We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Finca Mystica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Mystica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Really great place - as many other reviewers have said, the location, accommodation, food & friendliness of Ryan, Angie & their team make this a wonderful place to stay on Ometepe. Back in damp, dismal, dreary London I'm dreaming of how to get back to Ometepe & Finca Mystica!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mangunhuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 329 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

Finca Mystica was an absolute treat. Ryan and Angela were wonderful hosts who not only ran their business well, but were truly interested in engaging with their guests on a personal level. It's a little out of the way compared to most of the accommodation on the island, but that adds to the charm. (it does happen to be right next to the waterfall). They will happily set up a taxi for you if necessary and they even had a taxi waiting for us in Rivas when we left. The food is some of the best I've had thus far in Nicaragua, and there was always great vegetarian options. Everything was very clean. I highly recommend finca Mystica if you want a peaceful relaxing getaway in the jungle.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahsinthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

What an amazing find! Finca Mystica was a perfect piece of paradise. Angela and all the girls were wizards in the kitchen and Ryan was a wealth of knowledge about what to do. We loved staying here and would happily go back for another visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KtN448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Finca Mystica was our favorite destination in Nicaragua! The setting was amazing, amidst the jungle of Ometepe, with views out to Lake Nicaragua. There is plenty to do in the area with great hiking, sea kayaking, and the little discovered fishing opportunities. All of this would be enough on its own, but it is the hosts Ryan and Angela that make it so special. Great people who are extremely knowledgeable about farming and food preparation! The meals were top notch, and locally grown!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

When i think of vacation, Finca Mystica sums it up. from the time we steped out of the taxi onto the farm we felt at home, we were welcomed with open arms. the scenery was breath taking, and every meal was our best. There were many options of activities to do as well on the stay from hiking the volcano's,kyacking,stand up paddle boarding, to even a great nature trail that winds you through the jungle floor, were you could see a abundance of wildlife. I would recomend this place to any traveler, and plan on making many more visits to Finca Mystica.
Ryan & Angela are great people, this is a wonderful place to see how local community can come together and make life work.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Loved this place, tucked away in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by lush forest and howler monkeys. We stayed 3 nights and didn't want to leave. The hosts, Angela & Ryan made us feel really welcome and were really friendly. When we visited they had friends over from the states who were lovely also which I think added to the experience. There is plenty to see and do if you are feeling energetic or if you just want to relax at the lodge or terrace thats good too. Angela and her staff cook with most wonderful food, western, local food, smoothies to die for and much more. The cabanas are perfect and the scenery stunning. If you really want a unique experience this is the place to stay. Angela and Ryan are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuking1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I can't say enough amazing things about Finca Mystica!

First, Ryan and Angela love this place, the people, and their community. They are very involved with the local community, engaged in service projects and helping the people around them, who really are friends.

Their property is beautiful, with views of the volcano in one direction, and views of the lake in the other. Beautiful landscapng throughout, with little paths and sitting areas.

The cabins are cozy, and their construction is a great story in itself. Ryan and Angela's commitment to sustainability is evident in all they do. Forget the self-styled "eco-lodges," and stay here in a place where the people really care about finding ways to live simply.

The main building, with its huge covered porch, is the perfect spot to hang out in a hammock with a cold drink, enjoy the company of other adventurous travelers, and relax in a hammock.
The food they cook for meals is the best in the country. No kidding! Fresh matters. The smoothies are amazing!

They helped us arrange activities, which included a horseback ride to San Ramon waterfalls.

It is very remote, which we loved. I was a little concerned that we wouldn't be close enough to other things to do on the island. But the island isn't that big. And frankly, once we got there, I didn't want to leave Finca Mystica anyway. You won't either. We only stayed two nights; that wasn't nearly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bracksrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
0.9 mi away
Hacienda Merida
Hacienda Merida
#4 of 67 in Isla de Ometepe
253 reviews
4.7 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
371 reviews
3.7 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 7 in Santa Cruz
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
4 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#5 of 52 in Isla de Ometepe
204 reviews
6.9 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 8 in Altagracia
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Mystica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Mystica

Address: 500 Meters north | Punta portero, Merida, Isla de Ometepe 000000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range: $13 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca Mystica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Mystica Hotel Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing