We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't go wrong with Javier as your Ometepe guide”

OmetepeHiker Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Isla de Ometepe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: OmetepeHiker offers you a wide range of guided tours to show you the beautiful and interesting sites of Ometepe Island. This locally owned and operated company personally designs excursions for you according to your needs, wishes and time of stay on the island. We organize different activities such as volcano trekking to the craters of Concepcion or Maderas, waterfall hikes in San Ramon, guided kayaking through the Wildlife Refuge of the river Istian, and tours around the island by car or motor bike, just to name a few of the possibilities.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong with Javier as your Ometepe guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Javier is a handsome and charming young tour guide. His English is excellent, and he is very knowledgeable about Ometepe, which he also calls home. Although we booked him for a simple half-day excursion, he did not rush us one bit. We loved Javier, and you will too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Minh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    3
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hari's Horses, Maderas Volcano, Isla Ometepe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The last I read in Frommers 2nd Edition Nicaragua and El Salvador mentioned under HORSEBACK RIDING, "In many ways, horseback riding is the best way to get around this muddy, steep terrain. Indeed, I'm surprised no independent operator is offering rides yet."

WELL, surprise, surprise........ hike or mountain bike up Merida towards Volcano Maderas
where you will find HARI's Horses. Hari is a very laid back German "long haired man" with naked dog.....really. Hari and his wife were appalled by the poor condition of horses used to climb this rugged steep terrain. He and his wife imported healthy horses from Costa Rica and use them in rotation to make the 2 hour climb of the volcano. It eventually gets too steep for he horses, so you park them and hike the remainder (about 15 minutes) to a fabulous, MUST SEE, waterfall.

Hari's has a small refreshment area with lots of really happy dogs. He rents a few cabins for a modest price, but I am most impressed and grateful for his interesting laid back company and the love and care of his horses

Thanks Hari,

Lynda and Randy
Brooklyn, New York

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LadyWindsorBrklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ometepe island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

It is a wonderful island. It is located in ometepe. You can arrive there by ferry. If you are in Granada, you can take a ferry that will take you to moyogalpa that is located in Rivas. There is a good hostal called Soma to stay a night. The island is interesting because you can see the most inportant volcanoes like maderas and concepcion. Also you can see the largest lake in nicaragua. It is a spectacular view.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank juan z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Javier is the BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our family of 6 spent an entire day exploring Ometepe with Javier Urbina over the Christmas break. He met us with a driver and very spacious/comfortable/clean van at the ferry dock within minutes of our arrival. His vast knowledge of Nicaragua and specifically Ometepe, his home, and his passion for his country made for a very interesting day. We did not climb, but instead visited Punta Jesus Maria, Charco Verde, Ojo de Agua and Altagracia with a delicious lunch at Santa Domingo Beach. Unfortunately we only had a day on the island, so we were dropped off at the ferry for our trip back to the mainland at the end of the day. The fee included all transportation with driver and our guide, Javier. We paid for lunch and admission (minimal cost) to the various attractions. We highly recommend Javier if you plan to spend any time on Ometepe. We contacted him by email from home and by phone while in Nicaragua.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank 15290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“amazing day with Javier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

we had an amazing day in octuber 2012 with Javier. He bringed us for a hike in the volcano concepcion. We were a group of 5 people, 3 adults and 2 kids of 6 and 4 years old. My 6 years son arrived until 700mts and ny 4 years old daugher arrived until 1100mts...she was a surprise for Javier too...
We highly recomend Javier us a guide, he was very profesional and patient for all entire day.
We hope to go back in ometepe island this year too and for sure we will reserve others tours with Javier.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mamba68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OmetepeHiker Day Tours also viewed

Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
Santa Cruz, Isla de Ometepe
 
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
 

Been to OmetepeHiker Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing