We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Ometepe”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Ometepe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Paradise on Ometepe”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

La Via Verde was our FAVOURITE place to stay in Nicaragua. The organic breakfasts were oh-so-yummy and the setting (in the midst of a tropical forest with balconies overlooking the volcanoes) was phenomenal. Eileen and Darren truly made the stay ideal with their hospitality and exceptional service with all the finer details covered like fresh coffee ready when we woke up, fresh-cut flowers with our breakfast and board games available for free use. Our favourite evenings were spent lounging in the hammocks listening to the sounds of howler monkeys and tropical birds in the distance. We only wished we had booked a longer stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moto155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
122
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cross Junction, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

As the other reviewers wrote, this was the best stay of our trip to Nicaragua. There were so many great aspects to La Via Verde; delicious breakfasts served on the veranda; comfortable, simple, clean rooms; organic food grown by Eileen and Darrin; a view of the Concepcion volcano; a fridge stocked with sodas, lemonade, beers and Flor de Cana rum for low prices; sunrise and sunsets viewed from your room; a hike up the Maderas volcano with an excellent guide, Alexis; and, best of all, two hammocks on the veranda outside the room. This is the place for those who enjoy doing little or nothing or outdoor activities like hiking and kayaking. We were directed to local restaurants with good food. Eileen and Darrin are not "staff", but good people that I would like to have as neighbors and friends. Their philosophy of living "green" is in every aspect of La Via Verde. Getting to La Via Verde means traveling some rough roads, whether in your own vehicle or on the bus. It is, as Michelin says, "worth a journey".

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donquixote218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

My partner and I stayed at Via Verde for 2 nights in November during a 2 week trip to Nicaragua. It was honestly, the best part of our trip and we compared every other place to Via Verde. Eileen and Darren are gracious hosts (and AMAZING chefs) and made our stay on Ometepe really special. We felt like we were visiting a friend's home. They helped arrange a guide for the volcano hike, and recommended dinner locations. We loved the location- just enough out of the 'hostel scene' (for a quiet night's sleep) but close enough to walk for dinner. Via Verde had everything that was important to us- firm bed, clean rooms, and hot water. Our room had a beautiful balcony that was perfect for relaxing in after a hard volcano hike. The food rivaled anything we get back home. Eileen and Darren had a breakfast menu that changed daily: breakfast burritos with homemade tortillas and cheese, freshly made salsa and delicious veggies; homemade yogurt and granola; homemade toast and jam! Really- the breakfast is amazing and keeps you full all day. I would absolutely recommend Via Verde for anyone visiting Ometepe, you will be hard pressed to find the same hospitality and quality of service anywhere on the island.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sepekala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedley, California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2010

I had the most delightful and refreshing stay at this new B&B. It consists of 2 second-story rooms, tastefully simple and clean, each with a lovely queen-size bed; and boy did I sleep! Evident throughout was careful attention to detail, quality, and creature comfort, including glass and screened windows. The bathroom was separate but conveniently nearby, complete with running water (drinkable), flush toilet, large mirror, electric outlets, and warmed shower--ah, how I appreciated the warmed shower! A cement-floor veranda encircled the entire perimeter and offered fabulous views of the lake to the east and the volcano Concepcion to the west--with an expanse of lush foliage in between. Each room opened onto a privately partitioned balcony overlooking the lake and furnished with hammocks and rocking chairs. I loved relaxing here and basking in the fresh warm breezes blowing in off the lake. On the veranda to the west I enjoyed delicious fresh-brewed coffee from the farm and great selections from the menu for breakfast; also drinks from the fridge at any time. The owners, Eileen and Darrin, were great hosts and so knowledgeable and helpful. Hats off to them for what they have created here--out of virtually nothing. I wish them great success; and to anyone reading this I say, "Try it--you'll love it!"

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeelover9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 43 in Isla de Ometepe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
3.9 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.3 mi away
Selvista Guesthouses
Selvista Guesthouses
#3 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B

Property: La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
Address: Between Santa Cruz & Balgue | Between Santa Cruz & Balgue, Isla de Ometepe 48800, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ometepe, offers amazing nature, a chance to step back into a simple, slower way of life & charming friendly inhabitants who can teach us all something about being happy with less. As Americans who love living here (since 2004) we hope to provide a bridge of understanding & connection for you into the culture & life of this very special place. We would love to help you plan & organize a trip that will align with your interests & optimize your experience. Located on our organic farm La Via Verde is a cozy, intimate B&B with only 2 bedrooms on our second story. Up in the trees the wrap around verandas have great views of Volcan Concepcion, sunrise and sunset. Rooms have private balconies, queen bed, ceiling fan and are screened. There are 2 shared baths with flush toilets and limited hot water showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Via Verde - Organic Farm And Bed And Breakfast
La Via Verde - Organic Farm Hotel Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing