We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fake, fake, fake...”
Review of Atlas Film Studio

Atlas Film Studio
Book In Advance
More Info
$227.31*
and up
Hollywood of Morocco: Full-Day Private Tour of Ouarzazate
More Info
$179.45*
and up
Private Full-Day Tour of Ouarzazate and Oasis Fint
More Info
$131.60*
and up
Ouarzazate and Ait Benhaddou Day Trip Through the Atlas Mountains from Marrakech
Ranked #1 of 1 Fun & Games in Ouarzazate
Attraction details
Charlottetown, PEI
Level 6 Contributor
463 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Fake, fake, fake...”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

but totally amazing. We were constantly touching the giant models to remind us that this was "only" Hollywood. Because so many of the movie props were from films we have seen and enjoyed it was very interesting. Looking forward to seeing some of these movies again. The site is quite extensive and has "artifacts" from Egyptian, Roman, and Chinese movies. Really fascinating. Admission includes a guided tour which moves along quite briskly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCanadian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    180
    145
    52
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Seen only from the outside”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Ouarzazate, is billed as the Hollywood of Africa on account of its attractions, mountains and rolling deserts and tours are offered of old cinema sets with rather clumsy giant models of Ancient Egyptian and Roman deities. One can easily see the more spectacular of these by walking around the Oscar hotel and grounds. We did not pay an entry fee for the full visit and it would be unfair of me to be too negative. Still, I'd say: give it a miss.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NZDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A View into Make Believe!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The tour at this facility was fascinating and the guide gave a wonderful tour of the make believe sets that were familiar to movie goers - as we are. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Our friends who were at first reluctant to tour the facility changed their minds after doing the tour!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnecticutGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My son is a budding film maker and loved every bit of it. Our tour guide spoke a few languages during the tour-gave very little info in English. Would have liked more info for sure.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JJBBMOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Step into your favorite movies”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Visiting this studio was worth the drive from Marrakesh. The tour took less than an hour, but we got to see sets for so many TV shows and movies that it was worth it.

In minutes you will walk from Tibet to Egypt and Rome.

Movies range from Gladiator to Kundun. TV shows include Ben Hur and Atlantis.

Tour guide was friendly. It was a great experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank angmohgao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlas Film Studio also viewed

Ouarzazate, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
Ouarzazate, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 
Ouarzazate, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
Ouarzazate, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 

Been to Atlas Film Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing