We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel and gardens are a little paradise in the desert”
Review of Riad Lamane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Lamane
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Zagora
Reviewed March 27, 2011

The hotel offers different accommodations, like spacious hotel rooms with a balcony or little bungalows hidden away in the garden. The room 'Chouf' comes with a large balcony that oversees the gardens. Great place to enjoy all the birds that are living in the oasis.
The service is very good, the staff was helpful in every way. They speak English and French at the reception.
Breakfast was served in the garden, with a large buffet with plenty of choice. And if you don't want to leave this little paradise in the evening, just stay and eat at their restaurant! The food is very good!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarjoleinVegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 233 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2011

Stayed here for one night in february had previously just gone for lunch and had been so impressed with the place wanted to stay for the night.
The rooms were really lovely styled like a berber tent with gorgeous fabrics on the ceiling, and a lovely huge comfy bed.
The food did let the whole experience down a little, found it a bit tasteless compared to food that I had eaten in Morocco. And the service at breakfast was so slow just to get some coffee..
However I did enjoy my stay..

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trenchy66cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

This place looks very good from the outside and the staff is very courteous and professional but these are just appearances. We were two couples and rented 2 rooms. In our room everything looked decrepit and the heater could barely warm up the space. The bathroom was a dump. See photos. The heater was not working in our friends' room and the room was frigid. We had lunch at the restaurant and it was the worst meal in the 10 days we had been traveling in the Dades-Todra-Merzouga-Nekob-Zagora areas. The skewer of beef was beyond "tough" and the egg kefta was a greasy mush. We had planned to have dinner at the hotel but walked to the hotel next door, the Fibule, which was a tad kitschy but very nice food and service. In the morning, breakfast (self service) was cold (everything is left on a table) and we had to ask several time that they bring plates and cups and refill the thermos of tea and coffee. Did I mention that this place was the most expensive Riad where we stayed? A rip off.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sage2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

A very unique hotel with beautiful gardens and pool area. Very large area of plants and greenery behind the pool. Staff very helpful. Stayed here one night as part of our tour of the desert with our guides. Room very comfortable. Enjoyed tea in the bar area. The staff was nice enough to make us hard boiled eggs for breakfast even though they are not part of the regular offerings. Perfect place to stay as part of our desert excursion. Accommodating staff, friendly service.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Lovely oasis, very good service, great rooms, stylish

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedropedropedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

A unique peaceful oasis. The food is delicious served in a dining room tent. The sleeping pavilions are lovely--decorated with artifacts from the Moroccan culture. As a world traveler, I can recommend this hotel as one of the most special places I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennySanFrancisco_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

First with the good: the rooms are large, private and come with their own private balcony on top of them. There's a few chairs to hang out on and read and a small pool to jump in when you wanna cool off. The staff is friendly, speak pretty good english and are quite helpful.

The bad: the a/c in our room was really ineffective, the rooms look like a dungeon (very dark and have lots of exposed stone and weird doors) not exactly what I am looking for in my hotel on a vacation. relative to the rest of the places we stayed in Morocco it was the most expensive and I didn't see anything that justified this cost it's far away from the center of the town and the town itself is in the middle of nowhere!

I would definitely not recommend this side of town if you don't have a car because it's a long dark walk from town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onehappybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagora hotels
34.3 mi away
Hotel Tabarkat
Hotel Tabarkat
#1 of 12 in Zagora
100 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Perle du Draa
La Perle du Draa
#8 of 12 in Zagora
76 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kasbah Sirocco
Kasbah Sirocco
#3 of 12 in Zagora
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palais Asmaa
Palais Asmaa
#9 of 12 in Zagora
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stargazing Hotel Sahara Sky
0.0 mi away
Ksar Tinsouline
Ksar Tinsouline
#7 of 12 in Zagora
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lamane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lamane

Address: Zagora, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Zagora
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Zagora
Price Range: $85 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Lamane 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Lamane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lamane Zagora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing