We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural swimming pool”
Review of Ojo de Agua

Ojo de Agua
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Half-Day Nature Tour in Isla de Ometepe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ojo de Agua is a Natural Spring swimming hole where you can swim and relax in clear, pure, medicinal and healthy fresh water of volcanic origin. This is a place to enjoy the environment surrounded by Nature with lots of birds, butterflies, squirrels, iguanas, and many trees all around. While you are here you can also have meals, cocktails or just coconut water, and you can have a banana tour or ride a horse. Welcome.
NYC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Natural swimming pool”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

There are two entrances, but the one closer to Santo Domingo is currently closed, so be ware. This place is a huge natural pool, maybe 35 meters in length or more, with waters pumped and naturally filtered through the large pool. Tons of chairs for lounging, food, drinks, coconut water, etc. Only cost $2, or just 40 cordoba (about $1.85), so worth it for sure.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    320
    129
    41
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cool and refreshing!”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We rode to Ojp de Agua on horseback which was so beautiful. It was a short ride through banana trees and past horses grazing everywhere. It was short but a nice intro as you turn a corner of sorts and hear all the voices of people enjoying the nice cool water of the spring. Lake Nicaragua is very warm so visiting the spring was a nice change and so refreshing!!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Chaipilates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Refreshing and Relaxing!”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We spent a Wednesday afternoon at Ojo de Agua. It's a lovely manmade pool with cool, refreshing water - perfect for those hot Nicaraguan days! There is also a rope swing that entertained my husband for quite a while. You can get drinks and food at the little on-site restaurant, and there are a few merchants set up to sell trinkets. Showers and bathrooms are available, but be aware that they're located up a pretty steep hill. We had a very relaxing afternoon lounging in the sun and swimming in the not-at-all crowded pool.

Note:
There are two entrances to the venue. One features a parking lot, the other is accessed by long path from the road. We caught a bus and were dropped off at the non-parking lot entrance. We were greeted by a woman who collected $2 per person for entrance and opened a gate. Beyond the gate is a very long path through plantain fields. It was a very pretty walk, but honestly, it was hard to believe that we were actually walking toward something!

The walk to the pool was a bit soggy, but the walk back was even more of adventure, considering it rained heavily during our visit. In many spots, the water actually rushed through the path like a stream, and in other spots, it was up to my knees. But if I ever go back to Ojo de Agua, I'd still choose the more "adventurous" path!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank parisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Ometepe Island Must See”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We visited Ojo de Agua (water's eye or eye of the water, not sure) on the Island of Ometepe with two small children and two pre-teens. Every one of us had a blast. The water was crystal clear and cool, which is great considering how hot it is in this area of Nicaragua.

It costs 20 cordobas (about a dollar) to get in, and this helps with maintenance and up keep of the park area. It's well worth it. They have a snack bar, clean bathrooms (!!!) and changing facilities so you can suit up and jump in the gorgeous water. Some of the spots in the pools are deep, but there's plenty of shallow area, too, for the little ones. Just beware, the bottom is slippery and rocky! If you have water shoes and don't mind looking nerdy, wear them. :)

We purchased a coconut with a straw and drank some luke warm coconut water straight from the nut. That was neat. There is also a little shop for take home gifts, if you are interested, but it was VERY pricey.

Definitely make this a must-see on your list of places to visit on Ometepe. My kids would have loved to stay here all day long!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank carleegirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids MI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Refreshing stop”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Although this place is "man-made" it is still pretty and great place to cool off. There are places to change, bathrooms and a restaurant.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank CharGrandRapidsMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ojo de Agua also viewed

Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
 
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
 

Been to Ojo de Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing