We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing and special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My mom and I spent 3 nights at Eileen and Darren's wonderful b&b / organic farm. Eileen went way above and beyond to help us with all sorts of logistics, from figuring out and coordinating transport to and from Via Verde to organizing great adventures, including kayaking in Rio Istiam (highly recommend) and hiking to a gorgeous volcano lookout (also highly recommend). The entire place was spotless- she kept both the bedrooms and bathrooms incredibly clean. The upstairs rooms also come w/ gorgeous private patios w/ rocking chairs and hammocks- great places to wake up and watch the birds and curl up with a book in the afternoon after some activities. The breakfasts are also very yummy and fresh, with all local high quality ingredients. I absolutely loved the vanilla yogurt with granola and jams -- all homemade, and loved the banana crepes too. The coffee is also right from the farm and you can smell Eileen and Darren roasting the beans, which is a real treat. All in all, this is a special/ unique place to stay, in large part due to both the gorgeous location w/ stunning volcano views and the very generous hospitality from Eileen and Darren. I'd recommend at least 3 nights -- ideally 4. Also if you happen to be choosing between staying in Moyogalpa close to the port or further away, I'd recommend you go further away b/c a lot of the peacefulness and beauty lies 30 min- 1 hour drive from the port. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveLatinAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 206 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in this SUPER CLEAN, nicely appointed B&B. The view from the terrace is unreal, right through the jungle to Volcan Concepcion. They were able to set me up with a guide to hike the volcano and an honest guy to rent a motorbike from. They're also very knowledgeable about the area and can recommend restaurants, beaches, etc. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineMan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

La Via Verde was definitely a highlight of our 10 day trip to Nicaragua. The B&B is clean and comfortable, and the food and views are amazing. Eileen and Darren are friendly and knowledgeable, and helped arrange a private guide to take us up Concepcion. We can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask for advice about activities, places to eat, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svnoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

What could be better than a bed & breakfast in the jungle on an island looking perfectly up at a volcano?! You will never have a more fresh, delicious breakfast or one that anyone has put more thought into its preparation. Eileen was a wealth of knowledge and proved helpful in helping us arrange safe, reliable, and trustworthy transportation throughout Nicaragua. She also provided ideas for tours and activities and helped line up reliable guides up for us. We biked, kayaked, hiked a volcano, hiked to a waterfall, hit the beach, and swam in the natural springs in just our 3 days on Ometepe Island. Did I mention the unbelievable breakfasts and volcano view?!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldenBlue3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

La Via Verde is a truly wonderful B&B in a lovely part of Ometepe. The location is incredible with unbelievable views of Concepción. Eileen and Darren are very friendly and helpful hosts who are happy to arrange taxi transfers and organise guides for hikes and other trips. We had a magical sunset kayak trip. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious with many homemade and local products. There are a number of good places to eat within easy walking distance but just make sure you bring a torch!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jools3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

2 nights on Ometepe is not enough. So we will be back to La Via Verde on our next central american visit. We showed up rather ill prepared and Eileen had already taken care of details that I hadn't even thought of yet. (ordered us lunch for our hike, told our guide what time to arrive, etc.) The balcony on our room was so cute. They have thought of lots of little details that makes your stay here special. We were here on our honeymoon and the shared bathroom wasn't a problem at all. It was very clean and we felt like it was our own private bathroom. Only advice: bring rubber boots or buy some in town if you are hiking the Maderas volcano during rainy season!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agentiluomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is the best B&B that I have ever stayed at. This place is very clean, with immaculate and very comfortable rooms. The views of the Concepcion Volcano from the common area of the house are spectacular, at times I could not believe my eyes. Eileen and Darren are really nice people and talking to them is a pleasure. Furthermore, they are very resourceful and can help you plan your trip in Ometepe and the rest of Nicaragua. When I was staying there, they arranged for a scooter to be delivered to the farm for me (one of the best ways to explore the island). They also arranged the taxi transport from the Moyogalpa port to their farm and for me to be picked up at the farm to go horseback riding. All of their help makes your stay at Ometepe be a relaxing and worry free one.The breakfasts are AMAZING! Eileen and Darren prepare everything from scratch with local ingredients and from their farm. The food tasted so fresh and it was very delicious, with very generous proportions. The pancakes are literally the best that I have ever eaten (Eileen was very kind to share their recipe with me). The location of this place is also an excellent one. It is close to Ojo de Agua, Santo Domingo Beach and the best restaurant in Ometepe, cafe campestre. In addition, the best place to rent bikes in the whole island is less than five minutes away from the farm. Also within walking distance is a place where you can rent horses for the hour. I cannot say enough positive things about this place, I highly recommend this B&B. I am looking forward to my next visit to La Via Verde.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bumserdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
1.9 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
381 reviews
4 mi away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Hotel Finca del Sol
Hotel Finca del Sol
#1 of 4 in Santa Cruz
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 8 in Altagracia
327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 8 in Balgue
372 reviews
4 mi away
Finca Mystica
Finca Mystica
#1 of 71 in Isla de Ometepe
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B

Address: Between Santa Cruz & Balgue | Between Santa Cruz & Balgue, Isla de Ometepe 48800, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range: $51 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ometepe, offers amazing nature, a chance to step back into a simple, slower way of life & charming friendly inhabitants who can teach us all something about being happy with less. As Americans who love living here (since 2004) we hope to provide a bridge of understanding & connection for you into the culture & life of this very special place. We would love to help you plan & organize a trip that will align with your interests & optimize your experience. Located on our organic farm La Via Verde is a cozy, intimate B&B with only 2 bedrooms on our second story. Up in the trees the wrap around verandas have great views of Volcan Concepcion, sunrise and sunset. Rooms have private balconies, queen bed, ceiling fan and are screened. There are 2 shared baths with flush toilets and limited hot water showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Via Verde - Organic Farm And Bed And Breakfast
La Via Verde - Organic Farm Hotel Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing