We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed For Four Nights, Very Memorable”
Review of Finca Mystica

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Ometepe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Mystica
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Stayed For Four Nights, Very Memorable”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Finca Mystica was the cleanest and best run hostel/hotel I stayed at while visiting the island and Nicaragua in general. I have recommended it to everyone that might be going to Ometepe. I will definitely be coming back again in the future. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    11
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
155
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I have just spent a week staying at the Finca Mystica, and even though the owners were away, the local staff were amazingly friendly, the food was nice (& reasonably priced considering the location and lack of alternatives!). I stayed in the dorm room for a couple of nights (large, with double beds) and a private cabina for five nights (with en-suite). It's a bit of a ways away from things, but they were happy to organise hiking with guides, horse riding, motorbike hire, etc. As I was there to do a bit of studying I was happy to just enjoy the peace & quiet and take it easy for a week.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you're a wildlife nut like us, you will love it here. Situated by the dormant but very living volcan Maderas, Finca Mystica is home to lots of wildlife. The property itself is stunning, beautiful views from every private house. You are literally in the middle of the jungle here. There were families of howlers at the property virtually every day. At one point - mid meal - the howlers sounded so close that we actually got up and stepped out of the restaurant to simply look up. Sure enough, there they were. Saw an entire family - babies and all.

Angela and Ryan are great hosts, and can help you organize anything. The food was amazing, all bread is baked fresh daily. The workers were happy, the rooms were clean. Great environment.

It is a little out of the way, and I was apprehensive about hiking Volcan Concepcion from this location. Wasn't a problem in the end, we hiked the beautiful Maderas instead. But do expect a bit of a rough road. Sit at the back of the vehicle for extra fun.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valery B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I am no mystic but my wife, I and 3 kids age 4,7,10 had a wonderful 3 day retreat at the Finca...it is well off the beaten track...be prepared for 45 minutes bouncing hard on a road only rivaled in my experience by the one to the cloud forest in Costa Rica for rocks, bumps and little rivers...you will then arrive at acres of beautiful fruit and other trees planted lovingly by Ryan and Angela who were wonderful hosts and are living as an integrated part of the little local community and on and off the land...the cabins are simple but pretty (bureaus would be a good add), the views fabulous, the vibe great and the food wholesome, delicious and underpriced. Hiking, horse riding are at your doorstep or relax and just take it in....highly recommend a stay here...

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Angela and Ryan are so chill. They organized our hike to the top of
volcan concepcion within 15 minutes the day before and made us
slamming PBJs. The food is awesome there. I recommend all their
juices.

Rooms are super clean and cozy
Mosquito nets are clean and set up for you
Food is awesome
Ryan and Angela are so helpful
Hammocks at each cabin
Really soft sheets

The only hesitation is that Finca Mystica is a bit hard to get to.
It's on the Merida side of Volcan Maderas. And to get to Finca
Mystica, you walk up 500 meters from the main road. But it's worth it
if you're legs can take you places. We really liked it there. Also
adobe houses are so cool. When do you get to lounge in an adobe house?
In Finca Mystica, that's where!

Thank you Angela and Ryan!

Room Tip: All the adobe houses are awesome. Book ahead of time, because they go fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neesha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is the best place that we stayed at during our trip in Central America. After spending months staying in seedy backpackers I was so happy to arrive in a beautiful, relaxing and clean environment.

The hosts Ryan and Amanda are super helpful and activities that they advise are all really well priced and the horses for horse back riding are well treated. The food at the hostel has heaps of variety and there are amazing vegetarian options.

This hostel is defiantly worth a trip to the island Ometepe.

Room Tip: The private cabins are amazing and all have their own bathroom and hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slothie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Finca mystica is one of the best hotels on our trip. It is one hour drive from the boat but it is definitely worth it. They can send a driver to pick you up and you can book great tours at the hotel. The staff is very helpfull and the food is great (served every day at 7 if you want). What we loved the most was the great atmosphere! It is a great place to meet other people.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sannetam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
5.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
408 reviews
3.7 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 7 in Santa Cruz
387 reviews
6.9 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 6 in Balgue
348 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#5 of 50 in Isla de Ometepe
199 reviews
4.5 mi away
La Urraca Loca Hostel
La Urraca Loca Hostel
#2 of 2 in Balgue
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Mystica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Mystica

Property: Finca Mystica
Address: 500 Meters north | Punta portero, Merida, Isla de Ometepe 000000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Finca Mystica Hotel Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing