We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a good place, but they could do better”
Review of Riad Lamane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Lamane
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Zagora
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent a night here, escaping the 47C sun!

The place is promising, but could do so much better - the pool was a little dirty, the pool chairs were accessed by climbing over a low fence, and again, weren't that clean.

The room was good (suite), but the bathroom was a bit rough and ready, the taps didn't match up and the design was a bit odd - difficult to not flood the bathroom when showering.

The cafe/bar wasn't always staffed, and there was no easy way to locate someone.

The restaurant food was good, but the menu didn't have prices, so we thought it was a set menu (ie one price, for 3 courses) and it wasn't - bill on leaving was itemised! The staff were a bit abrupt.

Is it a good hotel - yes. But it was the worst of 9 we stayed in on our trip, easily.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 240 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

Riad La Mane is more of a resort than a riad. Actually, it has the perfect combination of a resort, a riad, a hotel, and a nature preserve all in one.

We were lucky enough to be put here by our tour agency and were so extremely glad we chose this over the option of camping in a tent elsewhere.

The riad is built within a palm grove and instead of building over nature, it has built around it instead. Upon entering the riad, you feel like you're in an oasis, walking down man-made pathways but still surrounded by palm trees and the sounds of birds.

The riad consists of individual domed clay buildings looking almost like huts. As long as you're double occupancy, you should be put in one of these private huts. You also have your own private terrace above the hut!! That was the cherry on top =) The hut inside is beautifully decorated with many clay and wood elements. The shower is quite unique and large. There are colored windows that filter the sunlight and the king size bed is quite comfortable. You have a mini fridge, a very generous sized wardrobe made of beautiful wood and iron details and there is a powder table for the ladies to prepare themselves in the morning.

The dinner was also quite good. We were so sick of the typical tagines and were very glad to have the choice of omeletes. Although I still had to choose the tagine as the main course since I am vegetarian, the quality exceeded many of the others we had. The service was also very attentive.

There is a small pool on the grounds, although unheated (I doubt that's a problem in their hot summers), there is also a lovely library, gift shop and a bar. The only issue that I could see anyone possibly having with this place is that there are ants in the rooms. I don't believe that this is an issue of cleanliness but rather that the riad is part of nature and you have to expect that certain elements such as ants or other insects will be present. That is part of the experience.

I highly recommend this riad. It is one of the most beautiful and characteristic of any that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aphroditehalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

i really like it, it was a great experience, great food,amazing staff, wonderfull place, awesome roomes, riad lamane really deserve to visit well really enjoyed our time There hopefuly won't be the Last time, thanks for all the staff... <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadLamane, Responsable relations clients at Riad Lamane, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Hello ?
Thank you very much for your comments here and for choosing us for your stay. We always try to make our guests feel at home. We look forward to welcoming you next time.
sincerely
Fatima Yassine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

using the riad as our point of no return on our trip into the sahara, we discovered this precious jewel which is build in a palm grove. the garden and houses, all made of loam, seem to rest in such a peaceful coexistence, that this place offers a good chance for recreation.
the rooms have unique and different styles which resemble berber art. the meals are tasty for reasonable prices and the service was very courteous and friendly.
we even came back for a day after our trip from the desert and definitely will visit again :)
thank you riad lamane!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJay Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed here over night in Feb 2012 on our trip to the Sahara. Lovely little huts for every room all with a roof patio. The interior design of the huts was very beautiful! The food in the restaurant was delicious as well, even though the service was slow! But excellent overall

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJF97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadLamane, Responsable relations clients at Riad Lamane, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Customer, Thank you for leaving this comment on Tripadvisor and are delighted that you had a pleasant stay. We hope to see you soon "home" has Riad Lamane. Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. Good food for dinner, reasonable variety for breakfast (just had to wait until it was laid out in the buffet). Nice rooms. Very nice grounds with a small swimming pool.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orly-Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The venue of the riad is lovely, enclosed gardens, wonderful rooms, nice pool. Food was below standard and service was professional but less friendly than elsewhere

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagora hotels
0.9 mi away
Kasbah Sirocco
Kasbah Sirocco
#1 of 13 in Zagora
108 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Perle du Draa
La Perle du Draa
#8 of 13 in Zagora
78 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stargazing Hotel Sahara Sky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palais Asmaa
Palais Asmaa
#9 of 13 in Zagora
186 reviews
5.7 mi away
Le Sauvage Noble
Le Sauvage Noble
#4 of 13 in Zagora
44 reviews
35.1 mi away
Hotel Tabarkat
Hotel Tabarkat
#2 of 13 in Zagora
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lamane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lamane

Address: Zagora, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Zagora
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Zagora
Price Range: $87 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Lamane 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Lamane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lamane Zagora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing