We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts, delicious food, a great getaway!”
Review of Finca Mystica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Mystica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Ryan and Angela, the American owners of FM, are a wonderful young couple who have built a great bnb to go along with their working farm. They have 4 little cabins wih a larger dorm on the way. Only $30 per night. No hot water, but comfortable. There is a common dining/relaxation area where guests socialize and amazing food is served along with an extensive smoothie menu. Get the power shake!

This place is off the beaten track so if you don't have a car, it's a bit difficult to explore other parts of the island. FM is halfway between Merida and the San Ramon waterfall and the road is very bad. They do have great hiking trails and it's easy to see howler monkeys on the property. You can also hike the Maderas volcano from the property. Highly recommended!

For activities, recommend the waterfall hike (if you can get a ride to the trail head especially) and kayaking in the rio istian (especially if you take a boat to the mouth of the river and then hop in the kayaks!)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey_A_Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 326 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

First of all, Isla de Ometepe should definitely be on your list if you visit Nicaragua (which should be on your list as well:) Ometepe literally means between two hills- it's two volcanoes that erupted a long time ago, forming a beautiful island in the middle of Lake Nicaragua- Central America's largest lake. It's quite pristine and beautiful. The local islanders are friendly and charming! Much of the island is still unpaved and in a very raw and natural state- it's breath-taking. This is all about to change soon. They're putting in an airport- a small landing strip soon and there are definitely plans to develop the island's tourism. However, it's still an amazing place where the mountain meets the sea!

I recently traveled here with a friend and it was one of the highlights of our trip! Ladies, if you're traveling solo or if you don't have guys in your group, you'll feel very safe, don't worry. We stayed at Finca Mystica- a beautiful, secluded eco-farm/plantation right on the water. They grow their own bananas, papayas, hibiscus, and more. Nearby, there's fresh coffee grown as well. It was incredibly clean, fresh, and beautiful. The food was absolutely delicious as well to boot! We were surrounded by magical natural surroundings- no joke, we woke up one morning to find a horse outside our little hacienda. There are many horses on the island and some appeared to be wild or un-owned. Ryan and Angela are the owners of this beautiful place and do an amazing job at making you feel welcome and taken care of. The common area is set up with hammocks, hammock chairs, and great music always playing, whether salsa or reggae. Your individual lodging are very quaint and clean individual cottage style lodges. You walk down a winding path through the Finca's beautiful garden toward the lake, toward your room. It's very safe and off the beaten path! However, you can still easily get to the waterfall and the volcano! Ryan y Angela will help you in arranging a volcano guide, transportation, horseback arrangements- whatever you need. We also met some fantastic travelers while staying here. I think "escape" style places like this tend to attract travelers who are looking for something different, and this is definitely it!

I'm sure you'll enjoy your stay on Finca Mystica and Isla de Ometepe!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elysel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Don't let the bumpy road to Finca Mystica deter you! This lovely B&B is a hidden gem on Isla de Ometepe. The quaint little cottages are well-kept and very comfortable. No warm water for showers, but I didn't mind it much, as I spent much of the day in the sun. There was a natural soundtrack of wind and monkeys (so bring some earplugs for nighttime). It is incredibly worth it though, as I felt so close to nature while still having the utmost level of hospitality. The location is perfect for exploring the island. My good friend and I easily walked 20 minutes down the road to hike up to see "La Cascada", the stunning waterfall. And Lake Nicaragua, is just at the end of the driveway (a 5 minute walk), for swimming and kayaking. Also, Volcan Maderas, the dormant volcano is literally in the backyard. Owners, Ryan and Angela, graciously set up a tour for my friend and me, so that we could hike up to the top of this mystical volcano. Throughout my stay at Finca Mystica, Ryan, Angela and the staff made sure we were fed delicious, home-cooked, fresh meals (breakfast included), and that we were taken care of, whether it was that we had the necessary information for activities of interest, tour guides to lead us at various sites, or drivers to help us get from one location to the next. They even took us to a nearby Nicaraguan celebration, so that we could experience life with the locals. I will never forget my incredible stay at Finca Mystica; words can't describe what a treasure this place is!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEarls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We loved staying with Ryan and Angela at their Finca. This is clearly their dream and they've executed it wonderfully. The lodgings are simple, clean and comfortable. The food is spectacular - healthy and yummy. They were very helpful with the various adventures we wanted to do. They seem to know everyone on the island.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Marshall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Really great place - as many other reviewers have said, the location, accommodation, food & friendliness of Ryan, Angie & their team make this a wonderful place to stay on Ometepe. Back in damp, dismal, dreary London I'm dreaming of how to get back to Ometepe & Finca Mystica!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mangunhuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Finca Mystica was an absolute treat. Ryan and Angela were wonderful hosts who not only ran their business well, but were truly interested in engaging with their guests on a personal level. It's a little out of the way compared to most of the accommodation on the island, but that adds to the charm. (it does happen to be right next to the waterfall). They will happily set up a taxi for you if necessary and they even had a taxi waiting for us in Rivas when we left. The food is some of the best I've had thus far in Nicaragua, and there was always great vegetarian options. Everything was very clean. I highly recommend finca Mystica if you want a peaceful relaxing getaway in the jungle.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahsinthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

What an amazing find! Finca Mystica was a perfect piece of paradise. Angela and all the girls were wizards in the kitchen and Ryan was a wealth of knowledge about what to do. We loved staying here and would happily go back for another visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KtN448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
5.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
419 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hacienda Merida
Hacienda Merida
#4 of 63 in Isla de Ometepe
252 reviews
4.7 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 7 in Santa Cruz
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
4 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#5 of 52 in Isla de Ometepe
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Mystica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Mystica

Address: 500 Meters north | Punta portero, Merida, Isla de Ometepe 000000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range: $24 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca Mystica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Mystica Hotel Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing