We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot but expensive!”
Review of Hacienda Merida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Nice place by the lake,door rooms were average,there are much cheaper and nicer rooms right next door..

Had a very western feel,not Nicaraguan at all..

If you want a authentic experience look next door.

hourly rental rates much higher than others in the villiage..



  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiefsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 255 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

After hiking the San Ramon waterfall, we went to Hacienda Merida for lunch. The hotel/restaurant was very quiet with just a few guests wandering in and out of the open walled room, with views of the lake and access to various amenities around the property. I ordered the BBQ chicken sandwich on stone-ground brown bread. It was DELICIOUS. The bread was soft and aromatic, with a tad of sweetness and the BBQ was tangy, spicy, and sweet, the combination was amazing. The BBQ was peppered with shredded carrots and sauteed onions, just divine. I was in heaven, and not just because I was ravenous! I also had a mango juice, it was sweet and thick, the mangos just right. It was a pleasant afternoon.

We got a tour of the kitchen from the owner and it was spotless.

The Hacienda is near a kayaking place, the petroglyphs, and San Ramon... ask someone to show you how to get there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Ometepe is quite incredible by it’s self and should definitively be on the traveler rout while in Nicaragua. The room that we had was quite confortable, very simple all made of wood. The bed are confortable and come with mosquito net and two big fan. The wall of the room are very thin and you can hear everything from the adjacent room. The bathroom had a weird color, it remind me of the interior of a strumf house. The brakfast is quite nice, typical Nicaraguan food, gallopinto and eggs. I also recommend that you take the kayak tour to the swamp and see the incredible nature.

Room Tip: Second floor room with terrace and view on the lake are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodolfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I spent some time resting in Hacienda Merida. The place has a very good food for the Nicaraguan standards. Home made ice creams and vegeterian burger were delicious. Apart from this you can rent a bike and see the isle. It is a bit remote, but if you look for silence and beautiful landscape it is worth visiting.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This was one of my favorite places to stay in Nicaragua! The owner was very friendly and knowledgeable of the region, and gave us easy directions to some of the highlights of my trip: a hike to a spectacular waterfall, a day-long kayak trip down the coast of the island to an amazing marsh, and a short kayak to two tiny islands with resident monkeys. The sunsets were beautiful, and the temperature was perfect on this side of the island (not so on the other side, where I sweated through the first night). Our room was gorgeous with fantastic views. Electricity is temperamental on the whole island, but that's just part of the adventure! I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs have a beautiful view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

It's disappointing to see so many negative reviews of such a great place! It definitely has its pros and cons but for us this was the best place we stay at in all of Nicaragua! Depending on what you're looking for this can be paradise!

The pros: Great food, beautiful rooms, luxury for a cheap price, off-the-beaten-path, lots of interesting people to meet, great base for all the beautiful hiking/kayaking/bicycling, right on the lake, beautiful sunsets, and they are involved in community work.

The cons: The walls are thin, so there isn't much privacy, but find me a place in the same price range with thicker walls! its also definitely off the beaten path. For us this was a plus, but its far from the ferry drop offs and not in one of the more developed parts of the island. If you are there for the hiking, its a perfect location but if you prefer to be in a town, this is not the place for you. Our biggest complaint was the service. The young men who run the place are great but no one else there seemed very happy about working there. If you expect to always get service with a smile you'll probably be disappointed here. There is room for improvement here.

Overall, if you are going to Ometepe for an adventure packed vacation, this is the spot! Everything you need is here and it really feels luxurious for the price. If you aren't the adventurous type, you might look elsewhere, but Ometepe isn't really the place to lay on the beach if that's what you're looking for.

MORE INFO:
The food: There's a menu of really yummy healthy food available all day whenever you want it (but as per nica service expect to wait awhile). And there's also an all you can eat buffet at breakfast and dinner. The buffets are a great way to meet other guests and share stories about your adventures. And the food is really good. We didn't realize how good we had it but It turned out to be the best food we found in Nicaragua and you don't have to go anywhere to get it. (but it is true, show up on time or you might not get "all you can eat")

Location: Its on the south side of the eastern volcano, so its farther from the towns where the ferries drop off at, but its on the right side of the island if you want to hike Maderas Volcano or hike to San Ramon Waterfall. You hike to the volcano from the hotel and the entrance to the waterfall hike is only 20 minutes by bike. It would take 1-2 hours by bus from the other end of the island! Its right on the lake so you can jump in for a swim to cool off whenever you want, or just sit in a hammock and enjoy the view! Gorgeous sunsets every night we were there! You can rent bikes and kayaks which is really convenient!

The rooms: We recommend an upstairs room and request to have one with a view of the lake (ours didn't but was still nice). The downstairs rooms are smaller and feel much less private. They do have dorm options too if you are on a budget. This isn't a five star hotel but everything is clean, comfortable and has everything you need.

It is run by locals (not sure who owns it) and is really involved in the local community. There were english classes held there everyday for local kids and they were in the process of building a school on the property while we were there. They also do local recycling projects too. Its nice to be able to feel good about where you're staying!

Room Tip: Spend the extra $10 to get an upstairs room! Bigger, more private and better views! But ask for a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenChili_Gone_Wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I loved this place. Very tranquil, by the lake, with a nice dock to swim off. Hammocks to lie in, kayaks to rent (do it!), walks to do in the area (do them!). Staff are VERY friendly and helpful. One of those places you could easily get stuck at, just coz it's so peaceful and chilled out. Ate most of our meals there, all were excellent - but you can also walk to a few other places in the area

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
3.6 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 7 in Santa Cruz
398 reviews
0.9 mi away
Finca Mystica
Finca Mystica
#1 of 67 in Isla de Ometepe
329 reviews
4.3 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hostal Tecali
Hostal Tecali
#2 of 7 in Santa Cruz
9 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hostel Lazy Crab
Hostel Lazy Crab
#3 of 3 in Balgue
107 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Urraca Loca Hostel
La Urraca Loca Hostel
#1 of 3 in Balgue
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Merida

Address: Merida, Maderas Volcano | Ometepe Island, Rivas, Isla de Ometepe 21, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range: $17 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formed by two volcanoes rising in the middle of the lake Nicaragua, Ometepe Island is a true paradise that offers visitors a unique and fantastic experience. We welcome you with spectacular sunsets, various outdoor activities, untouched wildlife, beautiful views of both volcanoes, hotel dock, direct access to lake Nicaragua and to highspeed internet. Hacienda Merida is the perfect place for a calm yet thrilling and definitely unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Merida Hotel Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing