We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Merida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Ometepe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Merida
Santo Domingo de Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

O.K., if you are not the type who seeks adventure, Ometepe Island is not for you. The beauty of Ometepe is branched by friendly locals, spectacular views peace you can breathe. There may be other places where tourists could stay in Ometepe but Hacienda Merida is closer to places of interest like Ojo de Agua or the waterfalls. Kayaking is a must while at the Hacienda and if staying for several days, there is only one charge of 10 dollars but you can use them for as long as you want and as many times the kayaks are available. While getting to this place is totally out of the ordinary, time does not seem to be an issue there. Life in Ometepe is very laidback, particularly where Hacienda Merida is located. It is said that this is a copless town though anyone would be hardpressed to find any policemen at all on the entire Island. Roberies in Ometepe are unheard of and locals in general are vey friendly. Young tourists backpackers are found everywhere on the Island and seem to be more sophisticated than most senior tourists visiting this Island. Locals are most often scourned by those senior tourists's arrogance, expecting first class service but paying only 10% of what they would pay if they stayed elsewhere, yet one can always see Ometepians with an open smile and willing to assist anyway they can. Hacienda Merida has diverse mission programs to assist locals (a big plus). Their rooms are O.K. and their prices are just right. Food and drinks are extremely cheap though. We were six and for two nights we only paid 300 dollars with meals included. Oh, and something else, while there is no hot water, for some strange reason, you feel rejuvinated after several seconds on the shower (mind this was not claimed by the management but we all left with energies to spare for the remainder of our vacation, the closeness to the volcano perhaps). I higly recomend renting the Mahindra Scorpio 4x4 to explore the Island, we could not have had more fun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    67
    44
    25
    13
See reviews for
17
86
63
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Apart from the hassle that is getting there, because of the rough rocky dirt roads, I have no complaints about Hacienda Merida. We took a week family vacation and spent Christmas there in 2011. The stay was pleasant, the place is so beautiful because of all the nature around - it's right by the lake. The rooms were very simple but clean, and the food was consistently good and very affordable. The staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are definitely worth paying a little bit more, because they are roomier and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was disappointed with my stay at Hacienda Merida. Here is a couple observations about my stay. There commons area, feels a bit like a cafeteria. It doesn't feel very relaxing. The private dorm area, is just messy. There are boxes, broken chairs and tables, and other junk in what was probably designed to be a hang out area. It just seemed like they turned my dorms commons area into a storage place. It is very far away from other things, which means that you have little option for food/bike rental etc. I also didn't feel like the staff was very warm. Finally, in this is not their fault, but the road to Hacienda Merida is one of the worst I have ever seen. Our bus broke down on the way there, and since it is the only one that goes to that side of the island, we did not have service the next day.

I thought the food was very good. The view is impressive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucasSalzwedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed in Hacienda Merida for almost a month... On the lake with beautiful sunsets. From there you can go to great kayak tours to see monkeys and birds.
The room was nice and clean, the food was great, and the wifi was the best in Nicaragua. But what really makes this place special is the staff! They are awesome!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina, Nicaragua
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This place has a great location if you don't mind making the long trip down the island. You can take a 3 hour ride on the chicken bus or pay $35 for a taxi. The room was nice and spacious however more expensive than other places close by. My big complaint is about the owner. He is egotistical and condescending. He doesn't treat his employees with respect and as a result there is a real sense of low morale. I prefer not to support people like this. Also they walk through the halls and ring a bell every morning at 7am to signal breakfast. This is ridiculous and made me feel like I was in a boarding school. Don't give your money to this guy. I later stayed at a place nearby called Caballitos Mar. It's run by a respectful man and his family. I wish I had been there the whole time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTL519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guerneville, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed for three nights. Very Scenic, right on the lake. The room was clean and the food basic. Never had the group buffet as there were not enough people during my stay. Darwin acted as my guide for two days, he speaks English and was extremely courteous. I enjoyed both days with him and highly recommend his services. First day we went 1/2 way up Maderas, and kayaking on the Rio later in the afternoon. Next day he showed me the Ojo de Agua, we walked a short trail in old growth forest and visited the petroglyphs. I wish I had the time to go to the water fall. Perhaps next time. Good place to see the Maderas side of the Isla.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOUNTAINLUPINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I rated this as average as I have very mixed feelings about this place. The location is beautiful but very difficult to get to. The owner advertises throughout Nicaragua purposely using brochures in English but be aware that the staff only speak Spanish, which is totally acceptable but I felt the advertisements were misleading. He also tried to charge a higher price than listed in the brochure until I pointed it out to him. He even made a comment about not liking "penny pinching backpackers" which made me wonder who does he think is traveling to this remote island? I read an earlier review of him after I stayed here that stated his father was a general for the Somozas, if this is the case it is not at all surprising. This man LOVES to hear the sound of his own voice and speaks very negatively about Nicaragua as a country which is not something I encountered with any other locals. While the surroundings were beautiful I would not stay here again as I prefer to support people who are positive about their own country and treat their staff with respect.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
4.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
3.6 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 4 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 37 in Isla de Ometepe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 5 in Altagracia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
3.7 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
4.7 mi away
Selvista Guesthouses
Selvista Guesthouses
#3 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Merida

Property: Hacienda Merida
Address: Merida | Rivas, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Ometepe
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formed by two volcanoes rising in the middle of the lake Nicaragua, Ometepe Island is a true paradise that offers visitors a unique and fantastic experience. We welcome you with spectacular sunsets, various outdoor activities, untouched wildlife, beautiful views of both volcanoes, hotel dock, direct access to lake Nicaragua and to highspeed internet. it is the perfect place for a calm yet thrilling and definately unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda Merida Hotel Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing