We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice Moroccan casbah”
Review of Taourirt Kasbah

Taourirt Kasbah
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Tour of Ouarzazate and Ait Ben Haddou with Road of the Kasbahs
More Info
$131.43*
and up
Full-Day Trip from Marrakech to Ouarzazate and Ait Ben Haddou
More Info
$44.21*
and up
Ouarzazate and Ait Ben Haddou Guided Day Tour from Marrakech
Ankara
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice Moroccan casbah”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Casbah Taourirt is located in the center of Ouarzazate and it is a museum where you pay entrance fee. I personally payed extra to have a English speaking guide to take my wife and I for a more deep visit to this nice place. The view from the upper decorated room is very beautiful and you can understand how the surrouding landscapes of Ouarzazate are indeed very nice and exotic with desert mountains and oasis. Also you can notice the snow in the Atlas Mountains.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AnkaraGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    213
    96
    18
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Kasbah visit”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was a rather rushed tour but nevertheless very interesting. Narrow passages, steep staircases, small living quarters. Unfortunately several groups were touring the Kasbah at the same time and we were not allowed to linger. Often the facade is used in movies as are other sites in the town which are worth investigating.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruthie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Fascinating!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Having seen many Kasbahs from the outside it was really interesting to have a guided tour round the interior of this one. Although it's not furnished we saw several beautiful styles of decoration & learnt something of the life of its last inhabitant, Pasha Glaoui.
Some of the passages & staircases were very dark & twisty - a torch would have been useful!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BobblenoseWarwicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Small and winding”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Kasbah looks good from the outside, but the inside was not to good as other places we've visited. It was dirty as well with human feces on the wall. We didn't get a guide and maybe that could've made the difference but it was not so special in my opinion. You could better take a car to the Kasbah of Ait Benhaddou.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Worthy place to visit”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It was very beautiful from the outside but it was pretty small and windy stairs and low celings on the inside but you can see some fab views from the inside and capture some great pictures provided you can focus on the area without all the railings that kind of spoil the views

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TopKingofKings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taourirt Kasbah also viewed

Ouarzazate, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
Ouarzazate, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 
Ouarzazate, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
Ait Ben Haddou, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 

Been to Taourirt Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing