early. The trails are not clearly marked and there is always some fog on the top. The volcano is not that big and there are not that many trails, so you can't really get lost there, but you may end up spending between 6 to 10 hours, it gets dark abound 6 pm, and there are very few people (if any) left on the mountain after 3 pm, so you should start before 8 am. That's your main safety measure.
2. Water. We took less than 1 liter per person and that was not enough. The worst case you can try to drink from the streams close to the top, but it's not recommended.
3. Find some good stick. The trail gets very steep, muddy and slippery, so it's hard to stay on 2 feet and using a stick helps a lot.

What to wear. It never gets too cold, so I did just fine in a T-shirt and shorts. There are some flies and mosquitoes, they don't bite while you keep moving, but once you stop, they become quite annoying. So if you need to make a lot of stops, try not to leave any skin exposed. The spray won't help much because it gets washed off quickly.

Footwear. We've seen locals walking barefoot, some people had heavy hiking boots, I did just fine in sandals. The problem is eventually you'll end up walking in at least a half foot deep mud, so you'll likely get your feet wet anyways, but it's much easier to clean sandals than sneakers or hiking boots, but it's a matter of preference. Technically anything will work, as long as it's well fixed to your foot.

Now, what not to expect.

- Views. You'll be wither walking in the fog or in the forest, so can't really see much
- Swimming in the lake. The lake was cold and muddy, so I didn't see anyone trying to swim there.
- Animals. We saw some birds and crabs, but nothing fancy.

Overall, it was a memorable hike, highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank heckfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcan Maderas also viewed

Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
 
Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
 

Been to Volcan Maderas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing