We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this jewel.”
Review of Finca Mystica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Mystica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Ryan and Angie are hosts that really look after their guests. Their cabins are clean and spacious and offer wondeful views of the lake and distant mountains. There is no need to find a local restaurant because Angie prepares tasty fruit drinks and meals and alcohol is also available. Evening are spent with guests who have travelled throughout the world and have spent the effort to traverse the poor roads to reach this piece of paradise. I liked the ambiance so much that I extended my stay and plan to return.I have read what the other travellers have written and they are right on the mark. If you come to Nicaragua do not miss this experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickford25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 326 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2011

Ryan & Angela are very laid back and make you feel right at home. I was worried the howler monkeys were going to be a bother but they weren't..The roads are very bad so even if you take a taxi from the ferry it's bone jarring! Shower has only cold water , which feels good when it's hot out. The hike to the volcano, Volcan maderas was great but very hard, took over 7 hours. Our guide was 65 yrs. old but outhiked us.
We also hiked to San ramon waterfall, make sure you drive to the parking lot because it's a lot farther than you think.
The food was awesome and the girls working for Angela are so sweet!

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
Thank marygrace4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We arrived at rural Finca Mystica after a rough ride with a bad case of bronchitis and additionally my husband with a painful middle ear infection. As soon as we settled into our private little cob house cabin the healing began:
Opening our wooden shutters we looked onto a stunning view of farmland, jungle and Lake Nicaragua in the distance (but still close enough to walk within 10 minutes down to the beach). Colorful birds, beautiful flowers and quiet beauty surrounded us. (Except a few howler monkeys and green parrots reminded us -that's a jungle out there).
Our hostess Angie's inventive organic cooking surely contributed to our speedy recovery. We pretty much did nothing and then rested from doing nothing, but read and enjoy the amazing space. Ask Ryan about his work as a "green builder" and he will explain gladly how he hand sculpted (with hired help of the community) the simple and yet sophisticated cabins out of sand, clay and straw, imbedding into the walls colorful bottles as an additional light source with a stain glass effect.
Because of our health issues we didn't hike up the volcano, or kayaked in the river or explored the nearby waterfall on horseback. So there are plenty of reasons to come back to explore Merida, Ometepe and stay again with Angie and Ryan in their mystical and magical Finca.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erijoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

In January 2011 we stayed 2 nights at Finca Mystica during our trip through Nicaragua and Costa Rica. It was an absolutely wonderful experience, with exceptional hosts, Angela and Ryan, making our stay even more outstanding. It really is a mystical place. Food there is amazing, all ingredients are based on organic farming. Private houses on the farm are made out of natural material, so everything is very eco friendly. Rooms are spotless and very nicely decorated. Wildlife (howler monkeys, birds) is practically seen all over the farm. It's also a great base to explore the island. Ryan and Angela can provide you all the information and even get you a guide, if needed.

Finca Mystica was the best place we stayed during our entire trip and we highly recommend it as a must to every traveler visiting Nicaragua.

We can't wait to come back again and enjoy the tranquility of Finca Mystica.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregorBojana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Finca Mystica is phenomenal! I was traveling with friends in Nicaragua and we spent about a week on Ometepe. We stumbled across this hidden gem after not enjoying our first night at the hostel that the guide book recommended. My experience here was nothing but the best. The food was a home cooked delicious healthy take on traditional Nicaraguan cuisine. Ryan and Angela (the owners) were SO nice and accommodating, the room was beautiful, and the sunsets were spectacular. I think Finca Mystica's name does it justice, my time here was definitely mystical. I spent 7 months backpacking in south and central america and this was honestly one of the best places I stayed! If you're planning on making a trip to the island you and you're looking for a quiet, relaxing, unique experience you'll be missing out if you don't stay here, I definitely recommend it and hope to go back again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaw1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Finca Mystica is absolutely unique and absolutely perfect. Great food, wonderful hosts and soooo tranquilo.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindi37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2010

Finca Mystica is the ideal place to soak up the warm beauty of Isla de Ometepe. There you are surrounded by the saturated, rich colors of the jungle foliage, (hikeable) volcanoes loom behind as your backdrop, and howler monkeys and colorful birds provide a cheerful soundtrack. At night the stars are dazzling and endless in an expansive sky. The accommodations are private and comfortable and the owners and staff are warm and helpful. The food is also flavorful and delicious. The owners of this resort play a big part in the community, and their respect for nature is apparent in everything from the cob building material they used for all the structures, to the colorful array of plants and flowers which grow plentiful all around the grounds. Whether you want to hike up a volcano, enjoy a refreshing dip in the lake, take a nature walk, or swing away on a hammock, Finca Mystica is the place to do it. I would not imagine making another trip to Nicaragua without returning to partake in the tranquil magic that is Finca Mystica.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaVickyGutierrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
5.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
419 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hacienda Merida
Hacienda Merida
#4 of 63 in Isla de Ometepe
252 reviews
4.7 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 7 in Santa Cruz
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
4 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#4 of 52 in Isla de Ometepe
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Mystica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Mystica

Address: 500 Meters north | Punta portero, Merida, Isla de Ometepe 000000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range: $24 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca Mystica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Mystica Hotel Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing