We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Hacienda Merida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We had a great stay here. Yes, there are many rules posted, but none of them are out of line and most are for your own safety. It's located right on the lake, so the view is perfect, and swimming and kayaking are very convenient. We found everyone to be very helpful, and the owner was friendly and seemed to chat with everyone. Breakfast and dinner were ample and delicious.
Also, there are free computers for anyone to use so I'm not sure why someone says they were charged for wifi.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p4tr1ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    72
    44
    25
    13
See reviews for
19
91
66
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We went here as we wanted to climb Volcan Maderas and do some canoeing. When we arrived we were greeted by a grumpy woman... who doesn’t like tourists? Indeed, NOT friendly at all! As the private rooms were all fully booked (lucky escape?), we were offered dorm beds in a 6 and 10 bedroom dorm. What a shock, only looking at the dorm (for 6) made me feel claustrophobic...and it looked completely run down... & for US$ 6.00 EACH! Definitely not the place where I would like to spend my holidays. Shame really as the location is great, with beautiful views on to the lake. Anyway, we went next door to Rancho Merida, where we had a small private room (you could hear next door’s fan though) for US$5.00 each. The people there were very friendly and helpful and the food in the evening was good. They also had some great hammocks in the garden! Unfortunately next morning, the telly was on full volume (playing children’s cartoons) in the restaurant area, so we decided to go back to Hacienda Merida for breakfast, which was very tasty. Obviously we did not see the private rooms and stay the night, so our rating is purely based on what we saw and experienced, when we checked it out.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicaFan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Disappointing, run-down with a down-at heel atmosphere. Decent value for money but in need of a major facelift. And the notices telling guests what to do and what not to do would make even London Transport blush!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This hostel is beautifully situated. The breakfast and dinners they have are amazing. Although, do not expect to have seconds when you order a buffet! Do expect to wait an hour for a beer or a drink. We wanted to was our clothes while we were there. After 2 days they were still not ready. We were leaving that day so we kept asking them if they could possibly put a fan on them or iron them. No one listened to us. We left there with completely wet clothes in our backpacks. It was not a great experience. The only reason to stay here would be for the nice tasting food.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandBontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, MD
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

The place does all sorts of humanitarian stuff for the island. Try to negotiate a better rate for low season though and you will get a whole speech about it. They even charge $4 for the wifi eventhough its free everywhere else I went. I would have preferred *voluntary* donations.
I would stay away from the expensive private rooms on the top floor because the walls dont go to the ceiling so bugs are a constant nuisance. They charge hotel prices for those rooms eventhough its more like a camping in a hut.
The food is actually very good despite a rather limited menu. That helps a lot since its a hassle going to other places.
Theft is also a problem there, so be careful with your stuff.
Despite some issues with the rooms, the place is fun to hangout in and you meet lots of people.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtrachtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

At first I thought the place was heaven - a little bit of a trek to get to, but worth it to have such good views of the lake and proximity to a range of activities. (hiking to waterfall, up a volcano, horseriding, kayaking etc..)

Then I checked in... the first thing I had to do was read the hotel rules, it wouldn't have been so bad if there were only those couple (no drugs, and be quiet at night) but there were signs all over the place telling you of numerous things you cannot do, or stongly advising you not to do. It felt a bit like being lectured by my parents.

You are asked to be silent (not just quiet) after 10pm. maybe going to bed early is a good thing - the bell for the breakfast buffet at 7am serves as a wake up call for everyone, and the on-site school at 8am meant going back to sleep wasn't an option and the hostel wasn't as peaceful as I'd hoped.

The food is ok, but can be slow, and orders sometomes went to the wrong person especially when people had similar names. As others have said, check your bill carefully at the end of your stay for all services, not just food.

the rooms are basic, but fairly spacious, clean enough and have good fans. there is a big gap between the wall and roof, so there are also quite a few bugs. If, like me, you get eaten a lot it is worth bringing a mosquito net - theirs had holes in it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhNoTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

The place has an endless amount of rules which takes away from you being able to enjoy your vacation. The owner is very arrogant and thinks he is a know it all. It is hard to get away from his opinions since he is always around. He also does not treat the staff with very much respect. If you know Spanish the staff is very friendly. Some are school aged children since it is cheaper labor. The location is good but out of principle I would never suggest staying here. It is also a very expensive place in regards to the surrounding area. Finally, the owner acts as if he does a lot for the community, however, this is not true. Just ask the locals.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrismc45543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
4.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
403 reviews
3.6 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 6 in Santa Cruz
384 reviews
6.5 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
La Urraca Loca Hostel
La Urraca Loca Hostel
#2 of 2 in Balgue
10 reviews
3.7 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Omaja
Hotel La Omaja
#1 of 4 in Merida
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Merida

Property: Hacienda Merida
Address: Merida, Maderas Volcano | Ometepe Island, Rivas, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formed by two volcanoes rising in the middle of the lake Nicaragua, Ometepe Island is a true paradise that offers visitors a unique and fantastic experience. We welcome you with spectacular sunsets, various outdoor activities, untouched wildlife, beautiful views of both volcanoes, hotel dock, direct access to lake Nicaragua and to highspeed internet. it is the perfect place for a calm yet thrilling and definately unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Merida Hotel Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing