We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dunes, spend more than a couple of hours”
Review of Erg Chebbi

Erg Chebbi
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.92*
and up
Sunset Camel Ride in the Merzouga Dunes
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Overnight Camel Trek Tour to the Sahara Erg Chebbi dunes from Merzouga
More Info
$197.47*
and up
Buggy Biking in Erg Chebbi from Merzouga
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Rissani
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Tisovec, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Great dunes, spend more than a couple of hours”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Erg Chebbi deserves more than just a couple of hours - there are beautiful rock paintings and carvings in the area, alongside the colorful sand dunes. Best done with 4x4 in the afternoon. The sunset there is amazing!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Orientoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    25
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“camel trip”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

extraordinary.....cannot be described by words.good food , good location of the camp , serene...be prepared for the 100 % silence of the desert.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank usermuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykholt, Iceland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another world.”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

On our travels through Morocco one of our main plans was to visit the desert. We decided to spend new year's eve in the desert. From Merzouga we went on camels for about an hour and a half to a camp in the middle of the desert. We walked up to a 350 meter high sand dune and watched the sunset. In the evening the young guys in charge of the camp made a dinner for everyone (there were quite a few other people there). There was a nice campfire and some singing. As tired as we were we chose to go to bed early but I'll never forget the sand. Sitting at the top of a sand dune, knowing that once the ocean used to be there, looking to Libya on side and endless amounts of beautiful sand on the other. Truly an amazing experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HalldorBjarnason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“auberge toumbuctu and nomad camp”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

great place to exprience the camel ride 2 hours inside the dunes of the erg chebbi and slip in a very nice nomad camp. our camel man, yousuf, great guding in the night to the camp and then cooking tajine. nice bereber music by the fire palce at night.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sergelegabriele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Merzouga is Breathtaking!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The minute you step onto the sand dunes its quiet, and calm like snow. The sand changes color each minute of the day and its just simple but magical experience. Dont go to Morocco and skip this experience because it is honestly magical if you have never been to the Sahara Desert! The camel ride is the way to go too! Just be pre-paired to hang on and listen to the camel warden the rest they do for you.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeepsgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erg Chebbi also viewed

Merzouga, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Merzouga, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 
Rissani, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Erg Chebbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing