We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcome swimming pool!”
Review of Hotel la Palmeraie

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zagora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel la Palmeraie
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Zagora
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at the Palmeraie using it as a base to go further south for a camel safari/Bedouin camp experience. The hotel is extremely pleasant and the staff kind, considerate and accommodating. They were lovely to my children and went out of there way to check that i was ok as a woman travelling alone with children.

The rooms whilst basic, were a decent size (we had a triple), secure and good value for money. Travelling at the height of summer it was very hot and unfortunately the air conditioning broke down one night. In an attempt to get some air movement through the room we opened the windows, promptly fell asleep and woke up to half the Sahara covering us from head to toe and all things in the room! It was promptly repaired on request the next morning though.

The hotel in general was clean and the food alright but nothing special. The high light of this hotel for us was the pool. Again, the pool area was clean and had plenty of sun loungers. Travelling when we did we moreorless had the hotel and pool to ourselves, so it was pleasantly quiet and a nice respite from all the hubbub outside! The cool pool water was most welcome too!

The hotel is in a good location on the main road through Zagora, but not too noisy. The CTM bus station is only a few minutes away and there are plenty of grand taxis available for trips further afield. We used the company caravane Hamada Draa (www.hamadadraa.com) for our camel safari. The guides speak English and were really good with the kids. The safari was one of the highlights of the trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 39 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel doesn't look very encouraging from the outside, but it's surprisingly good for this price (especially if you compare it to the hotels in other parts in Morocco, which for this price guarantee a lot less). Rooms are nicely arranged, they have AC and very clean bathrooms. It's one of the best budget hotels in Morocco we slept in. I won't hesitate to write that it's the best choice in Zagora for this range of prices. And additionally, the restaurant manager is super-nice guy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartaM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Another nice, clean, value hotel in Southern Morocco. 400Dh double inc buffet breakfast (extra choc croissants for me!) and dinner (a bit flavourless). Our room overlooked the pool which due to some guests was a bit noisy at night. The communal room was also noisy with the TV on, but we still got a decent sleep. The pool area was nice but I recommend checking the pool is clean before diving in (something I only became aware of the next day). For the price, good for a night.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Kym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I looked at another similarly priced hotel in Zagora. I was so glad that I declined it and pressed on to La Palmeraie where I had a good welcome and a nice, quiet, inward-facing en-suite room with aircon for just 110 Dirhams (breakfast extra). I stayed three nights.

Friendly helpful receptionist and waiters.

Comfortable sitting areas.

Sunny terraces overlooking a good-sized pool.

Two minutes walk from the CTM bus station.

Ten minutes walk from the grand-taxi station

A few kilometres by petit taxi from the gare routiere.

Bad point: If you want to sit inside (because of cool weather or a desire for a lounge chair) it is difficult to get away from the noise of the communal TV.

Tip: After your inevitable trek to Chigaga in the desert, make sure you visit the Zaouia and lovely palmery in Tamegroute. (15 Dirhams by grand taxi.)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

we didn't really know what to expect with ' la palmeraie ' , we noticed that it wasn't recommended any more in the new edition of the lonely planet guide book and we wondered why ....we knew it was an older hotel and it didn't look like much from the outside but it was actually just fine and turned out to be great value ! we paid a little over $ 20 for a double room with A / C , television and our own bathroom with plenty of hot water.
what 's more ,the pool area was very pleasant and a great place to relax during the afternoon heat .
the hotel is also very well located , next to the ' timbuctu ' sign and the CTM bus station.
again,it's not luxury but nonetheless great value for money !

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mexicanbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

La Palmeraie is an excelent hotel considering the price and the service. The rooms are ample, well decorated and the breakfast is included with a low price.
It's also well cleaned and the staff helps you to find services or informations.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
Thank TiagoS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Initial thoughts of the room were not good - it was sparse and smelled a bit of stale cigarette smoke. However, after an hour of air circulation all was much better. The welcome was encouraging, the shower was great, the staff and food even better. A lovely pool was available if required. We stayed the night before a desert trip - it would have been better after the desert trip where a welcome dip would sooth those camel ride aches. Good nights sleep with the aircon too.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaCob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagora hotels
2.5 mi away
La Perle du Draa
La Perle du Draa
#8 of 13 in Zagora
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ksar Tinsouline
Ksar Tinsouline
#7 of 13 in Zagora
54 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kasbah Sirocco
Kasbah Sirocco
#2 of 13 in Zagora
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Riad Lamane
Riad Lamane
#3 of 13 in Zagora
239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tabarkat
Hotel Tabarkat
#1 of 13 in Zagora
100 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palais Asmaa
Palais Asmaa
#9 of 13 in Zagora
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Palmeraie

Address: Avenue Mohammed V, Zagora 47900, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Zagora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Zagora
Number of rooms: 272

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing