We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eileen is amazing!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Ometepe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Eileen is amazing!!!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

It’s unusual to write a review of a place where one has not stayed, but I need to give the highest recommendation to Eileen from Via Verde. Our family made a reservation to stay at Via Verde months ago--because of Trip Advisor’s top recommendation- but because of a glitch in the reservation system, our reservation was misplaced. When we discovered this, Eileen worked tirelessly to help us remedy the situation. Unfortunately, she no longer had space at her jewel of a place, but she made us a reservation at a nearby place--more costly than hers, and is paying the difference. She has also helped us map out our complete trip--securing us drivers from and to all our locations, setting up tours for us, and doing EVERYTHING to make this a special trip. She has even given us her telephone numbers if we need anything while we travel in the country. I have traveled a lot in my life, and have never met anyone so kind, generous of spirit, and helpful. I regret that we are not staying with her, but I know we will be back to Nicaragua, and hope to meet her at a future time. You will not be disappointed with Eileen and Via Verde. She is exceptional!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoshikw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
122
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed three days at La Vie Verde. It is a special place. The accommodation is very well designed with a small comfortable room and expansive outdoor space looking out to Lake Nicaragua in one direction and with a stunning view of the Concepcion volcano in the other. The light and clouds on the volcano are ever changing and it is mesmerizing to watch. Everything works so well too with early morning coffee, a great breakfast and the option of dinner delivered from Café Campestre if the day’s activities have been strenuous. Eileen is a gem. She happily shares her knowledge of a changing Ometepe and is a low key, efficient organizer of tours, transportation and meals. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Our stay at Via Verde couldn't have been better, and was truly the highlight of our 2 week trip in Nicaragua. The rooms are lovely and we were so well taken care of before and during our time on Isla Ometepe. The food was delicious (homemade jam!), the balconies with views of the volcano were swoon-inducing, and Eileen even arranged a totally unique and meaningful tour for us with a local beekeeper. Her recommendations were spot-on, and we also ended up loving the other couple staying there as well, a great perk of traveling. This is a special spot!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeekSunUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

la Via Verde, Eileen and Darren's serene and beautiful spot on Isla Ometepe set a stage for a very tough act to follow. I think that hosts can play such an essential role in how their visitors experience the culture and beauty of the country they are visiting and Eileen and Darren were so warm, welcoming and so loving of the beauty and culture of Ometepe itself that we could not help but fall in love with it ourselves. We were exhausted from almost 24 hours of travelling and did not arrive until about 7. Since the only food I had eaten that day was a bag of chili peanuts bought on the ferry, I could have kissed
Eileen when she told us she would order food in for us from Camp Campestre down the road. I could recognize the food as being delicious even through my haze of travel fatigue! We were given a very thorough tour of our beautiful bungalow which was decorated with colored lights and had an amazing view of the volcano right from the open air window. In fact, there were so many well thought and caring touches to the bungalow from the hammock outside the door to the sunscreen and bug spray provided for us. And then there was the breakfast! I just wonder how Darren remains so slim from the delicious cooking! Ah, and the coffee must be mentioned. Eileen roasts it herself and I would have about 4 cups a day - much more than I would ever drink. There is a lot to do and explore in Ometepe and we really wished we had spent more time there as it was more to our liking and our pace than San Juan Del Sur. I cannot recommend LA Via Verde more highly. It is a beautiful property with gorgeous views of Conceptioñ and hosts who care deeply about the experience of their guests and who, most importantly, came to the island because they loved it themselves.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I must be honest, we have not yet traveled to Ometepe. I fully anticipate writing another glowing review when we do!
I just want to say that Eileen has been INCREDIBLY helpful in making plans for our stay on the island. She is far and away the most friendly, professional, and helpful person with whom I've spoken/emailed during the planning of our Feb 2014 trip to Nicaragua!!
I understand and concur with the Excellent rating of this property solely based on "customer service" and am more than excited to visit!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeEncantaTravel445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent three nights here in December 2013, and never wanted to leave! The B&B is two main rooms on the second floor of a small house. The rooms are simple and lovely, with a wonderful breeze and the sound of birds--which makes you feel like you are living in the trees. Each room has a private balcony with hammock and rocking chairs. The common area shared between the two rooms has a breathtaking view of the volcano. I was nervous about sharing the bathroom with other people, but this was not an issue at all. Eileen even has bug spray, sun screen, and beach towels out in the bathroom for you to use!

Eileen is the most amazing host that we have ever had. She gave us tupperware to package our lunch in for our hike up the volcano; she thought that the way the restaurant tended to pack lunches was too prone to leak. There is a binder full of fliers and other activities for the island, which is a great way to get activity ideas. When our hike up the volcano ran into the early evening hours, Eileen even called our guide to see what we wanted her to order in for us for dinner. The next day, she arranged for us to go horse-back riding; and, when we decided to skip a night in Rivas and head directly to Granada, she called a B&B in Granada and booked us a room.

We would enthusiastically recommend Eileen's B&B to anyone and everyone!. From the delicious breakfasts to the elegant rooms to the detailed assist in planning activities, this is truly a perfect place to stay!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah451985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland WI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We so enjoyed our stay here. Eileen is wonderful and so helpful. She was waiting at the gate when we called to ask directions. We were so tired and the rooms were on the second story with balconies and cool breezes. THere was plenty of cold beer and coke and rum in the refrigerator. Eileen helped us find an english speaking guide for a walk up the volcano. She also arranged a kayak trip up the estuary at sunset ( a must) , bike rides, and the walk to the waterfall, another great thing to do, THe hotel is very clean and nice. The breakfasts are wonderful. Lots of good organic food. My only caution was about the car rental place recommended on the website. we rented from Armadillo and the man accused us of stealing a tire. We had to pay a $1000 deposit so we couldn't protest. I highly recommend avoiding this guy and renting from a reputable company.

Room Tip: Both rooms are on the second floor and have a good breeze which is essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 43 in Isla de Ometepe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
3.9 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.3 mi away
Selvista Guesthouses
Selvista Guesthouses
#3 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B

Property: La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
Address: Between Santa Cruz & Balgue | Between Santa Cruz & Balgue, Isla de Ometepe 48800, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ometepe, offers amazing nature, a chance to step back into a simple, slower way of life & charming friendly inhabitants who can teach us all something about being happy with less. As Americans who love living here (since 2004) we hope to provide a bridge of understanding & connection for you into the culture & life of this very special place. We would love to help you plan & organize a trip that will align with your interests & optimize your experience. Located on our organic farm La Via Verde is a cozy, intimate B&B with only 2 bedrooms on our second story. Up in the trees the wrap around verandas have great views of Volcan Concepcion, sunrise and sunset. Rooms have private balconies, queen bed, ceiling fan and are screened. There are 2 shared baths with flush toilets and limited hot water showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Via Verde - Organic Farm And Bed And Breakfast
La Via Verde - Organic Farm Hotel Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing