We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real experience”
Review of Iguidi Tours

Iguidi Tours
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real experience”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We emailed Abdoul and made our booking, he obviously put a lot of effort into replying to us in English. When we managed to drive to the end of M'hamid (through other offers of treks) we were greeted by Abdoul and his colleague. Abdoul made this trip for us he was ultra laid back and made us feel at ease straight away knowing we were in good hands. A real desert experience without creature comforts... just what we wanted! Thank you Abdoul, we wished we could have travelled to Timbuktu with you!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sdfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An unique experience”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We arrived in Mhamid late in the afternoon. Abdul picked us up at the end of the village and escorted us to the camp. The guys served us tea and made us dinner in a couple of hours. Later we slept as babies and woke up early for our desert adventure. Three camels, two guides and three of us did 4 days of trekking in the desert. We covered 80 km and had sun, wind and rain during our trip (mostly sun though). Not much to complain about - we had an amazing time.

It might be worth knowing that the meals are a bit to far apart (breakfast at 7 am, lunch at 3 pm and dinner at 10 pm), so bring some snack.

They only had 15 liters of water for 4 days for the three of us - so make sure to either have them bring more or bring your own clorine tablets (we luckily did).

Might be a good idea to have your own toilet paper - they didn't bring enough ;) and a package of wet wipes.

Bring a book to read and cards or other games to play, as lunch breaks are 3-4 hours long and evenings can get a bit long (we had cards with us and loved playing in the moon light while guys were playing music and making dinner).

The guides were amazing - the food was tasty and we felt safe all along. They did pretty much everything for us and were polite although they English wasn't the best.

Remember to bring sunscreen and a turban to protect you from the sun. It gets chilly in the evenings so a warm woolen sweater and a jacket is good to have. Sleeping bags for around zero degrees are recommended since the tents were in bad shape (you might want to bring your own if possible).

All in all, an amazing trip that we will never forget. Sunsets, the jokes, the crazy camels, the two guides, all the sand dunes, the food, the cold, the heat, the wind, the silence ... it will all stay with us for ever....

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DS1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrara, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

If you are looking for a truly desert experience, this is a really good choice!!
We'll arrive straight from Marrakech with a grand taxi (is it possible to take a CTM bus, btw) and It was love at the first sight: the place is about 1 mile far from m'hamid town; there is a main building with 4-5 double rooms, a nice living-room where you can rest, chat or eat something. The rooms are simple, but clean and charming, and the bathroom (hot shower) is almost 500m far from the house. We spent the evening around a fire, eating and chatting with abdul, mohamed and their family. They are saharawi and they built the houses in 2004. The food was delicious (tajine, salad, fruits and more) and the company too. We slept well into a perfect silence and peace.
In the morning we went into the desert with mohamed and another young guy riding jamals (camels). It was a really spectacular experience, they known desert very well and we felt alway safe and confident. We spent a night in a tent (if you are planning a trip during winter I'll strongly raccomand you a sleeping bed) in a wonderful place and we enjoy a lot all natural beauties.
I would love to be back in a future for a longer trekking with the same guides!

Strongly raccomanded if you desire to get the real essence of desert.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sofia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Just desert”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

On your drive to M'Hamid, dont believe any touts who may flag you down to say they've been sent to meet you . Iguidi Tours have lost alot of custom to the touts working this road. Just keep driving till you hit that last town, the road turns into desert and you'l know your in the right place. Their office is one of the last buildings before the desert and there should be plenty of people around to point you in the right direction.

The guys working there are really friendly, polite and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The house is about a miles drive into the desert and is single story with a large rooved courtyard opening onto the desert.
There's a large main room and bedrooms - with enough space to accomodate up to about 16 people. If your in a smaller group you may end up sharing the house with other travellers.
Toilet and shower block is about 200 yards from the house. The toilets are both the western style and squat n' drops.

Be prepared to live with the fact your going to have sand in everything for the duration of your stay - we were there the week before Easter and it co-incided with something called the week of winds - pretty much self explanitory....Luckily we arrived on the last day otherwise we wouldnt of seen much of the desert. It was a bit freaky following a random guy on a moped into the desert in a dust storm.
Also be prepared to negotiate on price. We got food included with our accomodation for a pretty reasonable price per person per day.
Excursions are extra and vary in price depending on what you want to do and for how long but again they're open to negotiations and you'l get a fair deal either way.

The food was amazing and the guides kept us entertained with some awesome singing and music.
Igudi may not be the biggest tour company but they will keep you safe and make you feel propperly welcome. If you want a truly unique experience these guys are well worth travelling those extra few miles to find.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank scummbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iguidi Tours also viewed

Zagora, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
Zagora, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 
Zagora, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
Zagora, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 

Been to Iguidi Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing