We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best of the best”
Review of Finca Mystica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Mystica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Ryan and Angela are the best! They're so nice and easy to talk to. One of the best things about Finca Mystica is the serenity you feel once you get there. I've never been in such a chilled out, relaxed environment. The food is amazing and all organic. Try the iced coffee!!
I would say the only negative part of Mystica is the $30 cab ride on unpaved roads- but I believe they're working on that as we speak... :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mirau83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for Finca Mystica
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 322 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Read lots of good reviews so had high expectations & was not disappointed. Very cute cabins, constructed & decorated with care & attention to detail. Clean & comfortable. Fresh flowers in room was a nice touch. Very comfy hammock chairs in communal area. Food was really good (portions a bit smaller than we wanted but we eat a lot! I was able to get a second bowl of their delicious tortilla soup one night, thanks Angela!). Cookies & brownies were so yum! I wasn't feeling 100% when we stayed here so we didn't manage to do the volcano hike that we had planned to do but this was a beautiful spot to relax & rest. Ryan & Angela are nice people, who have done a great job making Finca Mystica the place it is.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed 3 nights here in one of the cottages but could easily have stayed longer. Very relaxing with beautiful surroundings, it was tempting to just stay in the hammock all day!
Food is good and the staff are great. It's a long journey from the port but they will come and pick you up from the port and its a great way to see the island!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahinCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We shared two nice cottages. We only stayed two nights but would have liked to stay longer! Food was great too! Beautiful surroundings and good location for hiking to the waterfall. Both the owners and the girls working in the restaurant were really nice.

Lot´s of value for money! Only negative thing was the long and bumpy road there (took almost 2 hours from the port) - although that may also be an experience!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fyijblojgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Finca Mystica is a very special place. I stayed in the dorm room, with some trepidation (first time in 18 years!) but it was a good experience. A beautiful, adobe yurt-shaped room, with lovely details - stained glass effect windows using recycled materials, comfortable beds, beautiful curtains. Everything had the feel of being carefully made or chosen. I would have loved to stay longer to find out more about Angela and Ryan's experiences of creating it, as it had the feel of a long-held dream being realised. There was a nice feeling of interaction with the local community, opportunities to rent bikes or go horseriding nearby. I really enjoyed walking along the nature trail in the nearby forest and being able to watch howler monkeys close up (I even tried filming them and felt like I was making my own David Attenborough episode!). The overall feeling is relaxed and of people pottering, doing their own thing. The food is also great - healthy salads, home-made sugar free chocolate, wonderful shakes and oats/granola available for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeccaKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the run up to Easter as 4 girls. We had our own room with 2 double beds and ensuite in a great little cabin overlooking the sea.
Ryan y Angela seem to have got the perfect balance between eco and comfortable - Obviously the rooms aren't with air con, mini bar, tv or power shower - but at no point did we feel like we were having to compromise on enjoyment or quality of facilities.
There are some fantastic little details which show the thought which has gone into the development of Finca Mystica.

It is a bit tricky to get to: 30-40 minutes along a very bumpy dirt road and isn't near to any towns or areas of nightlife but that makes it all the more enjoyable.

It's quite an adventure to get there but once you're at Finca Mystica it doesn't feel like you're stranded without anything to do.

So many activities can be accessed from FM, and Ryan y Angela have such a lot of knowledge. Even in the hectic Easter period where many Nicos are off work they helped us with all we wanted and were very patient with our indecision and last minute organising of activities.

The food is ace and has a wide variety of quality things and isn't expensive. And everyone that works there is so lovely and accommodating.

Thanks Finca Mystica and look forward to visiting again in the future to see how it's all developed.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCarter24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Finca Mystica is well worth the journey to its remote location down an unpaved road on Isla de Ometepe. In fact, the isolation of the place is part of what makes it so special. It is an ideal spot to relax and unplug while enjoying beautiful natural surroundings. My husband and I spent three nights in one of the cabins. Our room was basic but in the best possible way -- the simplicity is part of the charm. We loved lazing in our hammock and stargazing from our porch at night. The food was consistently great. Breakfast and lunch are ordered a la carte from a menu that includes a mix of Nicaraguan staples (gallo pinto, tortillas) and international options (French toast, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches). Each night there are two dinner options from which to choose. The kitchen had no problem accommodating a gluten-free diet and portions were generous. You'd be hard-pressed to find more gracious, natural hosts than Angela and Ryan. They are friendly and attentive but never overbearing. They offered us tips on activities around the island and connected us with a top-notch guide for climbing the Maderas Volcano. All that they have accomplished in realizing Finca Mystica is incredible yet they are amazingly humble. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAB111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
5.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hacienda Merida
Hacienda Merida
#2 of 61 in Isla de Ometepe
246 reviews
4.7 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 7 in Santa Cruz
390 reviews
6.9 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
301 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#4 of 50 in Isla de Ometepe
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Mystica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Mystica

Address: 500 Meters north | Punta portero, Merida, Isla de Ometepe 000000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range: $16 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca Mystica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Mystica Hotel Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing